We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairylike riad!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fairylike riad!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

In this Riad hostess Joel and Fatima create a place where authentic Marrocan life can be experienced in a luxurious setting (for example breakfast, mint thea, cookies, furniture, ...).
Very hostile making your stay in arrakech as pleasant and stressless as you can imagine!

Room Tip: All rooms are little palaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    46
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
247
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a beautifull Riad this is. Everything looks great. Nice 1001 night decorantions. We arrived late at night and we had asked by email if they could arrange a diner for us. It was lovely.
The staff is really nice and will help you where they can.
Breakfast is served on the terrace if you like that and is also really nice. A lot of small bites, fruit, jams, orange juice, coffee etc. More then enough.
Would stay here again and again. !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for four nights late October 2013. We stayed in the annexe, although not that you'd realise it from the building itself, being self contained and very stylish, all the rooms surrounded by a central open courtyard in the middle, not to mention the great rooftop area with comfy chairs and sunbeds. It's clear to see a lot of thought has gone into the design of the Riad.
Much has already been mentioned of the staff's hospitality and the breakfast, so I won't go on too much, but yes, they do live up to the hype. Joelle and her staff do go out of the way to make you feel welcome, from taking the time to speak with you about Marrakech when first arriving, to small touches like fresh flowers in the room. The breakfasts are of high quality with plenty of food, and to eat them on the rooftop is a great way to start the day. A particular highlight was the freshly made ride pudding, and that was just one small part of the breakfast.
The room itself was generally good, although there were a few minor issues, but more down to being an old building than anything really worth going into.What would be really useful though if the Riad had some Wi-Fi access. I know its an issue that does divide a lot of people (I know I wouldn't have even considered it a few years back), but in the age of online check-ins, and TripAdvisor becoming more and more useful for restaurant suggestions, tour guides etc, having some internet access would be a great benefit.
The Riad is about 20 minutes away from the main square and all the main eating establishments, and the walk can feel awkward at times with people on scooters just narrowly missing you as they weave in and out, but I think that's just Marrakech life, and as already said, other transport options are available. You soon get used to it anyway. The good advantage is that the Riad is very close to some of the other attractions, especially the Saadian Tombs being less than 10 miniutes walk away, and the two palaces no more than 15 minutes walk. There are also small shops very close by, that generally charge less for water etc than in the main square area.
The only other thing I would say be wary of is booking taxi's to and from the airport from the Riad direct. The cost seemed very high (200 Dirhams each way, around £15/17 Euros) for what is no more than a 10-15 minute journey. Sure, the taxi is a nice SUV type vehicle, with friendly drivers, but going on prices elsewhere, I am certain you could get a much cheaper option without too much fuss.
Overall, great staff providing the sort of service you would expect from luxury 5 star resorts, for a fraction of the price. Definitely recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are just back from an 8 night stay at this riad. We had the room Sofia which was large with door into wet room and toilet.No balcony but we sat up on the roof top which is very relaxing. Full marks to the staff who were genuinely warm, friendly and helpful. Coutah especially was a gem. She even demonstrated how she made the yummy yoghurt for me in the kitchen one afternoon. Breakfasts were plentiful, all home cooked. Joelle was also very helpful, as was the driver Abdoul. We did a walking tour of Marrakech on the first morning with the other Abdoul. Useful for getting your bearings but he was not really that friendly. The day trip to the Atlas mountains was great, involving about an hour drive, hike for two hours to the waterfalls, then lunch in restaurant by the river. 500 Dirhams per couple, about £40, that does not include lunch though, or the payment of the guide. We enjoyed the trip though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were booked in to stay here but we were taken to another riad around the corner which was equally a beautiful. The staff were brilliant & beyond accommodating. The breakfast each morning was excellent. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this riad in Marrakech! Joelle and the staff were so welcoming and gracious, and the riad is a beautiful oasis of calm in a bustling city - the perfect place to stay and refresh after busy days traveling. Like many others have noted, this riad is difficult to find and a little off the main drag. We had Joelle arrange a taxi for us from the airport (around 18 euros), which was very helpful, as we would have not found the riad on our own. Even though our flight was delayed about an hour, the taxi was there waiting for us and took us right to the door. We got in quite late, but were greeted with mint tea on the beautiful rooftop. Breakfast was amazing - fresh orange juice, coffee/tea, delicious pastries, fruit, eggs, pancakes - it was a feast! The women who cooked were so lovely too. Our room (Noa) was wonderful. Very clean and spacious. Just one quirk to be aware of - the bathroom did not have a door. This wasn't a problem for us, but just wanted to note. The entire riad is decorated beautifully, with a pretty courtyard in the center, the rooftop with tables for eating and chairs/sofas for relaxing. As for location, the riad is about a 15-20 minute walk (through some meandering streets of the medina) to the Main Square (Jemaa el Fna) or an inexpensive taxi ride. This riad was a fantastic part of our trip to Marrakech, and we would definitely recommend it to others looking for a peaceful and beautiful spot to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Returned today from 4 nights at this beautful riad. Located in the south Medina, an easy 15/20 min slow walk to the souks. The room (Salma) was average size with open wc and wet room all of which were incredibly clean and with wonderful linen sheets (v.important to me) The staff were exceptionally charming and the owner Joelle was helpful, fun and very well informed. She arranged a lovely 2 course dinner for my partners birthday which we ate on the roof terrace with rose petals and candles (tres romantic) I was a little shocked at our final bill but I'm guessing alcohol in Morroco is expensive (we had 3 bottles of wine over the 5 days). Overall would definitely stay there again, the scent and decor of the riad is exceptional, I would happily recommend it 100%.

Have to say, this was our first trip to the area I read alot ahead which is smart however wish I hadn't read The Rough Guide which made me very guarded and apprehensive, we found Marrakesch to be wonderfully friendly, exotic and totally amazing. Can't wait to return. . .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.