We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Calm before the storm !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Calm before the storm !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Well what can I say that has already been mentioned!! Joelle truly is a fantastic host who goes out of her way to make quests well welcome. She is so helpful and sweet, the best host ever.

The Riad is very tasteful with hints of Moroccan decor, very stylish. The scent of the orange trees in the courtyard is delightful. Joelle has wonderful taste and has created a relaxed and tranquil Riad a real oasis from the rest of Marrakech.

I would recommend the India room with a suite outside in the from of two day beds, its secluded and a bargain! Like all other reviews I too recommend The Kozy Bar for cocktails and the Bains De Marrakech- utterly devine experience.

The roof terrace is great for sunbathing and chillin. You must stay here!! Food is excellent too very fresh!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    39
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
225
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Just arrived back from Marrakech and the riad. Booked dinner on arrival and it was very well prepared and a relaxing end to the day after an afternoon of travelling. Joelle was very welcoming and the room was just as I imagined. Marrakech itself is quite frenetic so the riad was an oasis to return to after a mad afternoon out shopping in the square. There is a roof terrace with sun loungers, no pool but a shower to cool down.
I had arranged a taxi with Joelle to pick us up and return us to the airport. Again all very efficient and all went smoothly. Marrakesh is so close to the airport, we were at the riad within fifteen minutes.
All in all, I would recommend the riad to everyone, maybe the only slight problem is that I didn't see any single beds so be prepared to share a double bed girls!!! (or boys)!!
The taxi driver does not speak any English, so get the school French primed. He tried his best but any trips with him will be very difficult unless you speak French or Arabic.
Mounia works at the riad and was very helpful with lots of information on the surrounding area.
Thanks to everyone for making our stay there a lovely memory.

Room Tip: All rooms offer similiar facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I took my husband for a surprise holiday to marrakech. Les Orangers kept coming up on holiday websites and i looked on here for reviews and decided beacuse it had such good reviews. We arrived at the riad and i was wary before the door opened onto the beautiful courtyard, just like the pictures. We were greeted with mint tea. The following morning Joelle came and sat with us and talked us through where we were on map, places to eat and told us to go and have a hamman (amazing experience). The riad is beautiful and peacfull. The rooms are a little on the small side but clean and spotless. Breakfast was always good and joelle prepared a meal for my husbands birthday which was lovely and it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves, will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

What a beautiful Riad! Joelle (the owner) provided a genuine & warm welcome making you feel instantly at home. Nothing is too much bother; she gave us some great tips on where to visit and was very happy to book tables and taxis for us. I stayed here with friends to celebrate a birthday and when Joelle saw the cards she surprised us with a beautiful bunch of roses.

The place is beautifully decorated, with relaxing lounge areas in the courtyard and a lovely roof terrace to sunbathe, the breakfasts were delicious & plentiful and all the staff are charming.

We had a great time exploring the sights but would highly recommend spending an afternoon at Les Bains de la Marrakesh for a traditional Hamman followed by a massage, not the cheapest around but worth paying more for the relaxing and pampering!

Loved Marrakesh and loved the Riad, 5* service with personality & warmth!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for our last night in Morocco, and it was a good choice. The riad is located in the Kasbah neighbourhood of Marrakech, and was easy to find (thanks largely to the satellite map app in our iPad. --Our reservation confirmation only gave the owner's phone number in France; I did try to phone it to get directions but wasn't of course successful. Fortunately, we did not need directions because of the iPad). We also managed to park very close to the riad. --Upon our arrival, the housekeeper showed us to our room ("Noa") on the second floor. It was very elegantly decorated with neutral colors, yet in Moroccan style. We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies. The owner arrived soon (it was Thursday before Easter and her family had just arrived from France for a visit), and she made us a dinner reservation in a very good restaurant in the neighbourhood, Kozy Bar (from their rooftop terrace, you can watch storks nesting on the Kasbah walls).

Because the courtyard (riad) is open, this riad was a little noisier than what we had in Fez, but we still slept quite well. (We quickly learned to wear ear plugs, in order not to be awakend by the 5:30 am prayer calls from the mosques).--The breakfast was good, with fresh fruit, yogurt, custard, bread, preserves, juice, coffee/mint tea).

I would stay at this riad again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Joelle and her staff were really friendly and warm throughout our stay. We were greeted with big smiles plus mint tea & sweets on arrival - much needed after a 4 hour plane delay! There was lots of attention to detail in the riad (fresh roses, incense) and we enjoyed plentiful breakfasts and a delicious evening meal. Joelle has lots of local knowledge and she was always happy to advise on things to see and excursions to take. The riad has a fantastic roof top terrace, plunge pool where we dipped our feet and the rooms were gorgeous, and impeccably clean. The riad location is excellent - most of the sights are within easy walking distance (the saddian tombs, bhia palace and jewish mellah area are very close by). Its position 10 minutes away from the hustle & bustle of the main square makes it ideal if you are seeking rest & relaxation but its close enough to walk to all the action so you're not missing out. I would highly recommend this riad to anyone staying in Marrakesh - its even more lovely in real life than in the images.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This riad is absolutely beautiful with the orange trees in the courtyard and the fresh white roses arranged around the riad daily. The rooms are well finished and impeccably clean, and the service is first class. The food makes me hungry as I remember it, and breakfast could fill you up for the day.
As first time visitors to Marrakech, we were very grateful to the friendly taxi driver who was sent to us by Joelle, and also for the time she took to reccomend a few different places for us to visit. None of them disappointed us!
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone. A haven of peace, despite the fact that a bomb exploded in the square while were staying here. This didn't spoil our time in Marrakech, and we sincerely hope that it doesn't put anyone off visiting here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Address: 216, rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.