We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mohammed was amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mohammed was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

we booked the Riad, not knowing anything about marrakech, we left the airport and was greeted by a very kind taxi driver, which was organised by the Riad!! thank god they arranged this for us as we would have been very lost. we got to the street where the riad was and it is down a back alley, not what we expected at all, it was in a very poor part, but this is to be expected once you understand marrakesh, the poor part is very poor and the rich is very rich, however when you open open the doors, that you think will be horrible, you are greeted by a WONDERFUL , VERY BEAUTIFUL Entrance, the design is very traditional,

the only downside is there is not enough lighting in the rooms, and there are no plugs, the baths are very big so Ideal for a Romantic weekend away and because of the lack of lighting this could set the mood,


the hotel was very clean, and Mohammed was always on hand to help,
they do not serve alcohol, this is nothing to do with religious beliefs, so they are more than happy to let you drink any drinks you bring yourself, you can buy them in the local carrefour, we even went drinking with the owners who were very kind, the Wife has such a friendly warm character.

Mohammed will arrange quad biking, which I will reccoment, Camel riding I wont, ( personal bad experience nothing to do with Riad) definately worth having a Hamman it was AMAZING!!!

All in all this is a lovely place, just research the location and make sure you are happy with it, although everything is a 50Dirham ( £5 or 5 Euro) taxi ride away so not that far at all!

All I can say is thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect, worth calling them and seeing what suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
52
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

1st day : We arrived here from another riad ( which was amazing and half the price ) and was rather hungry as we presumed you could eat in a riad to be told that should we wish to eat we have to pre order ? But we were too late as the ladies that Cook had gone ! We decided to have a glass of wine to work out our dinner plans to be told no alcohol is served here !! Next day asked if we could use the jacuzzi to be told it's switched off at the moment and cold but they could turned on for the next day . Breakfast was simple same as other riads so no complaint really there . The main reason we picked this riad as it was our 10 th wedding anniversary and wanted something special so we had a hammam which was great ( a lady from outside the hotel I should add ) . Day 3 . Jacuzzi still cold for the kids to be told by the hotel because we didn't use it the day before it had been switched off again !!! ( previous day it was freezing ) came home after a day out and our room had not been cleaned , bed made etc!!! We complained to the manager that to be perfectly honest could not give a c&£p so we sorted our own room out . Now I would like to add here I worked in the hotel trade for 5 years and if the customer was unhappy I would at least of said have a drink downstairs and I would of gone and made the bed for the customer but in such luck here . After feeling let down yet again and too be perfectly honest mugged off at £120 a night we asked about food again which again was too late because the ladies that were supposed to clean the room etc had gone !! However we were allowed to go to the super market and buy our own food & drink which resulted with myself cooking in their kitchen feeding my family !! ( should of stayed at home and saved £120 a night )! We were soo upset and soo annoyed that we had chosen this riad as our anniversary treat / Christmas build up that we decided to leave a day early but because we had booked online we still had to pay for the 4th night . Overall summary : We stayed in 2 other riads for half the price with amazing service etc . Owners not about to complain to and the 3 nights we were there only 1 other guest in the whole place . All of this review could of easily of been avoided with the correct service or some form apology as it's the first time I've gone on here to make a review but the place is a joke . Basically if you want to rent a riad for yourself do everything and pretty much feel you are at home doing all the normal daily chores stay here !!!! Be wise and check out other riads as although the decor is great , value for money and service is disgraceful compared to other riads in marrakesh .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After reading good reviews about this hotel on trip advisor we decided to book it. On the Friday afternoon (we are travelling on Tuesday). They sent us an email and said that due to over booking they had to cancel our stay. We then contacted them and they said they actually did have a room and when we asked them to re-confirm this in an email they changed their minds again and said that actually there was no room!!! They did not offer any help to try and find alternative accommodation and actually wrote, 'thank you for your understanding!!!' We have already booked our flights which are non-refundable and now cannot find anywhere else to stay at such short notice particularly as it is over New Year. DO NOT stay at this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here with our two young girls in the upstairs room off the rooftop courtyard. The rooms was a lot smaller and basic from what I expected but it was fine and clean...and the price was good. I recommend a hotel pick up as the Riad is unmarked and difficult to find with no prior knowledge. Little plunge pool and furnishings are lovely and calming.The food is good in the riad and a bonus is that they serve wine and beer when requested. Mohammed is always on hand to help or to answer your questions...and he speaks good English. On our first day he offer to be our guide through the markets (for a fee of course)..this was good but I didn't expect to be lead to various places through closed doors and to be hasselled for a sale. This was not we expected so we were a little daunted that our guide from our riad would lead us into these places and also introduced me to a particular henna 'artist' that spend 30 secs putting henna on my hand then demand a large amount of money. To pay money for a guide from your accommodation I would have expected to be somewhat protected from these scams and for our guide to help and not introduce us to the scammers. Obviously that are all friends and or relatives and all get a cut of the action. All in all he was great though and spoke good English. I would recommend the walking tour so you can find your way to and from the square but ask Mohammed specifically to not go into any rug shops, herbal stores etc (unless you want to be hasselled for a sale)
We did meet Joyce the owner. He was nice but kept his distance from us. Roof top terrace is nice with sunbeds. A little dusty and red...but hey...you are in Northern Africa after all. Could have been better if towels and washing we not up here as well .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went in Feb half term but I forgot to leave a review then!!

