We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Reves D'orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Reves D'orient to your Saves list
Riad Reves D'orient
44 derd abib allah | Medina - quartier mouassine, Marrakech 44008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a long overdue review of Riad Reves D'Orient. We were at this Riad last December and can only tell you that from Samira, the owner to the cook, cleaning staff and all we received the best service and care we have ever received at a hotel.

Samira ensured that Mustafa guided us through the narrow, mysterious alleys and streets and throughout the city. It was not included in our stay, it was out of the goodness of her heart. Needless to say that we felt very special.

The room was adorable, we felt we were living a fantasy story out of a book.

No details escaped Samira and her team. The food was fantastic, dinners were very special and set up in a way to make friends from all over the world.

Please do not miss having a massage with the girls at the riad, very inexpensive and wonderful.
Speaking of massages, Samira made sure we were able to buy authentic argan oil and spices to bring back with us home.

The belly dancing shows are very good, you need to watch Samira dance the night away.

All in all, we highly recommend staying at this riad with Samira and her team. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    34
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
105
143
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Marrakech medina is a horrid tourist trap with lots of bicycles and motorcycles zooming down the narrow alleys. You are constantly on guard from getting run over and the shops in the medina are tacky, Fes is the place to go if you want to see a lived-in medina. The only people living in the Marrakech medina are those working there.

I stayed on the ground floor of this Riad for 3 days. My air conditioner did not work and I asked three differently people about getting it fixed. Each person gave me a confused look like they weren't aware of the problem (it is a small Riad), tried to fix it with the aircon remote and then said they would let the manager know (he gave me a confused look as well when I enquired). On the third night I changed rooms. The hotel looked clean but the shower room smelt like sewage and the shower and sink did not drain well. This dar is overpriced considering the quality of hotels outside the Medina (La Renaissance hotel is amazing and marginally cheaper with better everything).

After one day within the Medina we were bored senseless and just wanted to escape the tackiness of the place and the inadequacy of the Riad. Marrakech is not the place to stay in a Riad if you want to stay in a Medina, go to Fes for that.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid the ground floor. It is extraordinarily noisy (you will hear the doorb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

A truly Moroccan feel. Amazing with amazing and helpful staff. Samira the owner will always point u in the right direction and give u suggestion and is happy to organise it for u. Just ensure u call her before arrival so she can organise a guide and trolley for baggage as u will get lost on your way as the raid is in small alley ways but don't let this scare u. The only issue we had is that in the whole of morocco they do not exchange Australian dollars.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Hiden gem, We couldn't have asked for any thing better, 10/10 for this place excellent service, Amazing decor (real Moroccan feel), we came late one night 10 pm and asked them for dinner they made us amazing pastries and tangeen.
Breakfast on the terrace was great and relaxing.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Loved it. We had the hotel arrange our airport transfer, then at the outskirts of the medina, the porter met us for the 8-10 min walk to the riad. Thereafter, the riad was easy to find given several landmarks. We felt very safe as we were in a "neighborhood;" staying in the medina, we got a real feel for Marrakech. The riad's location within the medina is perfect. Helped us to arrange a reasonable rental car

Room was very nice, beautiful carved doors to enter rooms. lobby lovely. we enjoyed excellent breakfasts on the terrace and lounging there later in the day. wonderful, accommodating staff. We stayed for two days, then left and returned twice for overnights, and the staff welcomed us warmly upon each return. Many nice little touches add to the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Riad for only one day, en-route to Fez. Its next to impossible to find the Riad by way of map, and its necessary to be able to have arranged the transfer. Alternatively, you will have to haggle and fix a price with a local to guide you to the Riad from the drop off point. The "guiding" business is cartelized and you can never find anybody on the road who will help you with directions. Once you have traveled the route, its easy to go in and out of the Riad without much difficulty. Its location is only a few minutes from the main square.
The Riad itself was beautiful. Samira, the owner and host, was very welcoming. Upon arrival, the host welcomes you with tea and home baked cookies. The room is thematically decorated.
We had, by email, asked for the Riad to arrange for train tickets to Fez and they had arranged for it. We requested for breakfast at 6:30 in the morning and they once again obliged.
Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at Reves D'Orient for 2 nights in March. I was travelling alone with my 10 year old. We were warmly greeted by hotel staff at the Medina gate and escorted to the Riad. It is a lovely Riad -- with lots of "Arabian nights" touches. Our room was on the main floor - the Opaline room -- a restful oasis. The Riad is less than a 10 minute walk to the main square and we found it very easy to find our way back and forth, after being shown the way the first time. We had no concerns about walking back alone at night from the Square. Samira was extremely gracious and kind and made us feel very much at home in the Riad, as did all of her staff. My son really appreciated being introduced to Samira's children. The breakfasts and one special lunch we had on the rooftop (magical!) were delicious. You will feel very well taken care of at Reves D'Orient!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Reves D'orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Reves D'orient

Address: 44 derd abib allah | Medina - quartier mouassine, Marrakech 44008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Reves d'Orient a unique journey Luxury - just steps from the famous "Jemaa El Fna" with all of its life and charm is what we can offer our guests at Riad Reves d'Orient. The riad is refined and enchanting, and you will open its doors to an oasis of calm and serenity including the wonderful spa on the terrace. The jacuzzi will give you some unforgettable memories as you gaze at the stars, and the patio designed in the tradition of Arab-Andalusian art will provide you a haven of tranquillity when accompanied with a mint tea. The accommodation will provide you with a very comfortable stay - mainly composed of suites, and all are equipped with plasma TVs. Riad Reves d'Orient therefore is the perfect place for family visits(family room) and couples (romantic suite). Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Reves D'orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Reves d`Orient Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Reves D'orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.