We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just come back from 3 nights here and it was wonderful. I think we got the best room in the Riad (India) since it has its own little terrace. Thank you Joelle!

It is very tasteful and peaceful. Nice furnishings, a big orange tree in the middle and the most amazing breakfasts.And then there's the very nice roof terrace if you fancy some heat and sun

The owner Joelle welcomed us when we arrived and made all sorts of recommendations for eating and sightseeing. We followed her advice and took a Hammam and massage at "Les Bains de Marrakech". Outstanding!

Its about a ten minute walk to the main square and we loved walking down the rue Kasbah each morning and evening

You can ask Joelle to arrange a taxi for when you arrive at the airport . Recommended for first timers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
243
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 on our travels around Morocco for our honeymoon. Although we did not see Joelle, her son was a wonderful host, and was even good enough to recommend places to visit both in Marrakech and in Casablanca too. The rooms were so comfortable, the roof terrace a lovely place to breakfast and relax and the food so delicious.
Hope to come and stay again some time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you book this Riad in Marrakesh, you will not be disappointed. Elegant, beautiful, authentic, calm & stylish are just a few words that come to mind. I would describe Joelle, the owner with the exact same words.
My boyfriend and I stayed here last October for 3 nights. When you get to Marrakech and drive through the extremely narrow, busy, run down streets you will worry about where you are actually staying because things are not as nice outside of the Riad. (it's great for a culture shock though!) But you are in for a treat when you reach this Riad.
We stayed in the India room which is what I would highly recommend to anyone as you have your own private terrace just outside - it's lovely to sit out on in morning or when your back from a a night out. You an bring some wine up there as well. The wine Joelle has is fantastic. There is a Moroccan Gris, peach/pink in colour that she stocks that is to die for - I forget the name.
The food in this riad is divine - you will not go hungry. breakfast lasted us til dinner time. Breakfast was a lovely experience as well - eating it downstairs, surrounded by lovely trees with tiny birds singing away, it was so romantic and tranquil. We ate breakfast on the roof terrace on our last day - this was beautiful. There are sun loungers and sofas and curtains if you want privacy and the sun beams down on you.

This Riad is about a 10 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fana Square where you will see many may stalls during the day selling all sorts of authentic Moroccan crafts and food and at night there are always acrobats, singers, entertainment. As we went in October - it was a little quieter but still busy. I imagine going any earlier could get over crowded and you need to watch yourself. There are a lot of pick pockets. Unfortunately on my first night - all my cash was stolen. I went to ATM on way home and thought it was secure in my wallet in my bag which was in front of me, but when i got back, it was gone. They will come up and try and distract you with selling things or asking you about where you're from - ignore them all!!!
However, i tried not to let this ruin my stay and Joelle made it easier by being so kind, she really helped us out by writing a letter to my insurance company as well, something I don't think every hotel owner would do, she went out of her way. Joelle was extremely helpful and on our first day, sat us down and told us all about the area and where to go. One thing she did recommend which we did was go to 'Les Bains du Marrakech' a spa just 2 minutes around the corner from this riad. This was an amazing experience. I have never been in a spa like this - I would give it 5 stars if not more. Joelle recommended that we booked the 'couples cabin' in advance so myself and my boyfriend got to enjoy this experience together. We had a body scrub/wash and a 1 hour massage for 550 dirham which is about 50 euros each. A lot cheaper than here, almost half the price. They treat you like kings and queens in this place and you feel so refreshed afterwards. Not an experienced to be missed!
Another trip she recommended was to the Atlas mountains - just bare in mind to wear very comfortable shoes and clothes - you will be walking up a mountain, on rocks & through streams for a few hours - a fantastic place though. You can have your lunch in the mountains at various cafes built in them which was lovely.
Food is lovely in morocco. The nicest restaurant and most authentic was called Le comptoir... something, It was recommended again by Joelle so ask her. A friend of hers runs it. Its very private and only opens on the time of your reservation. It's beautiful. Al Fassia was another gorgeous one. Men need to make sure they are wearing slacks as far as i remember.

