We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #572 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I even stepped foot into the tasteful ethnic décor of Riad Al Ksar, I knew I'd made the right choice.

From the moment my booking was confirmed, Olivier and the rest of the team were incredibly helpful in organising private, low cost airport transfers which swiftly delivered me direct to the doorstep in under 15 minutes.

Welcomed like family on arrival and treated as such for the duration of my week-long stay, the staff's genuine hospitality and local expertise shone through at every opportunity.

Well placed in the Medina Quarter, just a short walk along the winding souk-lined alleyways to the bustling and captivating Jamaa El Fna square, this Riad - equipped with A/C and plunge pool - is a refreshing retreat after a day blissfully wandering, shopping or people-watching from the reasonably priced Café de France.

If you can tear yourself away, I highly recommend taking advantage of one of the many excursions brokered by the Riad, in particular getting out of the city for a day to experience the delights of Essaouira.

With basic yet clean, cool and comfortable rooms and homemade, wholesome, traditional cuisine, it's the lush and airy social spaces found on both the ground floor and rooftop which are the pièce de résistance in my opinion.

If you're looking for an authentic and enjoyable experience in Marrakesh, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    72
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
34
166
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Damian and Dominique were excellent hosts and their staff were all very welcoming, helpful and polite.
The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows, beautiful linen and a great shower with plenty of hot water at all times.
Breakfast was lovely with homemade pastries and cakes, fresh fruit, tea and coffee every morning.
A thoroughly peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We arrived at the Riad at approx 8.30/9pm having booked our airport transfer & half board accommodation via Thomas Cook FlexibleTrips. Our driver didn't know where to find the riad & asked a couple of men at the side of the street to take us to the Riad - a little bit disconcerting to be honest.
We were delighted once inside, the Riad is very welcoming and lovely surroundings. Abdul was fantastic providing us with our evening meal and lots of information on places of interest around the city and a very useful map.
The next morning we were really tired from the previous long day travelling so decided to sit on the roof terrace to relax and consider our plans for the day. I felt a bit uncomfortable being put under pressure to choose our evening meal early on our first day and felt a little like I was being scolded for not having emailed the Riad to notify them of our late arrival the previous evening. Tip - if you book your package with Thomas Cook FlexibleTrips, they don't notify the Riad of your flight arrival time so it would be a good idea to contact them directly.
The roof terrace is really lovely & a welcome escape from the busy streets but the furniture is perhaps a little tired and additional lighting at night would be welcome.
The food was fine although we tired of the menu as we stayed for 10 nights but you can easily have lunch instead of dinner. You need to order in advance.
The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and were very comfortable and quiet - I don't think I've ever slept so soundly! The Riad requests quiet between 10pm and 9am which all guests duly respected, to the point that we found ourselves whispering to each other at any time of the day or night. The peace & tranquility was wonderful but I did find myself wondering if this was dampening any atmosphere in the Riad.
Shame on us that our French is almost non existent - it would definitely help with more engagement with the staff. That said, they were very helpful & accommodating.
I'd happily stay in this riad again and would recommend to anyone looking for a convenient location and peace & quiet.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I travelled with my sister to Marrakech for the first time, and had a great time.
We booked our airport transfer through the Riad, and when we arrived at the Riad we were given loads of really useful information about the area - including how much we should pay for a taxi, which was very helpful when getting to the new town and Jardin Majorelle. But the Riad itself is a 5 minute walk from the main square, and we found it straightforward to navigate through the souks back to the Riad when we wanted.
The Riad is a haven of quiet and calm compared to the Medina and we very much enjoyed coming back to relax and recuperate throughout the day - it has an enjoyable atmosphere. The door is always answered by a member of staff at any time of day or night.
Our room was comfy but basic; nothing more or less than needed. The shower was a good pressure, and the towels provided were clean. The wifi worked best in the communal areas. The breakfast was enjoyable
We didn't use the spa due to limited time, but other guests were making use of it while we were there.
The Riad was slightly cold in the evenings, because we visited in February - it seems to be well built to keep the heat out, which would be fab in the summer, but I made good use of my slipper socks and jumper when relaxing. This wasn't a problem at night, the bed covers were very warm.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Not as beautiful as other Riads we have stayed in .Terrace furniture looking rather tired . Convenient for Jemma Al Fina square and taxis do pass as the end of the street. Nice resturants close by. Area nearby is being renovated . All the Morrocan staff were very helpful, always smiling .Cannot say that about the owners in particular Olivier who never appeared to be happy with us especially as we had organized our own desert trip !!! Breakfasts need improving , cold pancakes ,pastries. With the abundance of fresh oranges around i dont appreciate being given watered down orange from a packet .

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

A beautiful utopia tucked away from the harsh streets. Amazing location a short 5-10min walk to the craziness of the square. Damien was a gentleman from start to finish providing us with maps and great advice before letting us loose in the Souks, ( you will get lost ). Abdul makes the best mint tea so make sure you ask him. However I recommend you DO NOT book any trips/excursions with your Riad as they add commission onto the price. It is just as easy to go to one of the many offices offering the same excursions at a much cheaper price. Myself and my partner booked a hamam and massage through our Riad and was left extremely disappointed. Unprofessional, sloppy and overall terrible massage.

Great Riad and very welcoming staff. Would visit Morocco again in a heartbeat.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed here for 1 week in February 2105. All I can say is that the we were not disappointed and agree with all of the glowing comments others have made - it's a great wee place. The Riad is well located in the old town. Don't be put off by the fact you have to walk up a lane to reach it - we did it day and night with no problems at all. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, Abdul was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him. I'd recommend booking airport transfers via the Riad.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ksar Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.