We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, delicious food, tasteful decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food, tasteful decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Just returned from a five day trip to Marrakech - our stay in the Riad La Rose D'Orient was a delight. The Riad is peaceful, beautifully decorated and has a wonderful sun terrace on the roof. Our children really enjoyed splashing about in the small pool after a morning in the souks and the sunshine. Mohammed provided great service and the breakfasts and evening meals were really delicious. The lamb tajines with couscous were particularly good - much better than those we tried in the central restaurants.

Before we arrived I was slightly concerned about the Riad's location - but there was no need to have worried. It is only a 15 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna, 10 minutes to the souks and 10 minutes to the Ben Youssef Medersa. Despite the proximity to the tanneries there were never any bad smells. We walked into the centre every day, never needed to take a taxi. At nine pm the streets were still really bustling and we felt perfectly safe walking back after visiting the night market.

I would recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011 via mobile

A great place to stay to enjoy the real Marrakech. A gem in the old city. Well worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Riad La Rose D'Orient - a great retreat after the hustle & bustle of The Souqs and Square. The staff were every willing to please. The challenge is going to and from the square but you are never far from a taxi and taxis can drop you very close to the Riad which cannot be said for alot of Riads within The Medina. Breakfasts were tasty and dinners were delicious. Thanks to all for making us welcome during our recent stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

PLEASE Beware! We stayed at this location last week. It is not safe. It is remote and hard for even locales to find. Positive reviews must be written by friends of the owners. The owners told us that they would send a driver to meet us at the train station. They did not. They were indignant and lied about "sending a driver." The owners are NOT on site and only come briefly to collect money in the morning. The gentleman who works for them does not have time off. He works 24 hrs. a day. You must wake him up to turn the internet on along with the lights in the evening. This employee told us the area around the location was safe. We were attacked at knife point the day after he told us that. The couple in the room next to ours were also approached by criminals. Yes, the rooms are nice, but you may lose your life while staying at Riad La Rose D'Orient . I have never written a review such as this before but I don't want anyone else to make what could be a fatal error by staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moisejoce, Propriétaire at Riad La Rose D'Orient, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
It is my duty and obligation today to answer back to this unjustified criticisme but also insignificant for us coming from this person.

I would like first of all to remind this person for having taken care personally of her as
knowing that she is "Diabetic" it was my duty to prepare for her special meals appropriate
for her health problem. As we noticed she did not consume her first breakfast at the Ryad.

During their stay the clinets are most of the time absent , so they ignore whether we are present or not during the day.... perhaps this lady would have appreciated that we spend the vacation in her company................

On the second hand, we never missed a transfer. The driver who was supposed to pick-
up this client coming from Casablanca by train at 15h.30 arrived only at 19h.30, which means
the driver had to wait 4H.30 at the rail-station, but still he was there, it seems she did not see
him, and we had to pay the transfer fee without claiming any reimbursement from the client.

Today, she treated us Liars... thanks again

Our employees are very well treated and are considered as members of our familly. I
think no one has the right to criticise, or judge our internal business at the Ryad, but rather
judge themselves.

Two ladies alone late in the night, being attacked can happen anywhere in the world, specially with all the latest events everywhere, this is beyond our control..so to be on the safe side, taxis are available for nothing , but poeple think that in some countries all should be cheaper or rather free............. please pay and avoid all the consequences............

Fortunately, all clients who knew us personally and stayed at our Riad, for all those whom we shall always welcome in the future, reading this kind of comments shall know who we are, If someone is DANGEROUS IN THIS STORY, sorry to say Madame, it's yourself...........
and this is on my behlaf and on behalf of my staff who was really amused in reading your
critics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

You cannot ask for anything more from this Riad! It is clean, comfy, the staff are excellent! One in particular Mohammed who put up with my bad french! The owners are really friendly. A friendly guy called Ahmed will meet you at the airport and take you on excursions if you wish. Definetly go quadbiking when your there. Eat in the Riad as much as you can, the food is first class. we ate there 2 nights, and I would travel back to Morocco just for the food. The Riad itself is on 3 floors, the ground floor opens up to a beautiful sitting area, with a large pool and two sitting areas and a private area with a tv, the second floor has a few rooms. we stayed in a very nice one with a huge bathroom. the top floor has deck chairs and additional rooms as well as a private jacuzzi corner and a sitting area for breakfast. The hotel itself is typically hidden away in the maze that is the medina however they give you a simple map to follow basically when you exit the riad go out onto the street, head across the 'car park' onto a street thats straight ahead, when you come to a T junction with a red sign turn left and keep walking straight untill you pass the market then take the next right (youll see a jewllery shop ahead once you turn right) then walk straight for about 5 mins and your into la place!! If you get lost in the new city make sure you have a map where you can point to the gate the riad is near and do not pay over 80 at the very most during the night. Some tips before you leave for Marrakech, bring boots and a jacket if your going in winter (when it rains it turns into a mud bath!), prepare to haggle for everything except food, leave enough money to pay for the hotel in cash (card machines rarely work but keep trying if you have the patience), watch you bag, learn some basic french! and more importantly book this Riad!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

A very efficiently run and welcoming Riad, nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast every day on the roof terrace overlooking the Atlas Mountains before setting off into town.
We particularly liked the location as it is to the Eastern side of the medina. This meant we were away from the tourist spots and the walk to the main square was both quick and it took you down streets where all the locals were at work or play. We felt this was much better than popping straight into the arms of a yet another "faux guide"!
We had one dinner (tagine) which was excellent but like the excitement of eating in different places every day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the riad and all I can say is that La Rose d’Orient is THE riad to stay in Marrakech.
First of all, the owners, Joce and Moise are absolutely lovely. They’re friendly, warm and basically just make you feel home.
Then, the staff. They are brilliant, very sweet, always smiling and happy to help. The food was excellent, our room was always clean (so was the whole riad), well decorated and as mentioned by many other customers, the rose petals detail was perfect. We also absolutely loved the jacuzzi!
Finally, if you are looking for a haven, something genuine I would definitely recommend you to stay at La Rose d’Orient. It's well situated: only 10 minutes walk from Jamaa el Fna but far enough from the craziness and noise of this main square.
Merci encore Joce et Moise!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.