We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Very, very unexpected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Very, very unexpected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Do not blink when you arrive at this restaurant or you'll miss it! A tiny front door behind a curtain opens to reveal a modern, bistro-style restaurant with a few outside tables. Despite previous reviews, the owner and front-of-house manager does speak decent English and the menu is available in both French and English so no excuse for not knowing what's on offer! Most importantly, they don't serve lobster but langoustine which is notoriously fickle when it comes to availability. There is a terrific choice of both sea and land although you should veer towards the fish and seafood as it the more interesting. Excellent selection of starters - we had an eclectic choice of tuna carpaccio, raw clams, giant prawns, steak tartar & dim sum! Mains were John Dory, sea bass and lamb - everything was truly excellent; flawless in fact. The wine list is a mixture of French & Moroccan and we had one of each, including an excellent chilled Brouilly. Excellent, friendly serviced completed a memorable and wonderful evening. £140 for 3 was excellent value. Don't hesitate - easilyy the best meal we had in Marrakesh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    58
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to this restaurant as it is so highly regarded on Trip advisor, we both really wanted to have lobster. We arrived and no lobster and numerous other menu items were not available either. We shared oysters which only one of the four choices were available and the oysters were beautiful, from there it goes down hill. If you do not speak French don't bother going to this restaurant as they do not speak or understand English. We are well traveled so language does not put us off, however I had the grilled prawns as a main and they are grilled with the shell on, no finger bowl or refreshing towel to wipe my hands and a choice of one side so prawns and chips, certainly not what I expected from what looked like a lovely french inspired seafood restaurant. The disaster though was the soufflé which appeared popular as surrounding tables were all having it. Ours was not cooked and resembled custard, no apology from the owner when we bought it to the waiters attention, we were not charged for the soufflé. However, would have much preferred to pay for it and have it cooked as it should be as the meals are all small I our opinion, so we have left still hungry.

This restaurant is not great, it is in a very dark back street, certainly not a place we would recommend anyone visit, such a shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. They have one of the best selections of fish and seafood dishes that you will find in Marrakech. Having witnessed the arrival of some spider crabs we can also attest to the freshness of the ingredients. Although the choice of meat dishes is more limited, all that we ate and saw was excellent. Service is excellent and friendly and they have a good and well priced wine list. If you want a change from Moroccan food go here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

You have to give it to them- the French are just so good at getting the simple things right- my plateau fruits de mere was faultless- sea urchin, clams, whelks, oysters, and super fresh extra large gambas-
Very attentive service, a friendly and professional restaurant in every way.
Put it on you're list - don't go to early- the fresh lobsters arrive at about 8pm.
Excellent value for money- I spent around £35 all in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was the best meal we had in a week of great food in Marrakech. We loved it so much that we went back for lunch two days later. The wine was good and at a much better price than many other restaurants. I ate the steak Tartare which was delicious and the experience was really lovely. For lunchtime they offer a limited selection of starters, accompanied by a croque Moinseur/madame and a desert for DHS140 - really worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.