We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of June. We were glad we pre booked a taxi with the hotel before we arrived in Marrakech, as it may have been a little difficult to find otherwise. Joyce the owner had arranged this at our request and so we arrived at a fairly underwhelming doorway which when it opened revealed an absolutely beautiful Riad. The staff in the Riad were very welcoming and helpful, the only slight barrier we had was our limited grasp of the French/arabic language, however Joyce or Mohammed were always available in person or on the phone if we needed anything.

We made great use of the sun loungers and Jacuzzi on the roof which were most fantastic for relaxing after a busy day shopping in the souks. The jemaa el fna is a 10 minute walk away with plenty to see (and eat) along the way there is also a really good place to book your day trips (towards the middle on the right) follow the busy street to the end, as signs point to the other way however it's quite residential slow and boring ). we felt safe enough to walk around (however my girlfriend did always dress fairly conservatively) and we weren't out when it got really dark (except once when we got a carriage home).

This Riad Is a great find and nothing will prepare you for the second that little grey door swings open and invites you into its cool, relaxed little paradise. A particular highlight of ours was the delicious breakfasts, eagerly consumed in the Moroccan sunshine on the rooftop seating area of the Riad

Joyce was so welcoming and could not do enough for us, we were certainly sad to leave. Mohammed was also very helpful and always on hand to ask for directions, book a cab or just to chat too about what price you should pay for a tagine (FYI the really big ones do go on as hand luggage.......if your lucky, smile sweetly at airport staff and nobody checks).

As mentioned it is a walk away from the hustle and bustle which is a complete welcome break after bartering in the souks and avoiding the very persistent (however quite charming) restaurant touts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here in April. Really nice Riad.We ate up on the roof the first night - food was really good, especially the soup and chicken tagine. Owners are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are lovely and had a big bathroom.
The riad is a bit out of the way - this is a positive after the craziness of the souks. Our only advice would be go straight to the square before anywhere else, so you can orientate yourself. Joce will give you directions, it is relatively straightforward. We didn't do this and ended up getting lost for two hours! Once you can get from the riad to the square you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riad La Rose D'Orient (The Baccarat Suite) for 4 Nights from the 7th of April 2013 for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

I chose this Riad, after checking hundreds of other Riads and Hotels in Marrakech.

The determining factors were: The Exquisite Decor, The Very Large (6ft wide) Bed, The Huge Bath Tub, The Safety Deposit Box, The Daily Room Service and Free Toiletries, Staff Reviews, The Satellite T.V (a rarity in a Raid) , A.C/ Heating Facilities, Iron and Hairdryer Facilities, WiFi availability (to cheaply keep in contact via whatsapp with family back home) The Breakfast, The Terrace Jacuzzi, The Proximity To the Square and the Airport Shuttle Service.

The Riad, and our suite, were both Beautifully decorated and have stunning fixtures and furnishings-the gorgeous decor extends to the moulded ceilings and beautifully Tiled Floors. The storage is ample, with two wardrobes, a double chest of drawers and two bedside cabinets. An unexpected plus was the fridge/freezer which I was not expecting-and in my opinion was the only facility that would have otherwise have lacked. The Rug I did not like and hence rolled up and placed outside!

The Bed is extremely comfortable, and huge being 6ft Wide-a real sense of luxury.

The Bath Tub is Huge, as depicted, and the water pressure is very good (same as the U.K). The water was piping Hot, just how I liked it-hence we were very happy having chose this Suite!

The House-keeping was carried out on a daily basis, and towels, toiletries and sheets replaced if needed-so faultless service there. The staff were lovely.

The Satellite T.V was a little Dissapointing, as although there were an abundance of French channels, there were not many free English Channels-however, as we only really like to watch the News when away-it sufficed.

The A.C and Heating worked fine as did the hairdryer. The Iron, I understand is available on request-however, I did not need it-hence cannot comment.

The Wifi Connection (with the exception of a few hrs) was very good and worked in the room too!

The Breakfast was very good with Tea/coffee, fresh orange juice, Fruit and crepes/pancakes/cake. The Portions were ample and filling.

The Jacuzzi is available on request-you request the service in the morning and they heat it up ready for the evening-although the motor works fine-the heat was a bit of a dissappointment. I would say it is more for cooling off after sunbathing on the terrace

The Riad is said to be located a 10 min walk from the Square-I would say it was a minimum 15 minutes brisk walk (dodging the motorcyclists and people-but always good fun! I am glad we stayed in the Old Medina-the location is recommended for a taste of the real Marrakech.

