We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled our booking 4 days before we arrived.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cancelled our booking 4 days before we arrived.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After reading good reviews about this hotel on trip advisor we decided to book it. On the Friday afternoon (we are travelling on Tuesday). They sent us an email and said that due to over booking they had to cancel our stay. We then contacted them and they said they actually did have a room and when we asked them to re-confirm this in an email they changed their minds again and said that actually there was no room!!! They did not offer any help to try and find alternative accommodation and actually wrote, 'thank you for your understanding!!!' We have already booked our flights which are non-refundable and now cannot find anywhere else to stay at such short notice particularly as it is over New Year. DO NOT stay at this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    24
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
54
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here with our two young girls in the upstairs room off the rooftop courtyard. The rooms was a lot smaller and basic from what I expected but it was fine and clean...and the price was good. I recommend a hotel pick up as the Riad is unmarked and difficult to find with no prior knowledge. Little plunge pool and furnishings are lovely and calming.The food is good in the riad and a bonus is that they serve wine and beer when requested. Mohammed is always on hand to help or to answer your questions...and he speaks good English. On our first day he offer to be our guide through the markets (for a fee of course)..this was good but I didn't expect to be lead to various places through closed doors and to be hasselled for a sale. This was not we expected so we were a little daunted that our guide from our riad would lead us into these places and also introduced me to a particular henna 'artist' that spend 30 secs putting henna on my hand then demand a large amount of money. To pay money for a guide from your accommodation I would have expected to be somewhat protected from these scams and for our guide to help and not introduce us to the scammers. Obviously that are all friends and or relatives and all get a cut of the action. All in all he was great though and spoke good English. I would recommend the walking tour so you can find your way to and from the square but ask Mohammed specifically to not go into any rug shops, herbal stores etc (unless you want to be hasselled for a sale)
We did meet Joyce the owner. He was nice but kept his distance from us. Roof top terrace is nice with sunbeds. A little dusty and red...but hey...you are in Northern Africa after all. Could have been better if towels and washing we not up here as well .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went in Feb half term but I forgot to leave a review then!!

The family suite was great - with the kids having an upstairs room to themselves. Mohammed was wonderful with them; he couldn't have done more to make them feel welcome. He also took us on a walking tour which I wish we had arranged to do immediately on arrival instead of trying to orient ourselves first - we did it very badly!

The evening food was delicious and we actually ate here twice it was so good. And the Moroccan white wine was lovely. Breakfast was lovely on the roof terrace and this was a lovely space to relax in the evening as the sun went down and the call to prayer went out.

We arranged our visit through Fleewinter (they were brilliant, sorting everything out for us) and we went on to Essouira on the coast after which was very different but equally lovely.

We were very nervous about Morocco but by the end of our stay we had grasped the fact that everyone here is simply being friendly when they talk to you - but it took a while for the English reserve to break down! Mohammed and this Riad were a brilliant introduction to Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of June. We were glad we pre booked a taxi with the hotel before we arrived in Marrakech, as it may have been a little difficult to find otherwise. Joyce the owner had arranged this at our request and so we arrived at a fairly underwhelming doorway which when it opened revealed an absolutely beautiful Riad. The staff in the Riad were very welcoming and helpful, the only slight barrier we had was our limited grasp of the French/arabic language, however Joyce or Mohammed were always available in person or on the phone if we needed anything.

We made great use of the sun loungers and Jacuzzi on the roof which were most fantastic for relaxing after a busy day shopping in the souks. The jemaa el fna is a 10 minute walk away with plenty to see (and eat) along the way there is also a really good place to book your day trips (towards the middle on the right) follow the busy street to the end, as signs point to the other way however it's quite residential slow and boring ). we felt safe enough to walk around (however my girlfriend did always dress fairly conservatively) and we weren't out when it got really dark (except once when we got a carriage home).

This Riad Is a great find and nothing will prepare you for the second that little grey door swings open and invites you into its cool, relaxed little paradise. A particular highlight of ours was the delicious breakfasts, eagerly consumed in the Moroccan sunshine on the rooftop seating area of the Riad

Joyce was so welcoming and could not do enough for us, we were certainly sad to leave. Mohammed was also very helpful and always on hand to ask for directions, book a cab or just to chat too about what price you should pay for a tagine (FYI the really big ones do go on as hand luggage.......if your lucky, smile sweetly at airport staff and nobody checks).

