We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet stay downtown Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Rose D'Orient to your Saves list
Riad La Rose D'Orient
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet stay downtown Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Breakfast with fresh orange juice on the rooftop of this Riad is great. From the rooftop there is a clear view over the city up to the Koutubia.

After our delayed flight, we parked the car conveniently near the pharmacy opposite the entrance of the Lycee Lalla Aouda Saadia. Were couldn't locate the riad at first. We called were fetched within a minute by Muhammed. Although it was very late, we had a great meal in the riad and felt very welcome.

Muhammed is a great and very charming guy from Senegal, who works all day to make the stay of every guest as good as possible. Food is great and the ambiance is wonderful.

The riad is a 15 minute walk to the Jamna el Fna thru narrow alleys. Allthough very busy, we always felt safe.

The riad itself is a very quiet oasis in a busy city. Every day some roseflower leafs were left in the room by the maids.

Some practical recommendations:
- I was very glad I bought a cheap prepaid SIM card at the airport on arrival.
- We paid the old guard near the hotel some dirhams each day to look after our rental car. Muhammed knows the regular rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We visited in October 2010 for a week with our children aged 8 and 13.

We wanted a reasonable priced riad within walking distance of the main square and souks, and were very pleased with our choice.

The Riad La Rose D'Orient is very beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. The room we stayed in had a main bedroom and bathroom, with stairs going up to a twin room for the children. It wasn't huge but it was very pretty, with some lovely thoughtful touches.

The Riad is about a 15 minute walk to the main square and to the souks. The walk takes you through several busy narrow streets and small marketplaces etc. We really enjoyed those walks, because there are very few tourists along the way, so you get a glimpse of everyday life. Taxis are available everywhere ; we never needed one as we found it easy to walk, but we weren't ever out very late in the evening.

The breakfasts were generally very good, especially the pancakes and honeyed yoghurt (yum!). Mohammed was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him. Most days we had breakfast on the terrace which was really atmospheric.
We met the owners a couple of times and they were very friendly too.

The children enjoyed the little pool downstairs. All in all, lovely, would definitely recommend!

The only downsides for us:
- a fridge in the room would have been good, so that we could have bought our own drinks and kept them cold.
- it would have been lovely to have been asked our preferences for breakfast, as it was different everyday, so some days we enjoyed the choice more than others!

Also, for Marrakech in general, useful to brush up on that O'Level French, as it can be really useful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It will take some time to find this riad the first time but it's a breeze after that and about a 15 min. walk from the square. Mohammad is always on hand and nothing is too much trouble for him. Breakfast is served in the courtyard or the rooftop. We stayed on the top floor, very comfortable bed, large tub and quiet. It is traditional but only built a few years ago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Just returned from a five day trip to Marrakech - our stay in the Riad La Rose D'Orient was a delight. The Riad is peaceful, beautifully decorated and has a wonderful sun terrace on the roof. Our children really enjoyed splashing about in the small pool after a morning in the souks and the sunshine. Mohammed provided great service and the breakfasts and evening meals were really delicious. The lamb tajines with couscous were particularly good - much better than those we tried in the central restaurants.

Before we arrived I was slightly concerned about the Riad's location - but there was no need to have worried. It is only a 15 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna, 10 minutes to the souks and 10 minutes to the Ben Youssef Medersa. Despite the proximity to the tanneries there were never any bad smells. We walked into the centre every day, never needed to take a taxi. At nine pm the streets were still really bustling and we felt perfectly safe walking back after visiting the night market.

I would recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

A great place to stay to enjoy the real Marrakech. A gem in the old city. Well worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Riad La Rose D'Orient - a great retreat after the hustle & bustle of The Souqs and Square. The staff were every willing to please. The challenge is going to and from the square but you are never far from a taxi and taxis can drop you very close to the Riad which cannot be said for alot of Riads within The Medina. Breakfasts were tasty and dinners were delicious. Thanks to all for making us welcome during our recent stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

PLEASE Beware! We stayed at this location last week. It is not safe. It is remote and hard for even locales to find. Positive reviews must be written by friends of the owners. The owners told us that they would send a driver to meet us at the train station. They did not. They were indignant and lied about "sending a driver." The owners are NOT on site and only come briefly to collect money in the morning. The gentleman who works for them does not have time off. He works 24 hrs. a day. You must wake him up to turn the internet on along with the lights in the evening. This employee told us the area around the location was safe. We were attacked at knife point the day after he told us that. The couple in the room next to ours were also approached by criminals. Yes, the rooms are nice, but you may lose your life while staying at Riad La Rose D'Orient . I have never written a review such as this before but I don't want anyone else to make what could be a fatal error by staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.