We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Fantastic place, with beautiful rooms and a very charming staff. Joelle, the owner, prepare for my girlfriend and me an excellent breakfast in a corner surrounded by white roses. It was so romantic, that I decided ask my girlfriend about married me. She said yes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PASCUALIN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Perfect place and a superb Riad in Marrakech with a wonderful host!!!
ReEally a place I recommend to all an definitely the place I will return to.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerdekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Riad les Orangers d'Alilia is absolutely precious. The owners are so sweet and accommodating, we really felt well taken care of. The staff is wonderful as well. We were spoiled everyone morning with a delicious home cooked breakfast...I think I gained 10 lbs.
The property is well cared for, very clean and the decor is fantastic and very authentic. They have an amazing terrace where you can enjoy some sunshine/moonlight and lounging.

The medina and surrounding areas of Marrakech are a bit chaotic and hectic. It was sheer bliss returning from a day of haggling in the souks to peace and quiet of our Riad.

If you are heading to Marrakech, I highly recommend this Riad.

Happy travels...

Room Tip: We stayed in both Sarah and Sofia, and much preferred Sofia only because it has more room to spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennykibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent Xmas here and found it a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. Joelle and her staff were most welcoming from before we arrived where she organised an airport transfer to mint tea on arrival. She also had lots of tips on places to visit and tips on what to see. She organised on request a walking tour with a local guide which was fantastic value for money ($15euro for 3.5 hours) who came to the Riad and showed us around. The breakfasts were great- fresh orange juice/ tea or coffee, pastries, eggs and the amazing morrocan pancakes and yoghurt. Overall impressions were great Riad made even better by Joelle and her staff.

Room Tip: We booked the India room. The rooms all seem roughly the same size, however this room had a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have just arrived back from this beautiful riad, we both had the flu and were worried we wouldn't enjoy ourselves. We were looked after by the Joelle and her staff. Breakfast is a feast of morrocan cakes, pancakes, sweet treats, fruit and yoghurt and eggs and bread, tea or coffee and juice..it arrives and it keeps coming. As we were ill we ate at the Riad, and the tajines were fabulous. We were recommended this Riad by some friends, and I would recommend it to everyone. They have a lovely terrace on the roof, which we used after the onslaught of souks, to relax and have tea in the sun! The riad is clean, tidy and welcoming and offers to good food. What more could you ask?

Room Tip: We stayed in Salma which is situated on the ground floor level, which was fine. It was a good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We arrived on an evening via a very comfortable 15 minute taxi ride arranged by the Riad owner Joelle. Upon arrival, we were treated to complimentary mint tea and Morrocan sweets by the very lovely and friendly Joelle. The Riad is very tastefully decorated and acts as a nice little retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. We stayed in the Sarah room on the first floor. The room is very clean, with fresh towels and sheets provided everyday. It is nicely decorated with a cosy sitting area just outside the door, perfect for having a pot of sweet mint tea and reading. There is no door between the sleeping area and the bathroom/toilet so be prepared to hear and see everything your partner does in there! On hindsight i think the cosy sitting area outside the room is for waiting for your partner to finish his/her's bathroom/toilet activities!

Breakfast is delicious and very generously portioned. It sets you up for the day perfectly. The main square Djemma El Fna is a 20 min walk away. You have to walk along Rue de Kasbah on your way to the main square but there are lots good and cheap eats along the way. You will know of the good places instantly by the size of the queues.

We were there over Christmas and was invited to join owner Joelle and her lovely family for a glass of champagne and snacks. Joelle is such a warm and accomodating host we really could not ask for anything more. She recommended an excellent hammam spa (Les Bains De Marrakech) for our last day in Marrakech. It is the best spa experience i have ever had. Needless to say, it comes highly recommended. Book a traditional package at the end of your trip to this mad city because you will need it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor offer much more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Warm, welcoming and wonderful, Riad les Orangers d'Alilia is a lovely small Riad situated in the Mellah, the old Jewish quarter of Marrakech. A ten minute walk from Djemaa El-Fna, les Orangers in the perfect base to explore the old city. Joelle and her staff are both attentive and friendly, making you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. I'd highly recommend it to anyone particularly if you're visiting Marrakech for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#80 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#74 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#78 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#32 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#68 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#164 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing