We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seafood platter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 543 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $35 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Marrakech
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This French restaurant in Gueliz redocorated and changed its menu frover the summer to emphasize seafood over the beef-oriented menu of the past. The food continues to be wonderful, although my friend was disappointed by the "bouillabaise" which contained ample seafood, but little broth soething he had looked forward to on the cold winter night we were there. My fish was perfectly cooked and the fresh seafood platter full of great shellfish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    52
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice seafood lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Decor is light and breezy, as if you are at the beach for lunch. Fresh seafood and warm service at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This very french little bistro is a real gem and frequented by many of the ex pat french community. The seafood was divine and the fillet steak and chips was the best I have eaten in years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little French Gem in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After realizing that many authentic Marrakesh restaurants have pretty much the same menu (same tagines, same appetizers, not much of innovation), we turned to TripAdvisor reviews and decided to try Chez Mado, as it is in Guerliz, trendy new part of town. We went to Chez Mado twice, and if we found it earlier, it would have been more. Both the food and the service were superb, especially for the price range (dinner for two with good amount of wine, appetizers, desert, apperitif ~ US$100). Alex, chef and owner, along with his wife, were very hospitable hosts and even when restaurants gets really busy after 9 pm, still find time to check on you. Cuisine is that of French bistro with seafood influence (seafood platters, crudos, tartar, oysters, sea urchins), simple but impeccably prepared (we tried many dishes and everything was flawless, with our top vote going for perfectly cooked steak and baked whole fish of the day). The crowd (mostly French expats) starts gathering after 9 pm and music starts around that time as well, so if you come earlier, around 8 pm, you can have some romantic time as well. Wine list was carefully picked, with many French, as well some great Moroccan wines; all very reasonably priced. Chez Mado will make you feel that you're in a neighborhood restaurant in Paris and you're friends of the owners. Everything is genuine: food, service, atmosphere, guitar music - for that you should definitely try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“And Now for Something Completely Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband said it wasn't far from our riad (translated as around a mile and a half). Because I'm as realistic as he is I wore new, ridiculous, painful shoes. We got lost several times and probably walked an extra mile. It was unseasonably warm, pitch black and the uncertainty of where we were (in a seemingly residential area) added to the fun. From the outside we thought, "Really?" Upon entering, we were the only people there (shortly before 8:00 PM). The first impulse was to turn and run but you don't stay married for 40 years if you don't have an open mind. The space very well designed - bright, modern, attractively lit and comfortable. Not much English is spoken but the owner/manager was welcoming and our server was very personable and we managed to order our meal. It was just great. The wine was great. The music was fabulous. By 9:00 pm people were arriving en masse, largely French, local and regulars. By the time we left it was practically a party. Our meals were really delicious and in retrospect we wished we had gone back later in the week! Not your typical Marrakech restaurant and absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;