We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Barroko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Barroko to your Saves list
Riad Barroko
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The riad was a nice relaxing contrast to the noise and activity of marakesh. Room was traditionally decorated with awsome morrocan style lamp. Room opened onto shady courtyard and swimming-pool - a blessing in 50c heat. Hotel organised a horse drawn carrage ride which was an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a week in Marrakech and chose to spend the first 3 nights in this Road. Firstly the plus points, (a) we booked a twin room on the ground floor only to find out they don’t have any on the ground floor - not a problem the manager gave us 2 rooms on the ground floor for the same price as one + bonus! (b) on day 2 after a heavy night out it was great to laze around the inner courtyard, take a quick plunge in the small pool and listen to birds cheeping away (c) hot water in the shower and at great pressure (d) lovely roof terrace for capturing the last rays of sunshine (e) free wifi (f) air conditioned rooms.
So now some constructive comments (a) the staff don’t speak English at all, my French is appalling and we made by between a mixture of using an online translator (fortunately free wifi access!) and hand motions - this should be made clearer in the adverts as I felt we missed out on being able to ask questions on local features. I did discuss this with the manager who seems like a really nice guy (so apologies for this part of my review) but he appeared more focused on business activities than looking after the customer (b) breakfast was pretty basic, some croissants, some bread and jam, tea (lipton bags not fresh)/ coffee) and occasionally a homemade pancake, having been out for breakfast on one occasion and seeing all the local produce available and pretty cheap prices I thought some fruit would have been nice or yoghurt.. also some Moroccan spiced coffee or mint tea would have been appreciated.
Overall, given the range of Riads in Marrakech at comparable prices I’d probably opt for a different Riad next time. If you speak French, then you’ll love this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Indeed, as it was winter time - we stayed from 20 to 22 December, convinced by the positive comments – nights were rather cool in Marrakech. In the Riad there only was heating in our bedroom, which meant that it was not possible to sit in the beautiful patio or somewhere else in the evening or the morning. (Breakfast we had to take with our coats on.). However, there was a beautiful, well maintained swimming pool in the patio, though useless for swimming in winter.
Our stay felt also cold in the sense that – apart from people in one other room – we were the only guests staying at the moment and never met the manager, we only occasionally saw the house keeper and a lady doing some maintenance, who both hardly spoke a word to us. It was not fine to feel lonesome in such a cold big house. Furthermore the Riad is not very well located (in the Bab Doukkala district). To get to Jeema El Fna we had to walk through a – by day – dangerous and busy street, without footpaths which by night was dirty and lonesome. A stay in this Riad will perhaps be nicer in spring. Anyway it is strongly advisable to get there on arrival by taxi arranged by the manager : we wonder whether another taxi driver would find it only by its name and address as it is hidden in a “derb” where cars cannot circulate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Very nice rooms in a quiet marakech place. Not that far from the central square. Rooms are nicely decorated. Bathroom a bit outdated though. Breakfast was ok-ish. Friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

From the very start this Riad were so helpful and inviting. I booked this place for 4 nights 3 months before and last minute some friends decided to join us. The Riad were fully booked but accommodated them a day before I arrived and were extremely helpful with this process.
When I arrived the calm, soothing vibe away from the hustle and bustle of the street immediately relaxed me. My friends were singing the praises of all of the staff who had been so helpful and friendly.
The rooms and main area are authentic and beautiful making it clear to see how wonderful the Moroccan people are.
We wanted to do some trips which we spoke to Jaswad the manager about, he gave us so much information and sorted this for us last minute. We didn’t have enough cash on us so had to take more money out and he kindly offered us a discount to account for the fees we would incur.
All of the little touches about this place made out holiday a memorable one. Thank you to all of the staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed in this riad for a 5 day break and everything about the stay was excellent, from the collection at the airport, the warm and friendly welcome, very helpful people, right through to the end.
I would heartily recommend it as a great place to stay in Marrakech. It fet like a home in a city that I'd never visited before and I would love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our second stay. Still loved it and will return again. This year my son took a friend with him . The wow as he walked into the riad's courtyard said it all. Stayed in the two rooms at the far end upstairs this time and we were all happy with the size etc. I think this riad is in a great position with no need for taxis when visiting most of the old town. We went to Imlil with the driver from the riad and had a fantastic day. Would recommend using him. Look forward to going back again next year. Inshallah .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Barroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Barroko

Address: derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Barroko 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Riad Barroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Barroko Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Barroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.