We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit, and even better than the last....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Timila

Save Saved
You added Riad Timila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Timila
135 Derb Jdid | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“3rd visit, and even better than the last....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our third stay at Riad Timila and it simply gets better and better - hard to achieve when you start with such high standards... This time we were there as a party of ten, ranging from 17 year olds to 50+, and everyone loved it. We also had two evening parties when we hosted friends at the riad, and the exceptional staff treated us wonderfully, putting on a feast of food and valiantly staying up to serve despite the fact we were there during Ramadan. It was also mid August and exceptionally hot but the riad remained an oasis of cool and calm in the medina (thank God for very effective yet discreet air-conditioning...) Cars and trips out were organised very smoothly by Brahim, and those who booked a massage raved about it, so simply nothing to fault.

If you want to be in the thick of Marrakech, you can't do better.

Room Tip: All lovely, but the Chambre Bronze is special, and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from celebrating my hen do in Marrakech and I have to say Riad Timila was the perfect place to stay. There were 13 of us but as the Riad is so spacious it never felt like we were on top of eachother and it was the ideal place for us to chill out. The food and service were both amazing and really made our stay. I would definitely recommend staying at Riad Timila!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed as a group of 13 at the Riad Timila and all of us agreed that both the riad and service really were fantastic. The riad is luxury with individually decorated ensuite rooms, a spacious roof terrace and lovely plunge pool with seating area downstairs to keep cool with the very high temperatures.

The service was what really stood out as well, Brahim ensured that all taxis were ordered, recommended hotels and even walked us there and back. We also had meals prepared every day at the riad which were delicious and gave us a taste of real Morrocan food.

Would recommend for families, friends and couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you're going to stay in the Marrakech medina, this is the place to be. Very comfortable rooms, beautifully appointed space, attentive staff, good food. From the small pool on the first floor to a beautiful roof terrace to the fully stocked guest refrigerator, everything is top notch.
Be warned that this is medina living. You'll need to run a gaunlet of touts along the exceptionally crowded Derb Dibachi to get to the souks and Jemaa El Fna. I found this tiring day after day.
However, after a long day of shopping, this is a great respite to come home to.
Brahim can arrange excellent taxis and tour guides, though they aren't cheap.

Room Tip: Red room was my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Timilia is just beautiful - cool, comfortable bedrooms, numerous places to sit and relax on your own or with others, an inviting plunge pool to counter the heat of the city - all you need for a fabulous stay in this amazing city. Brahim and his team are first class - attentive without being any interference, nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended. Thank you for a marvellous stay - i loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our experience was top-notch! The staff was very attentive, flexible, and willing to go the extra mile. Brahim and his team tended to our every need from a stocked fridge to coordinating ALL of our transportation needs (for seven). More importantly, the Riad provides a needed respite (if needed) from all the activity going on in the Djemma El Fna and the souks.

Thank you !!!!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the entire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked the entire riad for a group of friends to mark my 40th birthday and I couldn't have wished for a more fantastic experience. The riad itself is stunning; centrally located for Djemma El Fna and the souks, and very well-maintained. The comfortable bedrooms are all beautiful and there are so many places within the riad to sit and relax that everyone could find their own corner of peace and quiet if they wanted it. The plunge pool was perfect for cooling off after a long day in the sun.

Brahim and his team were phenomenal. Brahim's attentiveness was first rate, and his cheerfulness in the face of endless questions and requests was unceasing. Nothing was too much trouble. The meals we had at the riad were all delicious and the decorations on the roof terrace the staff put up for my birthday, including garlands and fairy lights, were just magical.

Without a doubt, Riad Timila will be my first choice for any future Marrakech visits.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Timila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Timila

Address: 135 Derb Jdid | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 178 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical, romantic restored riad in the heart of the medina, a stone's throw from the Square and the souks. Cool and stylish, featured in the Telegraph and 25 Beautiful Homes. Rent a room or take over the whole house - it's a fabulous place for a party. Wonderful English-speaking staff, hammam, massage, pool, goose down pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, stunning views of the Koutoubia and the Atlas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Timila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Timila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.