We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little Riad, an oasis of calm amongst a crazy backdrop !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing little Riad, an oasis of calm amongst a crazy backdrop !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Marrakech, we got picked up at the airport & driven straight into the kasbah. To say was a bit of a shock to the system was an understatement. The roads were like a maze & overrun with people, bikes, cars & vans.. Our driver was a lunatic & how we survived I'll never know! We got dropped off in an ally & it felt like we'd made a horrible mistake. We stumbled across the door to the Riad & couldn't believe it when we walked inside.

It was absolutely stunning!!! It was incredibly peaceful & had a beautiful orange tree growing in the centre of the ground next to a plunge pool. It couldn't of been more different to the chaos outside! Our room was fantastic & we absolutely loved the roof bar.

The guys that worked their were really helpful they gave us advice on places to visit, costs for taxis & recommendations for dinner. The food was excellent (although cakes for breakfast were a bit odd but when in Rome!!!)...
We absolutely loved Marrakech & would definitely go back. I can't recommend this Riad enough, I think it's been said in more than one review on here but a real oasis of calm amongst a crazy back drop!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
243
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a beautiful little Riad. The owner gave us a great summary of where to find things and how much things should cost. There is always one of the staff there who didn't speak any English but were super helpful and understanding of our poor French. I would recommend absolutely anybody to stay here. Best place I've stayed in a very long time. (The breakfast is also really tasty and available at almost any time you like).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in this lovely Riad in July 2013 for our final night in Morocco. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although we struggled a little to communicate with them as they couldn't speak English.

The Riad is calm, peaceful, beautiful and very well maintained. We instantly felt welcome, and the hand-written welcoming message and rose petals on our bed were special and thoughtful finishing touches. Our room, Sarah, was very romantic and tastefully decorated, and the air-conditioner was essential to escape the Marrakech heat.

Jemaa El Fna is about 15 minutes away on foot and relatively easy to find. The area feels very authentically Moroccan, as we saw very few tourists and mostly local people in the vicinity of the Riad.

The breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious and the setting just beautiful.

The only thing that bothered me was that the bathroom window faced the street, and, although the area is relatively quiet, children were playing right outside the window and being quite noisy when we were trying to rest. Perhaps take some earplugs in case.

I highly recommend this Riad to escape the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina. Thank you, Joelle, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff were amazing, very friendly, kind, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The owner provided us with an orientation of the city and a list of places to visit. Breakfast was superb, a kind of tapas style with a variety of fresh fruit. The room was quiet and delicately furnished in a modern classic style, with an assortment of lotions and potions. The dunking pool was refreshing. We would defenitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the India room for its tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing Riad in the Kasbah district of the medina - we had a wonderful visit, were well looked after by Joelle (the owner) and her lovely staff and I would highly recommend staying here.

I booked this riad based largely on the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. I've included some info below that I would have found helpful when researching my stay:

LOCATION
- The riad is situated approx. 15 mins walk from Jemaa El F'naa (the main square) and is a fairly direct walk/easy to find once you have found your way once. Getting a taxi is also easy and cheap (approx £2) if the beat is too much!
- located in the kasbah area of the old town (medina) which is a bit quieter and a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of the main square.

THE RIAD
- clean, recently refurbished
- beautiful interior courtyard with orange trees and a plunge pool
- sun terrace with sun loungers, hats and towels
- comfortable area in the shade with pillows
- breakfast served on the sun terrace every morning - Joelle and her team will accommodate an early breakfast if you have a day trip planned
- we stayed in the Noa room on the 1st floor which was a double room with an ensuite bathroom (note there was no door to the bathroom in our room which we found complimented the open nature of the riad) - minimal and classic decor with African prints
- all rooms Air Conditioned
- wifi available
- we dined at the riad several times. Breakfast was a generous and fresh selection of traditional Moroccan pastries, breads plus tea/coffee/fresh orange juice and yoghurt. We also had a traditional tagine when we arrived - delicious.

STAFF
- the riad is beautiful and Marrakesh fantastic but it was Joelle and her lovely team that really made our trip special. When I initially booked I contacted Joelle to confirm and received an immediate and warm reply. Even before arriving, Joelle helped organise airport transfers & meals. When we arrived, Joelle spent an hour with us taking us through a map of the city recommending places to visit and giving us advice. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff are attentive and friendly. Marrakesh is manic (and wonderful) so having some friendly advice to navigate the city really helped!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this riad for four nights and our stay with lovely. It was very peaceful which was great when needing to get away from the hussle and bussle of the street of Marrakech. Plus, I lovely place to sit and cool down over the hottest parts of the day! Staff are extremely friendly and hardworking. However, brushing up on you French before you go will definitely help!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we arrived near the riad, we were dropped off by the taxi driver some way off. It was dark and the area is full of narrow alleyways. We would have got lost, but a gent showed us where to go for money obviously. I would therefore recommend anyone staying at this riad to get the owner, Joelle, to organise a taxi transfer so the taxi driver knows exactly where to drop you off. The entrance to the riad is very unassuming, but inside it was a different world. We were welcomed by Peter, the owner's father-in-law, who helped us settle in and was always available througout our stay. The riad has rooms on 2 floors set around a central courtyard which also acts as a sitting area with tables, chairs and sofas. The riad is really beautiful, peaceful and a haven from the maddening heat of Marrakech. The rooms are small, but very clean, tidy and cool. I was saddened that although I had booked two superior rooms, I was only given two standard rooms so I wouldn't pay extra for superior rooms as it has makes no difference when you arrive. Breakfast is served on the terrace on the roof of the riad. Its bliss at 9am in the morning. The food is made just for you and plentiful. Try and avoid having lunch at the riad as it can be expensive.
The riad is on the outskirts of the madina and about 15 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fna and this can feel longer in the heat which can hit 39c at the end of June. The taxi to the square costs just over £3 (40 dirhams) so its better to use these during the day and have a stroll after dark

Room Tip: Ask for the India Room as this is the best room in the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#36 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#74 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#38 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#37 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.8 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#95 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#52 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.