We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Timila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Timila to your Saves list
Riad Timila
135 Derb Jdid | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
London/Tanzania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Really beautifully decorated, very central. Even more impressive were the staff, who were extraordinarily helpful, responsive and kind, especially Brahim. And you can have a hammam and massage without leaving the house, which was lovely. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have just spent five days at Riad Timilia. It was a delightful experience. The Riad is tastefully
decorated with a very cool look and immaculately clean. It is super comfortable, with lots of different areas to sit, although it's enormous roof terrace was my favourite. It is located very near the Souk, but when I went out, I couldn't wait to get back to the confines of this lovely place. The food was authentic and varied and beautifully presented and with low key invisible staff who got everything right. I have stayed in several places in Marrakech, but this will always be my first choice and I have already booked
my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I arrived back this morning from a fantastic short break at Riad Timila. My brother and sister-in-law, along with a group of friends, had previously stayed here and they couldn't recommend it enough, so we thought we would try it out and I'm glad we did.

This beautiful riad has been very tastefully renovated and provides everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay in Marrakech. It is located in a tranquil spot near the heart of the medina. However, after a five minute walk through the interesting alleyways you are in the middle of a different world of the bustling souks and main square. Our room was perfect, well decorated and spotlessly clean.

The staff were always extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Brahim looked after us superbly, arranging everything for us from taxis to tour guides to excursions, as well as tips on buying things from the souks. Amia cooked the most wonderful food which was by far better than any of the restaurants we went to. She also showed my wife how to prepare and cook Morrocan dishes, which my wife really appreciated. Amia also ensured that our room was clean and bed made each day. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Brahim and Amia. We experienced the hammam and massage in the riad (which was perfect after a long day of carrying my wife's shopping).

Brahim arranged an excursion to the Atlas Mountains for us which was a great experience. As part of the trip we went to a Berber village and had mint tea and home-made bread, butter and honey in a Berber family home, we ate lunch in a mountain restaurant overlooking the river and we climbed the mountain to see the waterfalls. As most everywhere, there were money spending opportunities for my wife to purchase local goods. We found that up in the mountain villages many items (necklaces, dishes, etc) were generally a fair amount cheaper than in Marrakech. During this trip we met a few Brits and other nationalities who were either staying in riads which, from their descriptions, seemed poor in comparison to Riad Timila, or they were staying at new hotels on the outskirts of Marrakech so they didn't have the quite the same experience we had by staying in the medina, and had to rely on taxis if they wanted to go anywhere.

We will definitely return to Riad Timila (and we will take our children next time!) as we had a truly wonderful time in a fantastic place. If you are looking to stay in a riad in Marrakech, then this is the place to go - don't even bother looking at anywhere else as it's unlikely that you will find a better experience than at Riad Timila.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have stayed at Riad Timila at several times of year (March, July and November) and, whatever the season, it is always exactly the same – a perfect haven from the bustle and noise of the Medina. It is warm and cosy in the winter and refreshingly cool in the summer. And you always get the warmest welcome from Brahim and the rest of the staff – it feels like coming home! The food is unbelievably delicious, the rooms and beds so comfortable and the roof terrace is one of the most perfect spots I know for a glass of wine at the end of the day. Marrakech really is an all-year round destination, just three and a half hours from London so you can have breakfast in Europe and lunch in Africa. As it in the same time zone, there’s no jet lag. Writing this makes me want to book my next trip!

Room Tip: There isn't a duff room! All rooms have very comfortable beds and ensuite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

A fantastic week at Riad Timila in Marrakech!. Brahim & the rest of the staff really looked after us. Delicious food & a marvellous hammam made for a wonderful relaxing time! The location is perfect for Souk shopping and dining out. The house is beautifully decorated and with incredibly comfortable beds, a real bonus!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Riad Timila is a stones throw away from the middle of the Medina and is an oasis of tranquillity away from the noise and bustle of the Souks It is beautifully done up, without being 'over the top' and is perfect for small or large groups of people. The staff are incredibly courteous and helpful - NO restaurant came near to the cook's food - and the service overall was outstanding. You could have no nicer way of finishing a day than on the top terrace - prettily lit - drinking a glass of wine with friends and looking at the Atlas mountains.

Room Tip: ~They are all excellent - mostly en suite and with hairdryers etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

From start to finish, a wonderful experience. Having never been to Marrakech before, I could not have been more overwelmbed by the service and beautiful surroundings.
Brahim and his team made us all feel welcome and looked after in every way. Timila is a little oasis of calm and serenity in the middle of all that hustle and bustle of the Souks. The rooms are all lovely, (great showers and lots of cupboard space) with lots of areas throughout the Riad to chill and relax. The food is delicious, with lots of local specialties, and pastries in the morning that melt in your mouth!
If you feel like sunbathing, chatting round a canopied table, or even taking a massage and mud rub- down, everything is there for you. When the sun sets, it feels like another world.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms well appointed, no substantial difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Timila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Timila

Address: 135 Derb Jdid | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical, romantic restored riad in the heart of the medina, a stone's throw from the Square and the souks. Cool and stylish, featured in the Telegraph and 25 Beautiful Homes. Rent a room or take over the whole house - it's a fabulous place for a party. Wonderful English-speaking staff, hammam, massage, pool, goose down pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, stunning views of the Koutoubia and the Atlas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Timila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Timila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.