We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad amid the madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad amid the madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights here at the beginning of November and we really liked the Riad. It was clean, well maintained and the staff were all very welcoming. The food was excellent and I would definitely recommend eating here in the evening. The included breakfast was quite basic although there was also a menu offering other choices for only a few Euro extra. The Spa treatment was also very good.

The hosts were very accommodating and although some minor maintenance was being carried out on the Riad (due to it being low-season) they done their utmost to ensure it didn't affect our stay.

The proximity of the Riad to the Medina is excellent and Jemaa el Fna is only a 10 minute walk away. The only real downside is that it is situated down a small alley that isn't lit very well in the evening, which some people may find a bit daunting - although this does seem to be the case with many other Riads in the City.

I'm unlikely to visit the City again in the near future, but if I do I would certainly stay at Al Ksar again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    65
    24
    2
    8
See reviews for
32
156
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed a great 3-night stay here. The Riad is perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle yet only a 15 minute walk to the main square. The room was great - simply furnished yet stylish, and the shower was fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning, the staff were friendly and polite and unobtrusive. We pre-booked the airport transfer (good value) - the best option on your first visit otherwise could be difficult to find the Riad. Oliver was very welcoming and offered good advice on where to go/what to see/restaurants, etc. We would highly recommend the Al Ksar and would happily return next time we visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We both loved this riad! We arrived in Morocco feeling a litle stressed, but Oliver and team at Al Kysar got us oriented and comfortable immediately! Our room was upgraded (everything was clean and all the staff was extremely helpful) The location is great and the spa was perfect for a hammam experience which was wonderful! They organized a 3 day excursion which included an overnight stay in the Sahara on camelback, which was unforgetable! You could not find a better place to explore the real Morocco and return to your own private oasis!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite was excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Riad is in a great location. Only a 10 minute walk from the main square (Jemaa El Fna), the Souks and a number of of the main sites to see in Marrakech. It is small with only 9 rooms but it has a very pretty courtyard where breakfast is served and a nice roof terrace which is perfect for sunbathing. If you want to eat in the Riad you need to pre order but to be honest we never felt the need to eat there given the options available in the square. Service is polite but not overly attentive. If you want to experience 'real' Marrakech this is perfect as it is in a great location, the rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were good.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs! The rooms on the ground floor open up into the courtyard where breakfast is served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I decided to stay at this riad as my brother previously stayed there and recommended to me! I stayed for 5 .The rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful! Halil and Demian made our stay very Pleasant. One night we arrived late at the riad, as we were starving we asked the staff if it was possible to have dinner, despite the fact it was quite late, the staff prepared dinner for us and we ended up having dinner at the lovely terrace !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had an amazing 5 day stay at the Riad Al Ksar. The riad is beautiful inside and the tranquil atmosphere is complete contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, even though it was very late at night. We were greeted with Moroccan tea and biscuits and Damien provided us with all the information we needed for our stay. The staff are all so friendly and attentive,nothing is too much trouble!! We would highly recommend a visit to the Riad Al Ksar!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival ( 4/07/12) we were given Morrocan Tea which was different but nice, a map of the area.

A previous comment on here about air condiioning being turned off if you dont eat her seems strange as other guests ate out and no comments about this were said. We had the control to turn on or off in our room.

We had an enjoyable stay at this Riad and found the staff to be very helpful and freindly. My wife and I had not been to Marrakesh previously and found the 40 degrees heat overpowering. The Riad is found by going along narrow side paths but once inside it was pleasant, clean. I can truely say the bed was the most comfortable i had slept in. The Riad was very quiet both day and night. We ate in the resturant on a couple of occasions and the food was very good. Try the Morroccan Soup, if you like red wine try the local Morrocan, it is full bodied and very tasty to the palate. The breakfast consists of a large bowl of fresh fruit, bread / cake , tea or coffee.

Finding the Riad is very testing and strongly recommend letting the Riad sort your taxi from the airport and to the airport out. Our taxi was sorted out by my travel agent but the Riad uses the same ones.

Walking the 20 minutes to the main square through the narrow street of a souk was a daunting task with mopeds, moter bikes flying past you both ways. Crossing the roads was a nightmare. Be very careful if you have young children.

Becareful if you take photos of anyone they will demand money. We asked someone the way on the map and he followed us for ages wanting money to take us. There were to girls aged about 23 who were very frightened as they were followed and pestered they were also ripped off 100 dirham each for taking a photo.

Thank to Damien and his team as we enjoyed our short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ksar Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.