We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little French Gem in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
22 rue moulay ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212524421494
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $37 - $45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little French Gem in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After realizing that many authentic Marrakesh restaurants have pretty much the same menu (same tagines, same appetizers, not much of innovation), we turned to TripAdvisor reviews and decided to try Chez Mado, as it is in Guerliz, trendy new part of town. We went to Chez Mado twice, and if we found it earlier, it would have been more. Both the food and the service were superb, especially for the price range (dinner for two with good amount of wine, appetizers, desert, apperitif ~ US$100). Alex, chef and owner, along with his wife, were very hospitable hosts and even when restaurants gets really busy after 9 pm, still find time to check on you. Cuisine is that of French bistro with seafood influence (seafood platters, crudos, tartar, oysters, sea urchins), simple but impeccably prepared (we tried many dishes and everything was flawless, with our top vote going for perfectly cooked steak and baked whole fish of the day). The crowd (mostly French expats) starts gathering after 9 pm and music starts around that time as well, so if you come earlier, around 8 pm, you can have some romantic time as well. Wine list was carefully picked, with many French, as well some great Moroccan wines; all very reasonably priced. Chez Mado will make you feel that you're in a neighborhood restaurant in Paris and you're friends of the owners. Everything is genuine: food, service, atmosphere, guitar music - for that you should definitely try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    139
    48
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“And Now for Something Completely Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband said it wasn't far from our riad (translated as around a mile and a half). Because I'm as realistic as he is I wore new, ridiculous, painful shoes. We got lost several times and probably walked an extra mile. It was unseasonably warm, pitch black and the uncertainty of where we were (in a seemingly residential area) added to the fun. From the outside we thought, "Really?" Upon entering, we were the only people there (shortly before 8:00 PM). The first impulse was to turn and run but you don't stay married for 40 years if you don't have an open mind. The space very well designed - bright, modern, attractively lit and comfortable. Not much English is spoken but the owner/manager was welcoming and our server was very personable and we managed to order our meal. It was just great. The wine was great. The music was fabulous. By 9:00 pm people were arriving en masse, largely French, local and regulars. By the time we left it was practically a party. Our meals were really delicious and in retrospect we wished we had gone back later in the week! Not your typical Marrakech restaurant and absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a wonderful meal at this most welcoming French Restaurant. The staff were charming, despite our poor command of French. Don't miss the seafood platter or the best steak in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant, great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Its in a little side street and does not look much from the outside, but you step through the door into a very warm welcome.
The food was great, french menu was a little difficult to decipher and some of the staff had the same problem with English as we had with French.
Great atomsphere and music

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful new addition to the Marrakech dining scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For those who might be looking for something easy after a bit too much sensory overload from the Marrakech sites, smells, and sounds, this intimate Gueliz restaurant does the trick. A welcome new addition to the dining scene, Chez Mado serves delicious, simple French food with a hint of Moroccan, and using the fantastic local ingredients.

We had spider crab, foie gras, and a hamburger between us, a nice light wine. Prices were reasonable, service very good, and overall the ambience is quite pleasant.

Will definitely be going back. It is the kind of place that makes you want to become a regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.