We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, nice ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
Rue Moulay Ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212 5244-21494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Dined here on 3rd May. Had a delightful seafood medley of Oysters whilst investigating the menu, Lobster as a starter and Sea Bass for main. Disappointed the Foie Gras was sold out. Would recommend as a welcome break from tagines!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    69
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great patio, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

All in all, it is a very wonderful experience! You cannot ask for much more! My fiance and I went for dinner recently and I was very impressed, the patio is pretty cool! Nice atmosphere and the clientele are easy to be around!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Do not get discouraged by the weird street or the entrance, this place gets animated after 9pm and looks like a very friendly getaway from the smells of Medina for mainly French locals and tourists. Good fresh seafood, ncluding different types of oysters (very good baguette as well!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“C'est Magnifique! Amazing......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked Chez Mado for our 25th Wedding anniversary last Tuesday (25.02.14), set in a little back street this place is amazing.
Great bistro type setting, fantastic seafood choice (meat too if you prefer) we couldn't have made a better choice, really good value too.
The waiters are knowledgeable and very attentive, the owners look after you very well too, we couldn't rate this restaurant any higher, if you visit Marrakech you simply must go.
We had the Spiny Crab salad and Steamed Crayfish dumplings to begin, bouillabaisse as a main course, Crème Brulee and Gran Marnier soufflé to finish.
If you want fantastic food and a great hosts you must give Chez Mado a visit.
Graham & Justine. (UK)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Why this establishment?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

International French cuisine has a delicious history in Marrakesh. Chez Mado is one of, if not the best French restaurant in the city. (Locals debate.) They specialize in seafood dishes. If you want to taste some of the finest in Moroccan French tradition, make a reservation. They will pair the wine for you and make you feel welcome with true gastronomic flair.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi mr ors mrs Grymoor

Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.