We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant I've been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $36 - $45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
paris
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant I've been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Certainly the best in marrakech and I've been to most of the top ones according to tripadvisor. I had the linguine with prawns and my fiancé had the mado steak, both were incredible, the steak especially. We shared profiteroles for dessert and they were far superior to any I've had even in France. Outstanding service too. And the meal costed us around £30 so it was incredibly well
priced for the quality. This place deserves a Michelin star.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    139
    50
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant in tripadvisor, and the reviews were good. Very clean and modern decor. The food was tasty and the portion size was more than enough. Beer a little pricey at 50-70 dirhams for a small bottle, wine was 200-400 per bottle. Complimentary limoncello after our meal which was a nice touch. They list it as a French restaurant, but there was a fair bit of Italian on the menu too. The dishes were mainly fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood at reasonable prices w superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hidden little treasure off of Marrakesh's main thoroughfare in the new city provides an innovative and interesting menu with a variety of seafood options that provided a nice break from tajines. The service was lovely, decor quaint, with a nice outdoor patio, and an amazing grand marnier soufflé. The servers were more than happy to explain the menu in detil, and we definitely felt we got more than we paid for! Very reasonable

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Swanky french bistro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Super deco and good buzz even though we arrived very late. Somewhat cheeky waiters and enormous scallops... All very good if a little salty... Was dying of thirst the next day... The snails and bouillabaisse were both a little over-seasoned. A good break from Moroccan fare and we were both grateful for the complimentary limoncello to end our meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This French restaurant in Gueliz redocorated and changed its menu frover the summer to emphasize seafood over the beef-oriented menu of the past. The food continues to be wonderful, although my friend was disappointed by the "bouillabaise" which contained ample seafood, but little broth soething he had looked forward to on the cold winter night we were there. My fish was perfectly cooked and the fresh seafood platter full of great shellfish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.