We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 585 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. They have one of the best selections of fish and seafood dishes that you will find in Marrakech. Having witnessed the arrival of some spider crabs we can also attest to the freshness of the ingredients. Although the choice of meat dishes is more limited, all that we ate and saw was excellent. Service is excellent and friendly and they have a good and well priced wine list. If you want a change from Moroccan food go here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    61
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

You have to give it to them- the French are just so good at getting the simple things right- my plateau fruits de mere was faultless- sea urchin, clams, whelks, oysters, and super fresh extra large gambas-
Very attentive service, a friendly and professional restaurant in every way.
Put it on you're list - don't go to early- the fresh lobsters arrive at about 8pm.
Excellent value for money- I spent around £35 all in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was the best meal we had in a week of great food in Marrakech. We loved it so much that we went back for lunch two days later. The wine was good and at a much better price than many other restaurants. I ate the steak Tartare which was delicious and the experience was really lovely. For lunchtime they offer a limited selection of starters, accompanied by a croque Moinseur/madame and a desert for DHS140 - really worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful TASTE experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just dined here tonight, what an amazing experience! The food is wonderfully tasty, staff is super-courteous and the ambience is perfect for a classy night out. I was definitely surprised by the high quality cuisine, my compliments to the chef and to everyone at this nicely located and glamorously designed location. Thank you for giving us an unforgettable night in Marrakech!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you Alex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a fabulous night Alex is a great host. The food was amazing as was the services. All topped off with some delicious cocktails.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.