The family suite was great - with the kids having an upstairs room to themselves. Mohammed was wonderful with them; he couldn't have done more to make them feel welcome. He also took us on a walking tour which I wish we had arranged to do immediately on arrival instead of trying to orient ourselves first - we did it very badly!

The evening food was delicious and we actually ate here twice it was so good. And the Moroccan white wine was lovely. Breakfast was lovely on the roof terrace and this was a lovely space to relax in the evening as the sun went down and the call to prayer went out.

We arranged our visit through Fleewinter (they were brilliant, sorting everything out for us) and we went on to Essouira on the coast after which was very different but equally lovely.

We were very nervous about Morocco but by the end of our stay we had grasped the fact that everyone here is simply being friendly when they talk to you - but it took a while for the English reserve to break down! Mohammed and this Riad were a brilliant introduction to Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of June. We were glad we pre booked a taxi with the hotel before we arrived in Marrakech, as it may have been a little difficult to find otherwise. Joyce the owner had arranged this at our request and so we arrived at a fairly underwhelming doorway which when it opened revealed an absolutely beautiful Riad. The staff in the Riad were very welcoming and helpful, the only slight barrier we had was our limited grasp of the French/arabic language, however Joyce or Mohammed were always available in person or on the phone if we needed anything.

We made great use of the sun loungers and Jacuzzi on the roof which were most fantastic for relaxing after a busy day shopping in the souks. The jemaa el fna is a 10 minute walk away with plenty to see (and eat) along the way there is also a really good place to book your day trips (towards the middle on the right) follow the busy street to the end, as signs point to the other way however it's quite residential slow and boring ). we felt safe enough to walk around (however my girlfriend did always dress fairly conservatively) and we weren't out when it got really dark (except once when we got a carriage home).

This Riad Is a great find and nothing will prepare you for the second that little grey door swings open and invites you into its cool, relaxed little paradise. A particular highlight of ours was the delicious breakfasts, eagerly consumed in the Moroccan sunshine on the rooftop seating area of the Riad

Joyce was so welcoming and could not do enough for us, we were certainly sad to leave. Mohammed was also very helpful and always on hand to ask for directions, book a cab or just to chat too about what price you should pay for a tagine (FYI the really big ones do go on as hand luggage.......if your lucky, smile sweetly at airport staff and nobody checks).

As mentioned it is a walk away from the hustle and bustle which is a complete welcome break after bartering in the souks and avoiding the very persistent (however quite charming) restaurant touts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here in April. Really nice Riad.We ate up on the roof the first night - food was really good, especially the soup and chicken tagine. Owners are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are lovely and had a big bathroom.
The riad is a bit out of the way - this is a positive after the craziness of the souks. Our only advice would be go straight to the square before anywhere else, so you can orientate yourself. Joce will give you directions, it is relatively straightforward. We didn't do this and ended up getting lost for two hours! Once you can get from the riad to the square you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.