We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“now I want to visit Lebanon too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuisine de Mona

La Cuisine de Mona
Residence Mamoune 5 n 115B | Quartier El Ghoul, Cite Olm, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212(0) 618.137.959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 585 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“now I want to visit Lebanon too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We found this place thanks to tripadvisor. Our whole family eats vegetarian so this was a fantastic alternative to the great tajines and couscous we'd had so far.
The place is nicely decorated, colourful and modern with nice pictures on the walls.
We ordered the vegetarian plate and received a variety of different houmous, bab ganousj, falafel, and other delicious food. It was so goog that I had trouble to choose which I would try next :-).

This restaurant serves alcohol.
At the start of the topic it says eating here is budget-friendly. I'd agree if compared to european prices, but not compared to moroccan standard though. But to us it was worth every dirham and more! (We payed around 800 dh, 3 person veggie meal, bottle of wine, 2 orangejuices, aperitif and coffee for 2)

If I would ever return to Marrakech, I'd defenitely visit Mona again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    27
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So excellent we went twice within a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You have to have the mezze!
My husband and I has a lovely meal (delicious food and quantities are huge!!). We can only recommend this place.
Mona and her husband were great hosts. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much we ate there twice within a week!
Try to book a seat on their lovely terrasse.


The place is situated just close to a restaurant called Niagara (any taxi driver would know)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vegetarian and vegans eat well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family of four found this place through Tripadvisor and now highly recommend it to others searching for vegetarian food. It was a little tricky to find but Mona and her husband (both own the place) made us feel very welcome. Mona does the cooking and her husband waits on the tables. Mona came to the table to discuss our food needs and we were served the mezzes (6 of them) with the thinnest, lightest, fresh pita ever. All our food was incredibly fresh, full of flavor and clean, bright tastes. If you are hungry, you need one mezze order per person. It is cash only. I am still waiting for the promised beet spread recipe from Mona!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The quality of the food served is really bad...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Together with a friend of Marrakech we decided to give us a break from tajines et couscous ... and because of its position on TA we decided to try La Cuisine de Mona. The restaurant is in the area of ​​high school Victor Hugo, quite far from the center and the hotels and it is really tiny, a few tables and its decor a little disappointing.
The reception of Mona, is friendly, the service fairly quick and effective, but the quality of the food served is really bad. If I had been alone I would have left the table from the first course ... a disaster! Even the falafel and hummus were terrible. I do not know if there are other restaurants in Marrakech offering Lebanese cuisine, but certainly this is not the right one. Sorry Mona, but you forgot the fine cuisine of Lebanon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Mona made us very welcome at her restaurant - the food was excellent and she and her staff were very friendly and provided us with recommendations for our stay in Marrakech. Delicious food and good value, would go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine de Mona also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cuisine de Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuisine de Mona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.