We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunchtime sojourn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
new york, usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb lunchtime sojourn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I have just finished an exceptionally good lunch at Chez Mado. I have been here before but today's experience was superb. We both had the largest and juiciest oysters fresh and smelling of the sea -mmmmmmm and then followed this with a perfectly cooked faux filet with a delicate light sauce which complemented my perfectely pink meat.
Followed by the pear tart between us which was just the ticket. We have already booked for Saturday night and am salivating at the thought of more delicious oysters.
Lovely atmosphere and modern clean interior complemented by well prepared and delivered food.
Am looking forward to Saturday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    58
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant I've been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Certainly the best in marrakech and I've been to most of the top ones according to tripadvisor. I had the linguine with prawns and my fiancé had the mado steak, both were incredible, the steak especially. We shared profiteroles for dessert and they were far superior to any I've had even in France. Outstanding service too. And the meal costed us around £30 so it was incredibly well
priced for the quality. This place deserves a Michelin star.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant in tripadvisor, and the reviews were good. Very clean and modern decor. The food was tasty and the portion size was more than enough. Beer a little pricey at 50-70 dirhams for a small bottle, wine was 200-400 per bottle. Complimentary limoncello after our meal which was a nice touch. They list it as a French restaurant, but there was a fair bit of Italian on the menu too. The dishes were mainly fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood at reasonable prices w superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hidden little treasure off of Marrakesh's main thoroughfare in the new city provides an innovative and interesting menu with a variety of seafood options that provided a nice break from tajines. The service was lovely, decor quaint, with a nice outdoor patio, and an amazing grand marnier soufflé. The servers were more than happy to explain the menu in detil, and we definitely felt we got more than we paid for! Very reasonable

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Swanky french bistro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Super deco and good buzz even though we arrived very late. Somewhat cheeky waiters and enormous scallops... All very good if a little salty... Was dying of thirst the next day... The snails and bouillabaisse were both a little over-seasoned. A good break from Moroccan fare and we were both grateful for the complimentary limoncello to end our meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.