As mentioned it is a walk away from the hustle and bustle which is a complete welcome break after bartering in the souks and avoiding the very persistent (however quite charming) restaurant touts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here in April. Really nice Riad.We ate up on the roof the first night - food was really good, especially the soup and chicken tagine. Owners are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are lovely and had a big bathroom.
The riad is a bit out of the way - this is a positive after the craziness of the souks. Our only advice would be go straight to the square before anywhere else, so you can orientate yourself. Joce will give you directions, it is relatively straightforward. We didn't do this and ended up getting lost for two hours! Once you can get from the riad to the square you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riad La Rose D'Orient (The Baccarat Suite) for 4 Nights from the 7th of April 2013 for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

I chose this Riad, after checking hundreds of other Riads and Hotels in Marrakech.

The determining factors were: The Exquisite Decor, The Very Large (6ft wide) Bed, The Huge Bath Tub, The Safety Deposit Box, The Daily Room Service and Free Toiletries, Staff Reviews, The Satellite T.V (a rarity in a Raid) , A.C/ Heating Facilities, Iron and Hairdryer Facilities, WiFi availability (to cheaply keep in contact via whatsapp with family back home) The Breakfast, The Terrace Jacuzzi, The Proximity To the Square and the Airport Shuttle Service.

The Riad, and our suite, were both Beautifully decorated and have stunning fixtures and furnishings-the gorgeous decor extends to the moulded ceilings and beautifully Tiled Floors. The storage is ample, with two wardrobes, a double chest of drawers and two bedside cabinets. An unexpected plus was the fridge/freezer which I was not expecting-and in my opinion was the only facility that would have otherwise have lacked. The Rug I did not like and hence rolled up and placed outside!

The Bed is extremely comfortable, and huge being 6ft Wide-a real sense of luxury.

The Bath Tub is Huge, as depicted, and the water pressure is very good (same as the U.K). The water was piping Hot, just how I liked it-hence we were very happy having chose this Suite!

The House-keeping was carried out on a daily basis, and towels, toiletries and sheets replaced if needed-so faultless service there. The staff were lovely.

The Satellite T.V was a little Dissapointing, as although there were an abundance of French channels, there were not many free English Channels-however, as we only really like to watch the News when away-it sufficed.

The A.C and Heating worked fine as did the hairdryer. The Iron, I understand is available on request-however, I did not need it-hence cannot comment.

The Wifi Connection (with the exception of a few hrs) was very good and worked in the room too!

The Breakfast was very good with Tea/coffee, fresh orange juice, Fruit and crepes/pancakes/cake. The Portions were ample and filling.

The Jacuzzi is available on request-you request the service in the morning and they heat it up ready for the evening-although the motor works fine-the heat was a bit of a dissappointment. I would say it is more for cooling off after sunbathing on the terrace

The Riad is said to be located a 10 min walk from the Square-I would say it was a minimum 15 minutes brisk walk (dodging the motorcyclists and people-but always good fun! I am glad we stayed in the Old Medina-the location is recommended for a taste of the real Marrakech.

The Taxi Service to and from the Riad is a little expensive, but best taken on the way there-as the Riad may otherwise be difficult to find-especially as it does not have an outside Sign/Plaque.

The Riad does not have outside windows (although it does have a plastic covered 'roof' terrace) and hence there is a lack of natural light in the bedrooms-however, this aids a lie in as very little noise can be heard from the outside. Also, our Suite only had one window (where as the majority had two) AND it was shielded off a little as they used that side of the patio for storage. However, this did not bother me, as with all windows facing the patio in such a small Riad, there will always be privacy issues. However, the numerous lights in the Bedroom create a beautiful Ambience-and generally you forget about the light issues after a while.

There was a little shop about 50 metres from the Riad-useful for biscuit type snacks and drinks-about 1/4 of the price charged by the Riad.

Overall, I was Extremely Pleased with my Choice of Riad and Especially with the Suite Chosen. It lived up to my expectations and delivered in a few other unexpected areas too! A Stunning Find in the Hustle and Bustle of the Old Medina.

Negatives - Patio Storage, Lack Of English T.V Channels, No additional Toilet As Stated, Lack of Natural Light, Jacuzzi Heat levels, A Little Expensive Maybe.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the First Floor (re privacy, but ensure it has two windows) or Terraced Floor (as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this Riad, and it was honestly the most relaxing stay that we could have asked for.
The staff were incredibly attentive, often going out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and the Riad itself was beautiful. I don't think I've ever tasted food so wonderful! We would have been quite happy to spend all day every day simply in the Riad!
It's a ten minute walk to the bustle of the market, and this Riad honestly felt like a peaceful paradise in the middle of Marrakech.
We are already making plans to return!

Thank you so much for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Check on the website - each room has different qualities. We went for the four bed option, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.