We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place: Amazing service and Spa treatments, Dramatic Architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Save Saved
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #567 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place: Amazing service and Spa treatments, Dramatic Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dont look anywhere else. We have been in marrakech many times and the Riad Al Ksar is definitely the best value for money riad in the medina of marrakech. Great central location, stunning architecture and great comfort, very romantic atmosphere with discreet but efficient staff, and most of all amazing spa treatments.
Not to be missed !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    55
    22
    2
    9
See reviews for
30
148
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel is located in a terrible neighborhood, it is very complicated to move around, first because in the hotel they don´t provide you with a good map of the zone and second because the surroundings are not safe at all.
The Hotel facilities are not complete, you can find the air-conditioning not working at all, among others..
Anyways, the best advice is to go to a hotel located in the new area (gehdish) and move from there..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlKsarRiad, Front Office Manager at Al Ksar Riad & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
What a pity this client didn't enjoy staying in the Medina, Touristic world heritage, recommends “gehdish” and didn't report any discomfort, as per common sense: 3 FREE maps are available, no Air cond fault or “amongst other” defaults were reported. We'd like to thank this client for using our Excursions, Airport Transfers, SPA Treatments services. We deeply regret he has NOT commented it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights here at the beginning of November and we really liked the Riad. It was clean, well maintained and the staff were all very welcoming. The food was excellent and I would definitely recommend eating here in the evening. The included breakfast was quite basic although there was also a menu offering other choices for only a few Euro extra. The Spa treatment was also very good.

The hosts were very accommodating and although some minor maintenance was being carried out on the Riad (due to it being low-season) they done their utmost to ensure it didn't affect our stay.

The proximity of the Riad to the Medina is excellent and Jemaa el Fna is only a 10 minute walk away. The only real downside is that it is situated down a small alley that isn't lit very well in the evening, which some people may find a bit daunting - although this does seem to be the case with many other Riads in the City.

I'm unlikely to visit the City again in the near future, but if I do I would certainly stay at Al Ksar again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed a great 3-night stay here. The Riad is perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle yet only a 15 minute walk to the main square. The room was great - simply furnished yet stylish, and the shower was fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning, the staff were friendly and polite and unobtrusive. We pre-booked the airport transfer (good value) - the best option on your first visit otherwise could be difficult to find the Riad. Oliver was very welcoming and offered good advice on where to go/what to see/restaurants, etc. We would highly recommend the Al Ksar and would happily return next time we visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We both loved this riad! We arrived in Morocco feeling a litle stressed, but Oliver and team at Al Kysar got us oriented and comfortable immediately! Our room was upgraded (everything was clean and all the staff was extremely helpful) The location is great and the spa was perfect for a hammam experience which was wonderful! They organized a 3 day excursion which included an overnight stay in the Sahara on camelback, which was unforgetable! You could not find a better place to explore the real Morocco and return to your own private oasis!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite was excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Riad is in a great location. Only a 10 minute walk from the main square (Jemaa El Fna), the Souks and a number of of the main sites to see in Marrakech. It is small with only 9 rooms but it has a very pretty courtyard where breakfast is served and a nice roof terrace which is perfect for sunbathing. If you want to eat in the Riad you need to pre order but to be honest we never felt the need to eat there given the options available in the square. Service is polite but not overly attentive. If you want to experience 'real' Marrakech this is perfect as it is in a great location, the rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were good.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs! The rooms on the ground floor open up into the courtyard where breakfast is served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I decided to stay at this riad as my brother previously stayed there and recommended to me! I stayed for 5 .The rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful! Halil and Demian made our stay very Pleasant. One night we arrived late at the riad, as we were starving we asked the staff if it was possible to have dinner, despite the fact it was quite late, the staff prepared dinner for us and we ended up having dinner at the lovely terrace !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa looks like a secret place in the heart of the medina! Its traditional architecture along with its sand-colored walls and massive columns give it an irresistible charm. On its panoramic terrace with exceptional view over the koutoubia and Atlas Mountains, you will savor fine French cuisine or chill out in the lounge. For your well-being, Riad Al Ksar features a hammam (opening autumn 2009) and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ksar Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.