We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a fantastic introduction to Morocco and Moroccan hospitality. Joce, Moise and their team made our party of four very welcome during our three night stay in their beautiful riad. The rooms are tastefully furnished, the beds very comfortable and the Jacuzzi welcome after the hot and hectic souk visits. Surprised how quiet it was around the riad - main noises were the gentle clucking of the chickens near-by and the call to prayer.

The breakfasts are good and the fresh bread/pancakes delicious. We ate in the riad on our last night and were not disappointed with our meal (including the refreshing homemade sorbets an glorious Moroccan rose wine).

The map/directions provided by Joce (to get to Djemaa el Fna place) were spot on. Marker points for future guests - the 'no left turn' sign at the T junction where you turn left (handy for on the return journey and the Blue telephone on the roof opposite the right turn towards the main square (handy to lookout for at night as it lights up).

Summary = Good value for money - friendly and attentive team, excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day get away in Marrakesh, which I found a must-see city, among the wide range of places to visit in Morocco.
Most of my full satisfaction and love for this city comes from the fantastic welcome and gentleness given by the riad's owners.The riad is beautifully decorated with exquisite taste, as well as it offers the traveller the long-waited break from the hustle and bustle of the medina. Slightly away from the beaten track, but still very near the Grande place, the patio takes center-stage as meeting point to exchange our impressions of the city with the owners. The swimming pool is heaven sent after long walks in the medina. Dinner is served in the riad upon request, to the travellers' choice, and no doubt this is one of the riad's strengths; plenty savoury moroccan food, mostly tajin. don't miss it! Daily excursions outside Marrakesh, such as Essaouira or the Atlas, can also be organised from the riad at convenient prices. Airport transfers are recommendable and they are managed by the riad owners too if needed. In short, a very lovely place to savour the peacefulness of Marrakesh, yet with excellent location and only one stone throw away from the very heart of the city center, The riad also has spa and gym facilities ad a wonderful roof top to have breakfast and dinner, at your convenience.
Just a small detail to comment on the owners' lovely gesture. The leaving day was my birthday and they brought us some cake with candles for a proper celebration. Thanks Joce! I will go back to your riad when I visit Marrakesh again! a Bientôt!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Spent a fabulous couple of days in Marrakech with some friends to escape miserable London. With so many Riads to choose from, we thought we'd choose one a little more off the beaten track so we could be away from the craziness of 'La Place'. And at the end of the day, you can only look at so many websites before you take the plunge and book somewhere. We were very glad we did; stepping through the unmarked wooden door on an unassuming alleyway revealed a small, but perfectly-formed and beautifully-decorated Riad. I don't think I could fault anything about our stay - the traditional Riad was an oasis of calm in an otherwise frenetic city. The kindness shown to us from the owners was touching, from walking with us to the Souks on our first day, to helping us organise a day trip and recommending what to have for dinner. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a highlight, as was the hammam and massage (and then relaxing in the rooftop jacuzzi after a hot day in the Souks). The quality of the food was excellent - we wished we'd had dinner there every night! Well-equipped rooms (with air conditioning - a must in the summer) meant we slept soundly and had everything we needed.

I will definitely recommend this Riad to friends and family - the hospitality shown to us by the owners and staff working there was definitely not something you'd ever find in a city in the UK, and really made our stay. A perfect place for couples, families, friends (we stayed in the fabulous triple room) and would definitely return. Once I've brushed up on my French...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

On our Morocco trip together with friends we wanted to experience a Riad and chose La Rose D'Orient. From the moment we entered the house we felt in a different world. Away from Marrakesh's hustle and bustle we found this peaceful place a refuge in plain luxury. The rooms were beautifully appointed in Moroccan style.The owners, Joce, an artist who designed and decorated the Riad and Moise her charming husband fulfilled every wish with a graceful smile. We enjoyed memorable home cooked Moroccan specialties on the top garden terrace at night and delicious breakfasts which were served on the roof terrace.

Joce and Moise, thank you again for a memorable stay at your place and we hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston,NC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I highly recommend this lovely and relaxing riad on the perimeter of the Marrakech medina. Owners Jose and Moses have created a place of beauty and calm amidst the chaos of the medina, so it is convenient for walking in the old town. We dined in a couple of nights on our rooftop terrace and the food is fabulous. The hammam is an essential Moroccan experience and this one is private and beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooftop room is spacious and tub is sooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This Riad was an oaisis of calm in the fantastic hustle and bustle of Marrakeck. A fun 15 minute walk through the warren of lanes, alleyways, markets and souks took us to El Fna Square where the whole world seem to gather for storytelling, music, food and "noise". And when we had had enough of the excitement and just needed to get back to peace and calm, the "Rose" with its beautiful design and layout was waiting at the end of another great fun walk home. The staff were great, the food excellent, and the rooms were beautiful. Yes, the water pressure was low and it took ages to fill a bath, but this is Morroco and they are all like that. Thank you Rose D'Orient for a great time in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Top floors nearest to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, I am sure that it is great in summer but in winter with very few other guests it was chilly in spite of heating in the rooms, none in the public areas, enormous bath/shower but without enough water pressure to be comfortable while showering. They tried hard and gave us dinner one night as there had been no hot water the previous evening. The rooms were lovely comfortable beds and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.