We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene resting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #98 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Serene resting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in this lovely Riad in July 2013 for our final night in Morocco. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although we struggled a little to communicate with them as they couldn't speak English.

The Riad is calm, peaceful, beautiful and very well maintained. We instantly felt welcome, and the hand-written welcoming message and rose petals on our bed were special and thoughtful finishing touches. Our room, Sarah, was very romantic and tastefully decorated, and the air-conditioner was essential to escape the Marrakech heat.

Jemaa El Fna is about 15 minutes away on foot and relatively easy to find. The area feels very authentically Moroccan, as we saw very few tourists and mostly local people in the vicinity of the Riad.

The breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious and the setting just beautiful.

The only thing that bothered me was that the bathroom window faced the street, and, although the area is relatively quiet, children were playing right outside the window and being quite noisy when we were trying to rest. Perhaps take some earplugs in case.

I highly recommend this Riad to escape the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina. Thank you, Joelle, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff were amazing, very friendly, kind, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The owner provided us with an orientation of the city and a list of places to visit. Breakfast was superb, a kind of tapas style with a variety of fresh fruit. The room was quiet and delicately furnished in a modern classic style, with an assortment of lotions and potions. The dunking pool was refreshing. We would defenitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the India room for its tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing Riad in the Kasbah district of the medina - we had a wonderful visit, were well looked after by Joelle (the owner) and her lovely staff and I would highly recommend staying here.

I booked this riad based largely on the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. I've included some info below that I would have found helpful when researching my stay:

LOCATION
- The riad is situated approx. 15 mins walk from Jemaa El F'naa (the main square) and is a fairly direct walk/easy to find once you have found your way once. Getting a taxi is also easy and cheap (approx £2) if the beat is too much!
- located in the kasbah area of the old town (medina) which is a bit quieter and a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of the main square.

THE RIAD
- clean, recently refurbished
- beautiful interior courtyard with orange trees and a plunge pool
- sun terrace with sun loungers, hats and towels
- comfortable area in the shade with pillows
- breakfast served on the sun terrace every morning - Joelle and her team will accommodate an early breakfast if you have a day trip planned
- we stayed in the Noa room on the 1st floor which was a double room with an ensuite bathroom (note there was no door to the bathroom in our room which we found complimented the open nature of the riad) - minimal and classic decor with African prints
- all rooms Air Conditioned
- wifi available
- we dined at the riad several times. Breakfast was a generous and fresh selection of traditional Moroccan pastries, breads plus tea/coffee/fresh orange juice and yoghurt. We also had a traditional tagine when we arrived - delicious.

STAFF
- the riad is beautiful and Marrakesh fantastic but it was Joelle and her lovely team that really made our trip special. When I initially booked I contacted Joelle to confirm and received an immediate and warm reply. Even before arriving, Joelle helped organise airport transfers & meals. When we arrived, Joelle spent an hour with us taking us through a map of the city recommending places to visit and giving us advice. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff are attentive and friendly. Marrakesh is manic (and wonderful) so having some friendly advice to navigate the city really helped!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_Calderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this riad for four nights and our stay with lovely. It was very peaceful which was great when needing to get away from the hussle and bussle of the street of Marrakech. Plus, I lovely place to sit and cool down over the hottest parts of the day! Staff are extremely friendly and hardworking. However, brushing up on you French before you go will definitely help!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoonyLoulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we arrived near the riad, we were dropped off by the taxi driver some way off. It was dark and the area is full of narrow alleyways. We would have got lost, but a gent showed us where to go for money obviously. I would therefore recommend anyone staying at this riad to get the owner, Joelle, to organise a taxi transfer so the taxi driver knows exactly where to drop you off. The entrance to the riad is very unassuming, but inside it was a different world. We were welcomed by Peter, the owner's father-in-law, who helped us settle in and was always available througout our stay. The riad has rooms on 2 floors set around a central courtyard which also acts as a sitting area with tables, chairs and sofas. The riad is really beautiful, peaceful and a haven from the maddening heat of Marrakech. The rooms are small, but very clean, tidy and cool. I was saddened that although I had booked two superior rooms, I was only given two standard rooms so I wouldn't pay extra for superior rooms as it has makes no difference when you arrive. Breakfast is served on the terrace on the roof of the riad. Its bliss at 9am in the morning. The food is made just for you and plentiful. Try and avoid having lunch at the riad as it can be expensive.
The riad is on the outskirts of the madina and about 15 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fna and this can feel longer in the heat which can hit 39c at the end of June. The taxi to the square costs just over £3 (40 dirhams) so its better to use these during the day and have a stroll after dark

Room Tip: Ask for the India Room as this is the best room in the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My niece and her husband had stayed here a year before and highly recommended it. We were immediately made welcome with tea and delicious biscuits and shown to our delightful accommodation upstairs, overlooking the pretty courtyard. We loved our private verandah, with linen-like curtains. Joelle is a wonderful hostess. She and her lovely staff were always gracious and helpful. Breakfast was a treat, with little surprises in the tiny bowls. So much loving effort every day.Thanks to all for a very happy stay in your riad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMonicaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked the entire riad while attending a conference and it could not have been more perfect! For us the riad was a peaceful calm cool oasis tucked away not far from the hustling bustling busy Kasbah area in the medina. The owner Joelle and her wonderful staff were the most attentive of hosts and could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Joelle had arranged a private reliable taxi to meet us at the airport and as we arrived late

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#123 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#31 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#75 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing