We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $36 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not just the best meal that we had in Marrakech, but possibly in the top ten of meals that I have eaten anywhere. Small and very friendly restaurant that we spotted while walking back to the hotel: it looked nice so we went in and asked to reserve a table for the evening. Staff very freindly then, and more so when we came back later. Food excellent. Meal could have been spoiled by a bottle of wine that was very definitely off, but this was changed with minimum of fuss. Out of the way, but worth finding

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    141
    52
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Chez Mado is not difficult to find but is in a quiet side street. The decor is modern and crisp in tones of red and brown and the service is friendly and efficient.
Inside the front cover of the menu is the story of Mado (Madeleine - the chef's grandmother) after whom the restaurant is named. It is a lovely story of how she arrived in Morroco with her husband and opened La Bonbonniere hotel and restaurant in Cassablanca and the photos on the walls continue the dedication to Mado and her work.
There were several dishes not on the menu the evening we were there but the food we had was excellent - probably the best Caesar salad I have ever had and the John Dory with Churizo was very well prepared. We had the soufflé with Grand Marnier for dessert which required an additional 20 minutes to cook but was absolutely a little piece of heaven! We had both ordered it but due to a mistake in the kitchen only one was cooked. However, it was huge so we were not disappointed! We were offered a couple of Limoncellos by way of apology as well.
This would definitely be a regular haunt if I lived in Marrakech. Sadly I don't have that option but I am delighted we had the opportunity to dine Chez Mado!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good and fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a dinner in the restaurant on our first night in Marrakesh. We had oysters, which are very good (we preferred the no.2 over the no.1 of the same origin). My husband had a plate of seashells and another plate of shrimps with mayo. Both were very fresh and yummy. I had a big lobster for my main plate. We love seafood and my husband has a very sensitive stomach for freshness, and I can tell that everything is fresh.

The restaurant have several tables, but book in advance to secure a place. They also have a small bar. It is very clean, modern, and a nice place. The dress code is between casual and formal. Like most (if not all) restaurants in Marrakesh, smoking is allowed inside.

The service is top. The waiter is amazing (sorry, forgot to ask his name). Everything went very well, EXCEPT that the owner is not very nice/welcoming. He seemed uninterested with the customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at Chez Mado and thoroughly enjoyed it. A lovely little restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. We had delicious food and it was served quickly. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb lunchtime sojourn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I have just finished an exceptionally good lunch at Chez Mado. I have been here before but today's experience was superb. We both had the largest and juiciest oysters fresh and smelling of the sea -mmmmmmm and then followed this with a perfectly cooked faux filet with a delicate light sauce which complemented my perfectely pink meat.
Followed by the pear tart between us which was just the ticket. We have already booked for Saturday night and am salivating at the thought of more delicious oysters.
Lovely atmosphere and modern clean interior complemented by well prepared and delivered food.
Am looking forward to Saturday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.