We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY RIAD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY RIAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, romantic, out of this world Riad. We cannot fault this place. The riad is very clean and ideally situated.We were able to walk to most of the famous attractions (15min walk) therefore did not have to deal with taxi prices. The owner and the staff are very friendly. They change the decore of the room and the riad sometimes which is really chic and refreshing. The riad has an aroma of oranges and you can smell it before entering the riad. The terrasse of the riad is very ideal for sunbathing and having your breakfast. We would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    52
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
283
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Through the door of les orangers d'Allia you are transported into a little Riad Oasis. The decor is very shabby chic and the welcome very friendly. On arrival we were offered drinks. The rooms are nicely decorated along with air conditioning which we needed due to the heat wave in May. The Riad is approx 15 minutes walk from the centre of Marrakech. The Breakfast was very nice however, it was became repetative each day ie, pastries and cake for breakfast....I would recommend that the Riad offered a Self Service Breakfast ie, Cereal, a choice of light breakfast ie, poached, boilded or scrambled eggs and meats and also a choice of fruit and fruit juices. The staff were very good ie, drinks, details of the best places to eat , taxis and also the recommendation to go to the Atlas Mountains. For anyone going to Morrocco go to the Atlas Mountains this is a FAB day out and I would recommend this to anyone. - very different to the city but very enjoyable.... Following the day in the Atlas Mountains we are planning a camping trip for a weekend....Overall we had a good stay at the Riad but the breakfast needs to cater for all Europeans......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As soon as the door opened at les orangers d'alilia I was transported into an oasis . The fragrance of oranges oozes around the riad . The attention to detail was to perfection , the interior design was stunning making you feel calm and relaxed . Our rooms were large, the linen was crisp and beautiful. The roof terrace was amazing again attention to detail , we had dinner here and it's was lovely . The owner was a French lady , very nice and polite, we only stayed 1 night as we where travelling. But when I go back to marrakesh , this is where I will be staying .

Room Tip: The raids are quite so a room on the first floor would give you a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A beautiful Riad in the old city, beautiful rooms/ courtyard, the roof terrace is magical, the owner was lovely, French i think? but very helpful lovely food, its just a gorgeous place,the décor is amazing, i dont know where Sam D,got his comments from, ? maybe it was a bad day, but i would recommended this raid very highly, 4 stars **** at the very least.

Room Tip: didnt see any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wonderful stay. Quiet and beautiful. Joelle the owner is charming and very helpful, and her staff are fantastic. All made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely return. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great reviews on tripadvisor led to my girlfriend and I booking a five night stay in this Riad. I have to say the experience was nothing short of terrible!

The reviews here do not cover the paucity of the English spoken not only by the staff, but also by the host.

They also do not mention how the area of the Kasbah, though near to local attractions, can be highly confusing for English people who do not know the area – and the streets, which are not often cleaned it seems, are a winding maze with no signposts (if you ask people or get a map out, prepare to be mobbed for money and sent in directions you know are wrong – a common trick of con artists is to lead you down narrow winding alleyways you cannot find your way back from, at which point they and others will corner you and ask for large amounts of money).

The staff regularly left the doors to the room open – seemingly with no regard for safety of valuables (there is no safe in the room, and no way to lock it from the outside).

The host of the Riad put us in the annex – or Riad 2 – which is something to be avoided, if you are intent on choosing this Riad. The host also disappeared, meaning we were unable to discuss serious concerns we had with her.

Meanwhile, the lady who ran Riad 2 also disappeared at night to visit friends and chat with them, meaning that (since we are not given keys to the main door of the Riad – perhaps not trusted with them ) we were forced to wait on the street with other holiday makers, helpless to get inside the Riad to our belongings and to our beds.

Breakfast was also an experience – full of overly sweet cakes, an unholy amount of bread, and creme brulee.

Highlight of the trip was a small bird who was confident enough to land on our table at breakfast and help himself to the food we felt obliged to eat out of politeness.

Would be more than happy to discuss this experience further with anyone thinking of going to Marrakech or staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaville, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a fantastic 5-night stay in les « Orangers d’Alilia”. This riad guesthouse is situated on a quiet street, in the heart of the Marrakech Kasbah district. It is at a short walking distance from “les tombeaux Saadiens”, El Baldi Palace or the Mellah Jewish district. This charming riad is very well decorated and well managed by Joelle and her staff. Excellent breakfast served on the roof terrace. Food service is available at a competitive rate and I will never forget the “Briouate” meal along with the peach “pastilla”. Joelle is a very experienced Marrakech expert and was able to deliver us some nice advice on where to go, what to visit. She organised for us quite a few attraction visits, and out of Marrakech excursions. We are very likely to return to les “Orangers d”Alilia” as we want to experience once again this nice and cosy atmosphere.
Olivier & Bea

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.