We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lebanese food in a cafe setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuisine de Mona

La Cuisine de Mona
Residence Mamoune 5 n 115B | Quartier El Ghoul, Cite Olm, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212(0) 618.137.959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food in a cafe setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Staff are so friendly here and Mona is always there with a welcoming smile. The food is excellent home-cooked fare and there's lots of it. It's not a restaurant as such, more like a cafe so don't go expecting dinner by candellight, and you won't be disappointed. We could not decide what to have so went for the house mixed "plate", which was more than enough for 2. This was my first experience of Lebanese food and it won't be my last :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    23
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Underwhelming given the reviews but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We wanted a bit of a break from the delicious couscous and tajines we had been eating for the past 4 nights and decided to try some lebanese fare, a personal favourite of ours in Montreal! The locale is very quaint and charming. Mona (at least I am pretty sure it was Mona) was extremely welcoming and nice. The service was rapid and efficient. The food was plentiful and inexpensive but the quality was only average. We ordered the mezze (a kind of mix of everything good which Mona decides to make that day) which includes a series of cold dishes as the first course (mainly salads) and a set of hot dishes for the second course. I don't think it was a bad restaurant, I just think it is overrated given that it was, at the time we went, rated #5 on tripadvisor and was also recommended by the french guide, Le Routard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty, Charming, Casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed dinner at this out of the way place. Wallpaper Magazine's guide to Marrakech listed it as a gem, then we noticed it's very high Tripadvisor ranking. Please tell your taxi driver to go to Victor Hugo School, then when you see Restaurant Niagara, pull over and walk down that street & 3 doors in (it's a one way street and your taxi can't go in) is Mona's cute little place. The signage and colorful decor are easy to spot. It's an out of the way place that doesn't seem like it's for tourists but rather a cute, charming neighborhood place with a bright, casual-chic decor and great prices. The food was excellent, Mona herself was there to take out order, we had the shared mezza for 2, it was all delicious. We sat outside and we were a little chilly, but that's also due to being slightly underdressed for the fresh November weather.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Out of the way and great for vegans and veggies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Set up near Victor Hugo part of town, a tiny restaurant with good fresh food and bright contemporary design. Meze dishes are excellent and I took vegan friends there who had very few choices in town for eating out! Wine and beer is reasonably priced too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect break from Tagines and CousCous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Delicious Lebanese mezze, great drinks. Mona is sweet and charming. A great break from Moroccan food. One of the best lunches in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine de Mona also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cuisine de Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuisine de Mona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.