We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oriental dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oriental dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

On our Morocco trip together with friends we wanted to experience a Riad and chose La Rose D'Orient. From the moment we entered the house we felt in a different world. Away from Marrakesh's hustle and bustle we found this peaceful place a refuge in plain luxury. The rooms were beautifully appointed in Moroccan style.The owners, Joce, an artist who designed and decorated the Riad and Moise her charming husband fulfilled every wish with a graceful smile. We enjoyed memorable home cooked Moroccan specialties on the top garden terrace at night and delicious breakfasts which were served on the roof terrace.

Joce and Moise, thank you again for a memorable stay at your place and we hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston,NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I highly recommend this lovely and relaxing riad on the perimeter of the Marrakech medina. Owners Jose and Moses have created a place of beauty and calm amidst the chaos of the medina, so it is convenient for walking in the old town. We dined in a couple of nights on our rooftop terrace and the food is fabulous. The hammam is an essential Moroccan experience and this one is private and beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooftop room is spacious and tub is sooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This Riad was an oaisis of calm in the fantastic hustle and bustle of Marrakeck. A fun 15 minute walk through the warren of lanes, alleyways, markets and souks took us to El Fna Square where the whole world seem to gather for storytelling, music, food and "noise". And when we had had enough of the excitement and just needed to get back to peace and calm, the "Rose" with its beautiful design and layout was waiting at the end of another great fun walk home. The staff were great, the food excellent, and the rooms were beautiful. Yes, the water pressure was low and it took ages to fill a bath, but this is Morroco and they are all like that. Thank you Rose D'Orient for a great time in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Top floors nearest to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, I am sure that it is great in summer but in winter with very few other guests it was chilly in spite of heating in the rooms, none in the public areas, enormous bath/shower but without enough water pressure to be comfortable while showering. They tried hard and gave us dinner one night as there had been no hot water the previous evening. The rooms were lovely comfortable beds and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoobs11
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Start point for our 7 stop Morocco tour and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Well located far enough away from the madness of the Medina yet still close enough to easily walk to the centre of the delightful mayhem that is Marrakesh. We were served our delightful (first of many subsequent) mint teas and some lovely cookies as we were acquainted with the Riad and the surrounding area. The room, though on the ground floor (the only one, mind you), resplendent with rose petals, was wonderful, the building was great and the service sublime. The only minor issue I had was the choice of food in that my wife and I both had to have the same dish when choosing from the menu, which is a slight issue as she's a vegetarian and I'm an extreme carnivore and was looking forward to one of the great meat dishes that I'd heard Morocco was famous for!

Room Tip: Request a room not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

Arrived at this riad not sure what to expect as I have never traveled to Marrakech or been in a riad before. My girlfriend and u arrived in Marrakech and thats where the service began, the taxi was arranged through the riad and the guy was waiting for us coming off the plane with a namecard. We arrived at the riad to a warm welcome from a guy called Mohammed who was very nice. We were given mint tea and also the dinner we requested was brought to the roof terrace when we were settled in (were asked a time) the morrocan cuisine is really good and the meal was a good set up for the flavours to come on the rest of our trip. The rooms were nice, the staff were superb and the breakfast is AWSOME. Would 100% recommend this riad, perfect distance to the main square. A 5min stroll past stalls and local cafes to the main square.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed in August 2010 for 5 days and had the whole riad to ourselves as it was the lowest of low season and not many people were crazy enough as we were to travel to Marrakesh at that time. It was 49 degrees C the day we arrived and the breakfast butter melted in front of us! Weather aside we loved our stay so much we can't wait to go back.

Riad La Rose D'Orient is a fabulous new riad but has been meticulously built and decorated by very caring owners. The couple and their staff were fabulous in arranging our first night's dinner (lamb tagine and cous cous like we've never had before!), restaurant recommendations and general advice on gettting around.

They even helped me arrange a secret birthday surprise - a 2 day side trip to Essourira - highly recommended.

The rooms and bathrooms are private and beautiful with plenty of space and good aircon. The traditional Moroccan decor was such a treat and it was lovely wandering the souks trying to work out how we could have a Moroccan room back home.

Although it is not in the centre of town, it is an interesting and easy walk to the square and it is well lit and feels safe. The location is nice and quiet ensuring a good night's sleep.

The rooftop covered spa was refreshinly cool in the heat and we used it everyday. The pool downstairs is so pretty but we didn't use it, preferring the roof top.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list