We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Save Saved
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #574 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice and clean Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Al kasar is located near Jemma al Fna square, about 15 minutes walking distance.
It is a nice and clean hotel and I strongly recommend you to book a room in that Riad, however prices of what they offer are high and in euros.

Try to avoid to do with them any excursion neither to take a taxi to the airport because you can find the same they offer for half of the price. Marrakesh is a safety city, so don't hesitate to apply for excursions in any agency you can find walking on the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    57
    23
    2
    9
See reviews for
30
150
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we spent the week end at the Ryad, nice and warm atmosphere in the heart of the Medina !
we booked the Transfert from the Airport which is great to go straight away and fast to the Riad on arrival.
The staff gave us a lot of informations about the destination which was really useful, they took the time to answer to every needs
the room is clean,warm,confortable and very quiet
the roof terrace give you a stuning view to marrackech and the Atlas mountains
we will come back to this riad for sure when we come to visit the city again !
J&A

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dont look anywhere else. We have been in marrakech many times and the Riad Al Ksar is definitely the best value for money riad in the medina of marrakech. Great central location, stunning architecture and great comfort, very romantic atmosphere with discreet but efficient staff, and most of all amazing spa treatments.
Not to be missed !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel is located in a terrible neighborhood, it is very complicated to move around, first because in the hotel they don´t provide you with a good map of the zone and second because the surroundings are not safe at all.
The Hotel facilities are not complete, you can find the air-conditioning not working at all, among others..
Anyways, the best advice is to go to a hotel located in the new area (gehdish) and move from there..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlKsarRiad, Front Office Manager at Al Ksar Riad & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
What a pity this client didn't enjoy staying in the Medina, Touristic world heritage, recommends “gehdish” and didn't report any discomfort, as per common sense: 3 FREE maps are available, no Air cond fault or “amongst other” defaults were reported. We'd like to thank this client for using our Excursions, Airport Transfers, SPA Treatments services. We deeply regret he has NOT commented it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights here at the beginning of November and we really liked the Riad. It was clean, well maintained and the staff were all very welcoming. The food was excellent and I would definitely recommend eating here in the evening. The included breakfast was quite basic although there was also a menu offering other choices for only a few Euro extra. The Spa treatment was also very good.

The hosts were very accommodating and although some minor maintenance was being carried out on the Riad (due to it being low-season) they done their utmost to ensure it didn't affect our stay.

The proximity of the Riad to the Medina is excellent and Jemaa el Fna is only a 10 minute walk away. The only real downside is that it is situated down a small alley that isn't lit very well in the evening, which some people may find a bit daunting - although this does seem to be the case with many other Riads in the City.

I'm unlikely to visit the City again in the near future, but if I do I would certainly stay at Al Ksar again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed a great 3-night stay here. The Riad is perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle yet only a 15 minute walk to the main square. The room was great - simply furnished yet stylish, and the shower was fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning, the staff were friendly and polite and unobtrusive. We pre-booked the airport transfer (good value) - the best option on your first visit otherwise could be difficult to find the Riad. Oliver was very welcoming and offered good advice on where to go/what to see/restaurants, etc. We would highly recommend the Al Ksar and would happily return next time we visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We both loved this riad! We arrived in Morocco feeling a litle stressed, but Oliver and team at Al Kysar got us oriented and comfortable immediately! Our room was upgraded (everything was clean and all the staff was extremely helpful) The location is great and the spa was perfect for a hammam experience which was wonderful! They organized a 3 day excursion which included an overnight stay in the Sahara on camelback, which was unforgetable! You could not find a better place to explore the real Morocco and return to your own private oasis!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite was excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech
Al Ksar Riad And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ksar Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.