We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad la Croix Berbere

Save Saved
You added Riad la Croix Berbere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad la Croix Berbere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a well placed riad with friendly staff - a good base and quiet.Rooms are basic and in need of some maintenance -at least the one we were in - cracks in the bathroom and unpleasant smell. If you are 3 people in a room its a bit crowded. Nice views from the roof. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Riad la Croix Berbere was a warm oasis of hospitality in Marrakech. While we didn't love the city itself the best of our tour of Morocco, we certainly loved our stay in this hotel.

When we arrived, a large family group had booked the rest of the riad, meaning it was quite noisy, with children playing and shouting a lot of the daytime. The hard surfaces of the inside of the riad meant that the sound bounced around a lot! They left the day before we did, and the riad was a changed place - peaceful and calm without any noise drifting in from the outside.

The room was the smallest we'd stayed in so far in Morocco, but I suppose this wasn't surprising since this was the biggest city. We were in the Afra room on the first floor, which has yet another very firm bed (we'd come to expect this in Morocco!) and a gorgeous bathroom, with a shower like another little room, done in lovely tadelakt. The inner courtyard is beautiful, and the pool is lovely.

The staff are what makes this place wonderful. As we went downstairs to head out for dinner on our last night in Morocco, we stopped to chat to the managers here, who have been lovely throughout. Every time they see us they ask if we slept well, how our day was, how our meals were. This time we got to talking about the languages we knew, and I demonstrated my couple of words of arabic, including “mumkin… mish mumkin” (perhaps… perhaps not) and “imshi” (go away), which set them off into paroxysms of laughter. This prompted a quick lesson on Berber dancing in the salon, which was fantastic! It certainly got the blood pumping and was a really positive end to our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

"Tout est possible" is what Omar said to us when we first arrived, tired and hungry and wondering if we could have our evening meal on the roof terrace. And that totally sums up the staff ethos of this place. Omar, Abdua and Ilham do a fantastic job looking after their guests and can arrange ANYTHING for you in double quick time! They are also some of the friendliest and genuine people you are ever likely to meet.
La Croix is ideally situated being so close to Jemma el fna and the souks. You really feel as though you are in the very heart of things not least by being relatively close to several mosques who all seem to want to out do each other when it is time for the "call to prayers" - a unique sound not to be missed.
We ate most of our evening meals at the riad because it quickly became apparent that we were going to be enjoying traditional Moroccan food cooked by traditional Moroccan people. We were not disappointed - the food was fab (we also tasted some Moroccan wine which could definitely hold a candle to anything over here)
We were surprised to be shown to a room on the roof terrace - didn't know they had one. If you want the best of both worlds, staying in this room gives you privacy when you want it (the staff will bring all meals etc. to the room) and when you're feeling gregarious you just go downstairs to the salon or poolside. Obviously the pool is a plunge pool but is deep enough to swim about three strokes in.
For a relatively inexpensive place to stay this riad was, for us, a great 'find', not LEAST because of the wonderful people running it.
Thank you Omar, Abdua and Ilham!

Room Tip: Go for the room on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location and a beautiful interior. It is small, but the price reflects that. We felt very looked after and cared for. Roof terrace and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved the Riad its not luxorius but clean and nice inside. Staff are friendly and always helpfool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip in Marrakech.This riad is less than 5 minutes walk from the Djemaa square and Bab Lakssour (one of the gates into the medina).

The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The staff are from a Berber background and provide very interesting and valuable insight into the local Berber and Moroccan culture.

Dinner was only 15 euro per person and was tasty and very reasonably priced in comparison to many riads. Also have free wifi.

I stayed in their cheapest room, which was abit old and dark. However, you can certainly stay in their nicer and larger rooms. . They do ask for a deposit for the booking though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I had booked this Riad for a weekend to celebrate a friends 50th birthday and moved after one night to another Riad in Marrakech.

The positives - a traditional Riad with lovely, atmospheric styled rooms, a tiny little courtyard, really pleasant, welcoming and helpful staff, tasty food, pleasant lounge area. Very close to main square and Souks, but not noisy at night. Very good value.

The negatives for us - the room we booked (the one on the roof) was very tiny indeed and somewhat claustrophobic - if you think the photo looks small - it is. The roof area was very limited and plastic covers across the courtyard detracted from the appearance. We were after a traditional Riad and thought the room photos looked nice - which they were - just too small.in the flesh, and ins some cases needed a little bit of attention (the cord on the shower was broken). I've stayed in Riads in Marrakech before and if I'm honest I was a little disappointed as the photos make it look more spacious and luxurious.

Having said that the Riad handled our complaint nicely and after some discussion, were gracious about our leaving.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad la Croix Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad la Croix Berbere

Address: 8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad la Croix Berbere 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minutes de la célèbre place Jemâa-el-Fna et du Minaret de la Koutoubia... N'hésitez à pousser la porte de ce ryad... C'est dans le quartier El ksour (ksour pluriel de ksar qui veut dire palais) que se trouve ce charmant ryad. Son emplacement, vous permettra de profiter de l'ambiance des souks et de l'agitation de la place, mais également de l'attrait du quartier européen de Guéliz (10 mn à pieds) On vous proposera de prendre un verre de thé au bord du bassin, sur la terrasse, ou dans le salon marocain au coin de la cheminée.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Budget Places and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad la Croix Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Croix Berbere Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad la Croix Berbere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.