We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful slice of serenity in the heart of Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad la Croix Berbere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad la Croix Berbere to your Saves list
Riad la Croix Berbere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful slice of serenity in the heart of Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

You couldn't do better for location, very close to the medina and yet so quiet! The staff were truly exceptional and went out of their way many times to assist us with various things. Our room off the roof terrace was beautiful and well equipped. The plunge pool and jacuzzi (next door at the deluxe sister hotel) were a welcome end to the hot dusty days while overlooking the surrounding rooftops. The food was amazing (at typical riad prices) and we didn't find better in any of the restaraunts we tried throughout morocco! Truly a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
85
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Riad la Croix Berbere is a lovely place tucked away from all the noise but yet right in the Medina. We were welcomed warmly with the traditional tea in front of one of the beautiful pools . From there we were shown to our room which was very nice with a good bathroom. The bed was decorated with a rose sheet and came with dressing gowns and all the trimmings. Breakfast was very good and available at any time you wake up which was great. We were off on very early trips on two mornings and the staff were very kind and did our breakfast at 6h30 for us. The inside of the hotel is lovely and the sunny roof terrace great for breakfast. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and had lovely food and great service. A real traditional Riad but done well so you get everything you would want from a modern hotel at the same time

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The riad was brilliantly located right on the square and even had an escort bring us back to the riad once dark.The rooms are a little tired and bathrooms really need updating our taps were so wobbly i was scared to use then. no hairdryer as stated and no robes as stated. breakfast was basic but adequate and the fresh orange juice was lovely.We haired a so called English speaking guide to take us on a day tour seeing the palace and other local sites. be careful, we ended up ditching him after an hour as all he was interested in was taking us into shops and talking on his phone. ( it was probably the shops he was talking to ) obviously getting commission. when we said we wanted to go to the palace he said n he wouldn't take us. !! so after paying him half the money to get rid of him we ventured out on our own.
The staff were all good apart from 1 that gave constant hassle groping, mauling and generally being such a pain. If your single put a ring on just for show i wish i had ! Abdul was very helpful and very informative if we had any questions. If you order food make sure you give plenty of notice we waited 1.5 hours for lunch and the same for an evening meal. we almost chewing our own arms off..
Overall a nice city break not a bad riad,cant say i would go back though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Riad La Croix Berbere is well located inside the Medina, within walking distance of most central attractions in Marrakesh. Service is attentionate, with nicely decorated rooms inside a traditional building with a nice rooftop terrace with a lovely view. Breakfast is healthy and promptly served either indoors or on the rooftop terrace. Prices are reasonable, though rooms except the 'suite' which is actually a junior suite, are a bit smallish. Do yourself a treat and pay a bit more for the suite. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: The suite is actually the best choice. Avoid the room close to the kitchen which does not feel very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Riad la Croix Berbereis a lovely place tucked away from all the noise but yet right in the Medina. We were welcomed warmly with the traditional tea in front of one of the beautiful pools . From there we were shown to our room which was very nice with a good bathroom. The bed was decorated with a rose sheet and came with dressing gowns and all the trimmings. Breakfast was very good and available at any time you wake up which was great. We were off on very early trips on two mornings and the staff were very kind and did our breakfast at 6h30 for us. The inside of the hotel is lovely and the sunny roof terrace great for breakfast. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and had lovely food and great service. A real traditional Riad but done well so you get everything you would want from a modern hotel at the same time

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Best thing about this riad is the location, in the better part of Medina. Rooms are small. It has a lovely rooftop terrace. They serve continental breakfast, but they cook eggs if you ask. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you expect 5 star then this is not for you. But if you, like the Martin family, want a riad full of character and charm, supported by friendly hospitality of its staff, located in the inner ancient city with it's fascinating history and mystique, as well as within vey close walking distance to the Main Square and its Souks, at a very reasonable rate then do not hesitate but book now. The rooms are small but very clean surrounding a charming inner court yard with a small pool and there is a delightful roof top terrace. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome and helped plan our visits including a day trip to the mountains. They organised a delicious feast at our request for our party of 9 on our last night during which Abdul introduced us to Berber music and dancing with great passion. It was a perfect way to finish our 4 day stay. Overall it was excellent value and Well done to the Riad La Croix team for making our first visit to Morocco such fun and so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad la Croix Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad la Croix Berbere

Address: 8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad la Croix Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minutes de la célèbre place Jemâa-el-Fna et du Minaret de la Koutoubia... N'hésitez à pousser la porte de ce ryad... C'est dans le quartier El ksour (ksour pluriel de ksar qui veut dire palais) que se trouve ce charmant ryad. Son emplacement, vous permettra de profiter de l'ambiance des souks et de l'agitation de la place, mais également de l'attrait du quartier européen de Guéliz (10 mn à pieds) On vous proposera de prendre un verre de thé au bord du bassin, sur la terrasse, ou dans le salon marocain au coin de la cheminée.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad la Croix Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Croix Berbere Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad la Croix Berbere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.