We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and peaceful riad in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #58 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful riad in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this beautiful Riad in late September 2012 and I cannot recommend it enough. Tucked away in a quiet street amongst the hustle and bustle of the medina, the location couldn’t be more perfect - just a short stroll from the Souks, main square and palace we were in the hub of Marrakech.
The Riad itself was so well kept – a blissful escape from the madness of the Medina. As soon as you walked inside and were greeted by Joelle and her staff you immediately felt relaxed – the décor is peaceful and allows you to relax immediately forgetting some of the madness that Marrakech offers (which is also amazing but sometimes its good/necessary to relax)!
Joelle was lovely – one of the nicest people you will ever meet, and nothing was too much of an ask– I cannot recommend enough! Thanks for a wonderful stay. Caroline, London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    43
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
242
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here with my husband in August 2012, after my daughter and her husband recommend it to us. We were blown away by the hospitality of the proprietor Joelle. Nothing was too much trouble and she certainty made our stay there very memorable!
The riad is beautifully decorated with superb food, which was served to us on the roof terrace - this was a real treat!
Marrakech is a very interesting city with lots of hustle and bustle and Joelle was always happy to recommend restaurants and places to visit.
If you are planning to visit Marrakech you really should stay here with Joelle and her staff.
Frances and Bob

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wonderful and peaceful riad, exceptionally clean and friendly.Very convenient location, walking distance from the main square. We arrived quite late, (so booked the dinner in advance) and that was one of the best meal we had in Marrakech.Loved the fact that the breakfast was served at any time we got up in a beautiful, sunny courtyard.Tea and coffee were made on request and nothing seems to be much bother for staff.This place has definitely made our trip to Marrakech more enjoyable. Joelle and the girls were fantastic

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with some friends and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was very warm and accommodating. A taxi met us at the airport and the driver helped carry our luggage to the Riad. We were met with delicious mint coffee and smiles. The rooms are all very comfortable with Air Conditioning and great amenities.

Joelle, the owner, was fantastically friendly and saw to our every need. We were able to enjoy dinner and wine at the Riad every night, though she was more than happy to arrange dinner at nearby restaurants when desired. She was also very good at suggesting and booking excursions to nearby attractions on our behalf.

Marrakesh is a very interesting city with a tremendous amount of activity going on all the time. By staying at the Riad we were able to enjoy the new sights, sounds, and smells while having a perfect escape near the heart of the Medina to go to once our senses were saturated for the day. Thanks, Joelle & Everyone else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As soon as my friend and I landed in Marrakech, we experienced Joelle's famously warm welcome. We had arranged a taxi transfer via the riad, and helpfully, the driver was waiting for us after baggage reclaim. He took us to the door of the riad, helping with our bags and introducing us to Joelle who instantly offered us a refreshing mint tea.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, and very tastefully decorated, as is the rest of the riad. The first room we stayed in had the 'open' bathroom that other reviewers have mentioned, but the second room had a door, allowing myself and my friend at least *some* privacy.

During our stay it was insanely hot, pushing 50 degrees some days. There was some air con in the room, but it wasn't as effective as it could have been, and was quite noisy.

In terms of advice, Joelle helped us choose somewhere to eat, and a few bars, providing us with a very useful map, and directions. As others have also said, the breakfasts in the morning are lovely, everything is homemade, and it really sets you up for the day.

However, the reason I say that this is *almost* perfect, is just because some things could be improved to make the stay less.....awkward Sometimes it feels a bit like you are in someone's house, and that you are putting the staff out by asking for food and drinks. One morning, we headed out early for some sightseeing and haggling in the souks. By midday it was far too hot in the medina and kasbah to be outside, so we retreated to the riad for some lunch, a sunbathe and a rest.

We ordered some salad, which although lovely when it arrived, took a long time to prepare, and when we received the bill, it must have been made from very expensive ingredients, as it was far beyond the cost of anything else we had eaten in Marrakech.

The same goes for the drinks, it was so hot that we needed to keep hydrated, but the drinks were warm, expensive and slow to arrive. I think this could be improved by Joelle introducing a drinks fridge or something on the rooftop terrace, with an honesty box, or a book to record what you have eaten/drank, so that you don't have to disturb the staff who seem to be busy from dawn til dusk.

To be fair, we did have an evening where we returned very late, and Joelle was lovely with us, but again it felt like we were staying with someone's Mum. Maybe this is just a matter of taste, and this is just not the place to stay for younger people who want to stay out in the evening, or want to have a holiday on their own terms.

I would recommend this property for couples, and families, but not those who want to be able to come and go as they please. The location is great, in the old kasbah area of Marrakech, located at the end of La Rue de La Kasbah, which although intimidating at first, is a thriving, fascinating street. Marrakech is a fabulous city, but extremely busy- this riad does offer a tasteful, peaceful retreat from that crazyness, and with some small changes could be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

If you've read the previous reviews, you'd know that this is a little far away from the main square. While some would mind it, my husband and I were prepared for it. But once you enter the door to this Riad, you forget the hustle bustle outside. The muted colour scheme Joelle has adopted lends to a serenity. Our room was on the first floor, same as the one a recent review talks about, with the open bathroom. We didn't mind that. It makes it more spacious. In fact, Joelle let us choose which room we wanted and even let us use the lounge which actually came as part of another room. Delicious breakfast served at whatever time you want. Joelle made dinner reservations for us, gave us a few tips, told us where to go for shopping etc.. All in all, it was a great stay! I would go back to this place if I ever came back to Marrakech.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We found this Riad to be the perfect escape from the crazyness that is not to far outside. Its located in a good place of Marrakesh, with easy walking distance to most places, although if you want to go exploring the staff at this riad are very helpful. They arrange taxis for you and give you the low down on the do's and donts, they also recommended some lovely eating places. When we stayed the owners son looked after us and he did a great job. Nothing was to much trouble at all. The breakfast was different i must say, it was good dont get me wrong, fresh fruit, pancakes, cakes etc and plenty of it as well.The rooms were kept clean, in fact the whole place was always clean. The room we had didnt have a toilet door which was the only moan i can say about the place, so it lacked privacy between me and the mrs, apart from that it was exellent. Air con in the rooms, thank god. A lovely roof terrace where you can relax and chill out from the mayhem outside where the staff will keep bringing you drinks. All in all I would return to this Riad for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top of the stairs 1st on the left, i think it was called sophia. Its got a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.