We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in a hot city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #67 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A haven in a hot city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we arrived near the riad, we were dropped off by the taxi driver some way off. It was dark and the area is full of narrow alleyways. We would have got lost, but a gent showed us where to go for money obviously. I would therefore recommend anyone staying at this riad to get the owner, Joelle, to organise a taxi transfer so the taxi driver knows exactly where to drop you off. The entrance to the riad is very unassuming, but inside it was a different world. We were welcomed by Peter, the owner's father-in-law, who helped us settle in and was always available througout our stay. The riad has rooms on 2 floors set around a central courtyard which also acts as a sitting area with tables, chairs and sofas. The riad is really beautiful, peaceful and a haven from the maddening heat of Marrakech. The rooms are small, but very clean, tidy and cool. I was saddened that although I had booked two superior rooms, I was only given two standard rooms so I wouldn't pay extra for superior rooms as it has makes no difference when you arrive. Breakfast is served on the terrace on the roof of the riad. Its bliss at 9am in the morning. The food is made just for you and plentiful. Try and avoid having lunch at the riad as it can be expensive.
The riad is on the outskirts of the madina and about 15 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fna and this can feel longer in the heat which can hit 39c at the end of June. The taxi to the square costs just over £3 (40 dirhams) so its better to use these during the day and have a stroll after dark

Room Tip: Ask for the India Room as this is the best room in the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
243
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My niece and her husband had stayed here a year before and highly recommended it. We were immediately made welcome with tea and delicious biscuits and shown to our delightful accommodation upstairs, overlooking the pretty courtyard. We loved our private verandah, with linen-like curtains. Joelle is a wonderful hostess. She and her lovely staff were always gracious and helpful. Breakfast was a treat, with little surprises in the tiny bowls. So much loving effort every day.Thanks to all for a very happy stay in your riad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked the entire riad while attending a conference and it could not have been more perfect! For us the riad was a peaceful calm cool oasis tucked away not far from the hustling bustling busy Kasbah area in the medina. The owner Joelle and her wonderful staff were the most attentive of hosts and could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Joelle had arranged a private reliable taxi to meet us at the airport and as we arrived late

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just came back from three nights stay at Riad Orangiers d'alilia and am pleased to say that all the people on here that rated it as excelletn were right. The Riad is amazing and so quiet and tranquill which is needed after a day out in the hot and bustly Marrakech centre and Medina. It's tucked away and so advisable that you spend a little while getting your bearings but its very easy to get to the main attractions. Plunge pool was amazing and they serve beer and wine as well which is hard to find elsewhere in the old town. The service is excpetional the staff are always on hand to bring you tea and food as you desire which is all reasonably priced and on a tab which you pay at the end of the stay. The only regret I have is that as we only had a few nights we wanted to go out and experience the nightlife in the main square etc. and so didnt have time to eat at the Riad. We walked past the dinning area one evening on our way out and it looked exceptional with candles lit and curtains drawn. I belive everyone else who says the food was great as it certainly smelt good and if the daily breakfast was anything to go by then it must have been good. The roof terrace allows you somewhere to sunathe if that is your bag.

My only caution is this, it didnt bother me at all but you cannot access the Riad by car and it is down a small alley, the locals are absolutely fine and just get in with their lives but if you are worried at all about people staring at you etc. then this can be a little bit off putting. Not a problem for me but my parents went and didbnt really like it.........

I really, really enjoyed my time and would highly recomend anyone visiting Marrakech to go here. I stayed in "sarah" and although I didnt see all the other rooms I would highly recomend this as it offers good privacy.

Go to this Riad!!

Room Tip: Sarah and India are supposed to be the best.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

With no doubt the best hotel we stayed in to-date. The magical decor and the sublime service stole our hearts the very minute we stepped inside. The host Peter was uber welcoming and Fatia's breakfast was to die for. Would definitely recommend it! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

had the opportunity to stay 1 night there. cool place calm and very clean (which is rare in Marrakech). very close to hammam Jardin de la medina (just around the corner). owner and her staff are too kind and terrace's got a good view and is good to have tea up there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What an amazing place. An oasis in the Kasbah. Joelle and her team could not have been more welcoming. From the start of our week when Joelle arranged taxis to pick us up at the airport everything went smoothly. The bedrooms were comfortable, the breakfasts on the roof terrace were to die for. We could not fault the service and every time we came back from our wanderings in the medina it was like coming home - so relaxing. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.