We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple from wilmington” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Barroko

Save Saved
You added Riad Barroko to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Barroko
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
dartford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“couple from wilmington”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

just come back from riad barroko were we booked a superior room we were given the worst room in the riad when we asked if we could move we were told no untill i complaned to the manegar who wasnt very helpful but did move us after four days if you book this riad make sure you have an upstairs room as the ground floor one is very tired looks dirty the taps leak and is very small. saying that the ladies that work there are lovely and are very helpful. the riad is very close to the attrations,cabs are cheap and it is easy to get around .

Room Tip: make sure you have a rom upstairs as these are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko based on good reviews and a very good value package though teletext holidays. We booked a transfer to the Riad and were walked to the door, we would not have found it otherwise. If you are trying to find it on your own turn your back to the Bab Doukala mosque and walk through the archway in front to the right. Take the second right (there was a pot with a tree in marking it), then the first left. The door to the Riad is then on the right flanked by 2 lanterns.

Inside the Riad is clean and peaceful and we were greeted with traditional tea and patisserie. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. As mentioned previously however they do not speak English. We got by as my partner speaks good French, We did have problems however when we wanted to go into the Ourika Valley one day and the staff did not understand what we wanted. We saw the manager who could speak English once, very briefly during our week long stay and never got a chance to ask about the mountain trip. It would have been nice it he was around a bit more when there are English guests (we were not the only ones) as we were interested in the use of the driver mentioned in previous reviews.

Overall the RIad was a peaceful Oasis away from the noise and crazyness of Marrakech. It was clean and the staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko for our first trip to Marrakech. Rather than pay the extortionate travel company transfer costs we contacted the Riad before travelling and they arranged a private transfer at a fraction of the cost. This gave us the additional benefit of being met from the car by the manager and being escorted through the labyrinth of alleyways to the Riad door - I'm so pleased we didn't have to find our own way!
Upon arrival we were greeted with hot mint tea and cakes followed by a delicious, home cooked meal (also pre-arranged by contacting the manager).
Our room was small but very clean and very comfortable and the staff very friendly, though only the manager spoke English - we muddled through with our very poor French!
The manager arranged a trip to Essouira for us, taken by private car by their usual driver, an extremely friendly and helpful man.
Location wise - the Riad is located within easy walking distance of the souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa, though the roads may be a little tricky as you must avoid the cars, motorbikes and the unofficial tour guides. An experience in itself! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved staying here, it is very quiet, the staff are really friendly, and the rooms are traditional though variable in size. all the positive points noted by others. We had just one problem - finding the Riad when we arrived, being dumped in the wrong place by the taxi from the airport. We should have given precise directions, which are that it is near the Mosque Bab Doukkala; once at the Mosque, local people will happily direct you down the alley way to the hotel. Thereafter we had no problem walking into the Jamaa Fna and souks, and into the new town - the location is really ideal for both, with a local market nearby for fruit etc..

Room Tip: rooms upstairs seemed larger, but the one at the north west corner could not receive wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from our 3rd trip to the Barroko. This time stopped a week. Welcomed back with open arms and lots of kisses!! Just as lovely as ever but very hot this year. Pool was a blessing. 2 trips organised for us by the riad with their usual driver. We had great fun on both trips and especially enjoyed our day at Essouria. Love this riad. It is easy to find in a nice part of the medina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The riad was a nice relaxing contrast to the noise and activity of marakesh. Room was traditionally decorated with awsome morrocan style lamp. Room opened onto shady courtyard and swimming-pool - a blessing in 50c heat. Hotel organised a horse drawn carrage ride which was an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a week in Marrakech and chose to spend the first 3 nights in this Road. Firstly the plus points, (a) we booked a twin room on the ground floor only to find out they don’t have any on the ground floor - not a problem the manager gave us 2 rooms on the ground floor for the same price as one + bonus! (b) on day 2 after a heavy night out it was great to laze around the inner courtyard, take a quick plunge in the small pool and listen to birds cheeping away (c) hot water in the shower and at great pressure (d) lovely roof terrace for capturing the last rays of sunshine (e) free wifi (f) air conditioned rooms.
So now some constructive comments (a) the staff don’t speak English at all, my French is appalling and we made by between a mixture of using an online translator (fortunately free wifi access!) and hand motions - this should be made clearer in the adverts as I felt we missed out on being able to ask questions on local features. I did discuss this with the manager who seems like a really nice guy (so apologies for this part of my review) but he appeared more focused on business activities than looking after the customer (b) breakfast was pretty basic, some croissants, some bread and jam, tea (lipton bags not fresh)/ coffee) and occasionally a homemade pancake, having been out for breakfast on one occasion and seeing all the local produce available and pretty cheap prices I thought some fruit would have been nice or yoghurt.. also some Moroccan spiced coffee or mint tea would have been appreciated.
Overall, given the range of Riads in Marrakech at comparable prices I’d probably opt for a different Riad next time. If you speak French, then you’ll love this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Barroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Barroko

Address: derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Barroko 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Barroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Barroko Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Barroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.