We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, clean and beautiful interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Save Saved
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #566 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Helpful staff, clean and beautiful interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a very nice experience at Riad Al Kasr. The staff i s very helpful and eager to give you tips about restaurants and highlights. Its a cool and quiet place to chill out in hot afternoons and food is god. Check Olivier (the owner) out for a swim :-)

Room Tip: In the summer - rooms in the bottom are coolest. Olivier has suites with connecting doors for famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    56
    23
    2
    8
See reviews for
27
147
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great authentic atmosphere, very good friendly staff and management who are always ready to help.
Beautiful house. Comfortable and well equipped room with air cond.
The food was brilliant, both breakfast, as well as the dinner
The hotel is very central, all major attraction and restaurants are at waling distance.
The swimming pool a real bonus in july

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just returned from a week at the Riad Al Ksar and Spa and would fully recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech. The Riad has excellent staff and is light, cool, clean and in a good location. Abdul greeted us and talked to us about the area, giving us a map on which he highlighted places we might want to visit and the route to Jemaa El Fnar (the main square) which we used constantly throughout our holiday.
The breakfast was fantastic and really set us up for the day. Every day we had watermelon, fresh yoghurt, jam and honey, a selection of pastries and good coffee - absolutely delicious! It is served from 8.30am until 10am, but on the day we went home we had to leave the hotel at 5am. Damien happily agreed to serve our breakfast at 4.30am - very much appreciated!
There is free WiFi available in the courtyard - the range didn't stretch to our room but that wasn't an issue for us, neither was the fact that there wasn't a TV in the bedroom. Sometimes it's good to just relax!
The only slight negative for us was that the room was advertised as having a double bed but it was actually two singles pushed together, however it is understandable why this is done and so many places do this. I believe if you pay for a room upgrade when you book you get a king sized bed, so if this is important to you it's worth doing.
I'm sure we will return to Marrakech in the future and I'm sure we'll stay here when we do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A Riad and a Hotel are two distinct places and are not to be confused when booking a stay. A Riad is located mainly in the area of the central market and are traditional historic homes, some of which are converted for commercial purposes to accommodate tourists. It is therefore located in a residential area. What this gives you is an authentic stay in Marrakech as opposed to a hotel feel. The rooms such as the furniture and walls are rustic in nature, and is set in a Courtyard type home which consists possibly of around 8-12 rooms.

The Riad Al Ksar in particular was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. It felt particularly peaceful. We received an excellent map which gave us a good idea of where to go around the markets/souks and also how to get to the modern city. Breakfast was adequate in the morning but is not on the scale of hotel continental breakfasts.

It is located relatively near the Jema al fanaa which consists of the food markets/entrance to the souks, although to get there is still roughly a 10-15 minute walk from the Riad.

Overall I had an pleasant authentic stay at Riad Al Ksar. I was a bit disappointed that there was no TV, but again, because this was a Riad, and very authentic, it may be that other Riads don't have televisions either.

For a relaxing stay in a traditional area and room, I would recommend the Riad Al Ksar for its generally well kept, clean and safe environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Clean, cozy and quiet. Good atmosphere.

Walking distance to everything in the old Medina. We felt safe walking night time in the narrow streets leading from the big square back to the riad.

Super friendly staff, especially the owner. Good food. From the roof terrace you can see the sunset and the Atlas Mountains.

All in all, very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a last minute trip booked the night before and also our first time in Marrakech! We arrived quite late and ended up at the wrong Riad first but the owner kindly took us to the right street. Although a bit difficult to find (don't be put off by the dingy alleyway) it was brilliant once we got inside. I was happy to say it was an authentic stay in Marrakech, the staff were very helpful - Abdoul Kader was absolutely amazing. He booked a restaurant for us to eat at with bellydancing and also found us when we lost our way one of the nights. The location is absolutely perfect and about ten minutes walking distance to main attractions, souks and Jama Al Fna square. The breakfast was good however would have liked a tad more of a selection but beautiful fresh jams and spreads made from local oranges and brilliant African coffee! The room was spotless and spacious as was the bathroom and cleaned perfectly every day. I would strongly recommend the hammam and massage which was pure bliss. Thank you to all staff who made our stay pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Al Ksar Riad during a recent filming trip to Marrakech, and found it a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of the souks and central Marrakech. After a long days work is was a fantastic retreat and a calm contrast to the vibrant and often chaotic city life. The service was exceptional and the rooms were elegant in their simplicity. All the staff were extremely helpful and I would highly recommend a stay to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #566 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa looks like a secret place in the heart of the medina! Its traditional architecture along with its sand-colored walls and massive columns give it an irresistible charm. On its panoramic terrace with exceptional view over the koutoubia and Atlas Mountains, you will savor fine French cuisine or chill out in the lounge. For your well-being, Riad Al Ksar features a hammam (opening autumn 2009) and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech
Al Ksar Riad And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ksar Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.