We can't rate this Riad highly enough. It is one of the most peaceful and beautiful places I have every stayed in in any country. If you are booking a trip to Marrakech I suggest you just stay for 2-3 days. There is not a huge amount to do apart from relax or go to the mountains. Worth a trip though and it's only a 3 hour 45 minute flight from London.

Hope this was helpful! :)

Room Tip: Best tip - stay in this Riad! Book the India room if you can. If you are booking a trip to Marra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I decided to take a holiday break to Marrakech for a special birthday between March 6th – 13th 2013. My wife arranged to stay at this lovely riad in the Kasbah area – good choice.
Rooms all have names; ours was Sophia which was large and on first floor, also a good choice.
Breakfasts are extremely high carbohydrate, not a criticism only an observation if you’re not used. Although Joelle would have made anything we wanted, as we were on holiday we stayed with the multitude of delicious selections, which are slightly different every morning. You can really appreciate the French influence.
Joelle has 2 girls working and I wondered if they ever slept as they appear to be available to do anything (cook, clean or anything) for you at any time. The riad will cook in the evening as well but be prepared for an expensive bill, it’s probably best to eat at a local restaurant for 150 -200 dirams or try the market square stalls for allsorts of everything, including eyeballs, tongues or brains (though I wasn’t brave enough to try) for 80-100 dirams
My wife suffers from claustrophobia, so the whole trip was a bit of an ordeal for her from feeling hemmed in by the crowds of people in the evenings, or the hustle bustle of the of the Jeema El Fna market area.
So much so that Joelle tried to help arrange an early flight home, although for one reason or another the flight booking failed - not sure why, but we tried at least. CLAUSTRAPHOBIA AND MARRAKESH DO NOT MIX WELL.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked in August 2012 to spend three nights here in February 2013. Found out by accident two days before travelling that we would be staying somewhere completely different in another part of Marrakesh. No explanation for change, other than riad was overbooked. No apology for stress arising from last minute change. Proprietor had the temerity to attempt to charge extra for staying at different location; we refused. Marrakech again? Certainly. Riad Orangers D’alilia? Not a chance.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joetlo, Propriétaire at Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I think it's an error.
You didn't come in my hotel, so you cannot write comments.
We fiel absolutly not concerned by your unfonded criticisms.

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We can't recommend this Riad highly enough, it's simply beautiful and the staff fantastic.
We had a beautiful room, very comfortable bed, fab shutters that blocked the light and noise so we slept very well, and a lovely hot shower. Just outside our room we had a balconied sitting area that looked over the central courtyard and the orange tree...really gorgeous spot to relax and read.
The communal rooms were lovely, we spent a couple of evenings in, with a fire lit and eating by candlelight, the table strewn with fresh rosé petals and the best food...heaven. Definitely plan to eat at least one evening here.
Breakfasts were amazing...not to be rushed!
We'd recommend planning your excursions and transfers through Joelle, she is so helpful, and the driver she used was lovely...great English too. We wish we had for our Ourika Valley excursion as our chosen company was more expensive and the outing less well structured than another couple who took the same trip through Joelle's recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at Les Orangers d'Alilia and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We spent 2 nights in one of the larger rooms, 'Nooa' and were then asked to move to 'India' as somebody had requested the room we were staying in - we thought this was rather strange but it did mean we had a little more privacy with our own outdoor seating area! The rooms are very clean, with gorgeous bed linen and comfy beds. As others have said, it's a little odd that the rooms (bar 1) don't have doors on the bathroom! We were woken each morning by the noise of breakfast being prepared and the copious sparrows which also inhabit the riad- however, this didn't matter to us as we slept soundly during the night in the incredibly comfy beds!

The breakfasts were divine and were one of the highlights of the stay (especially the coffee!) and probably the best breakfast we have ever eaten. Every day there was a fresh new addition and it certainly set us up for a busy day of sightseeing! We had dinner one night at the riad in a private room at the back of the court yard where the staff had laid rose petals on the table and arranged for Morrocon music to be played in the background - lovely touches! The staff are very helpful and discreet, and always happy to make some mint tea when requested!

We felt that the location was very good, although it isn't as central as some people may like. Everything is walkable once you get your bearings and you certainly get the impression that you're staying in the heart of Marrakech.

All in all this Riad was a great little find which we would recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.