The Taxi Service to and from the Riad is a little expensive, but best taken on the way there-as the Riad may otherwise be difficult to find-especially as it does not have an outside Sign/Plaque.

The Riad does not have outside windows (although it does have a plastic covered 'roof' terrace) and hence there is a lack of natural light in the bedrooms-however, this aids a lie in as very little noise can be heard from the outside. Also, our Suite only had one window (where as the majority had two) AND it was shielded off a little as they used that side of the patio for storage. However, this did not bother me, as with all windows facing the patio in such a small Riad, there will always be privacy issues. However, the numerous lights in the Bedroom create a beautiful Ambience-and generally you forget about the light issues after a while.

There was a little shop about 50 metres from the Riad-useful for biscuit type snacks and drinks-about 1/4 of the price charged by the Riad.

Overall, I was Extremely Pleased with my Choice of Riad and Especially with the Suite Chosen. It lived up to my expectations and delivered in a few other unexpected areas too! A Stunning Find in the Hustle and Bustle of the Old Medina.

Negatives - Patio Storage, Lack Of English T.V Channels, No additional Toilet As Stated, Lack of Natural Light, Jacuzzi Heat levels, A Little Expensive Maybe.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the First Floor (re privacy, but ensure it has two windows) or Terraced Floor (as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this Riad, and it was honestly the most relaxing stay that we could have asked for.
The staff were incredibly attentive, often going out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and the Riad itself was beautiful. I don't think I've ever tasted food so wonderful! We would have been quite happy to spend all day every day simply in the Riad!
It's a ten minute walk to the bustle of the market, and this Riad honestly felt like a peaceful paradise in the middle of Marrakech.
We are already making plans to return!

Thank you so much for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Check on the website - each room has different qualities. We went for the four bed option, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Riad is completely beautiful and we felt so lucky to have found it! The owners and staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive, going out of their way to make sure we were alright. We had a few meals in the Riad, they buy the ingredients fresh that morning and we hadn't tasted anything like it; the food was absolutely delicious! When I told them of my dietary requirements they made sure I had everything I needed and that there were things I could eat. There was fresh homemade bread and oranges with breakfast, which we were served on the terrace every morning and the salads and tagine were exquisite.
Our room was very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. It's such a peaceful place to stay in such a busy city. I would definitely recommend it and intend to go back myself!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights staying at this beautiful riad- it really is a fantastic oasis in the middle of the madness that is the centre of Marrakesh. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, the hospitality is second to none, it was more like staying with friends. Our room was extremely comfortable we found the fact that it led directly onto the lovely roof terrace with the handy jacuzzi, very handy in the very high temperatures we experienced during our stay.
We dined at the riad several times during our stay and was amazed by the attention and care that was put into ensuring that we both had a menu that was suitable (we are non meat eaters/food allegies), all the meals we had were delicious and totally authentic morrocan meals, we really enjoyed them and felt privileged to have the opportunity to experience such wonderful cuisine in an amazing location.
we had an amazing trip- Morrocco and Marrakesh totally lived up to all our expectations , we thoroughly recommend this as a great base for Central Marrakesh and also for exploring further afield into the Atlas mountains- Simply fantastic - If you are considering staying here, do so- You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wow, behind that front door is the most amazing place to stay!! The decoration and furnishings are just perfect!! Also, who would expect a small pool on the ground floor and a jacuzzi on the roof!!

Joce and Moise were very welcoming and were helpful with any info. you needed. Breakfast was lovely, especially served on the roof terrace. They offered to cook dinner too, however, we chose to eat out (we would probably have been better to take them up on their offer at least one night as got a feeling it would have been better than some of the meals we ate!).

You are about 15 mins from the main square, a daunting journey through the souks on first trip but gets easier and more fascinating each trip you make (NB turn left at the "no left turn" sign and use it as a marker for you return journey). We were 2 females and even at night felt pretty safe coming back to Riad through the souks, just keep your wits about you! Also, hop on hop off city tour bus was really good (get on at tourist info stop in square) and if you fancy a beer "hop off" at the Sofitel stop where all big hotels are (bus stops at 7pm but you can walk back from there).

The Riad room was a twin with a beautiful bathroom, air conditioning, a safe and a decent sized wardrobe and our door opened onto a sunbathing terrace. Compared to centre it is very peaceful, however, the sunrise "call to prayer" does wake up the neighbouring rooster and he "cock a doodle doos" all morning!! This is all part of Moroccan life!.

Would definately recommend this Riad and would absolutely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.