We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alsaad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Alsaad to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alsaad
Quartier Riad Laarouss | Derb el bakkal 11, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #666 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

In a 10-day trip with my fiancee covering four cities in Morocco, Riad Dar Alsaad was the most relaxing and pleasant. The price is incredibly reasonable for a spacious room and very polite service. Marrakech is an incredibly busy and hectic city, so it is an absolute must to be able to retreat to a little bit of paradise.

A few recommendations and responses to what some other reviewers had to say: like everything anywhere in Morocco, it IS difficult to find the first time around - for around 10 euros you can arrange for them to pick you up from the airport, and while that is more money than you would pay a taxi, I would HIGHLY recommend it as you can side-step the hassle. If you are going to be paying money to find where you are, you might as well know what you are getting into in the first place. The Riad is located about a mile from the Djemma el-Fna, so while it is a walk away from the action, when you get to Marrakech you'll find that is not a bad thing!

The staff does speak enough English for you to complete any necessary transactions, but if you do speak some French you'll really be able to see just how friendly the staff is (especially Rashida!)

We paid around 32 euros per night and got a rather luxurious experience for less than a European budget hotel. You can order dinner at the Riad but I wouldn't recommend it as you can easily find a better deal elsewhere.

The room comes with a unit for heating and cooling which works reasonably well. As with most places in Morocco, there is some street noise so light sleepers should come prepared.

All in all, we had a wonderful time in this Riad, and I would highly recommend it to anyone spending a few days in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Spent 7 nights in this lovely oasis, our room was perfect and very clean. Enjoyed the hustle and bustle and excitement of being lost in the Souk, although if you are tired it can be scary. The Riad is just off a very busy square, down a very narrow lane. Our room was delightful and on Saturday night one of the staff put rose petals around our room making it very romantic. The Riad contacted me before our arrival to arrange a driver from the airport to the Riad and to arrange an evening meal for our arrival. The day and evening staff could not have be more polite or helpful. It is true that there are no locks on the doors, so what, just don't travel with any valuables that you can't put in a bag and take with you.Loved every minute of our stay. The people are poor but always have a smile barter with them, make it a game. A real taste of Marrakesh

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

This was a beautiful riad with stunning rooms, great terrace and very clean. Overall the building was fantastic. 

The staff on the other hand were dreadful! Beware of guides in this part of the old town. When we arrived we had a guide from the taxi to the riad who tried to charge us €10 to guide us 100metres. We offered less and he was going crazy with us demanding the money, we were stood inside the riad door and the staff did not help us at all would not shut the door they let him scream at us and wanted us to pay him and clearly be conned. 

The staff were miserable, could not recommend anywhere to eat, said there was wifi but wouldn't give us the password. Added on €6 tax to our final bill. Breakfast was poor, no tea only coffee, just a small amount if bread, jam, butter. No cheese or yoghurt like other continental breakfasts we have had in Marrakech. No fan in the bedroom or air conditioning. Did not speak to us after initial check in, maid was more friendly and left to help us and she couldn't understand a word of English. On our last day we had a couple of hours to pass before our transfer was taking us to the airport. We waited in the riad and the manager was talking to one of the maids about us and he though we couldn't understand, we then sat upstairs in the lounge as they made us feel uncomfortable and the Maid came up to find us and closed all the bedroom doors so we couldn't go in the empty rooms, not that we were planning too. 

Overall the service was horrendous. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights here, first time in Marrakesh so was not prepared for the chaos. Firstly trying to find the place was a nightmare even after being there 3 days, it is truly a maze. Asking people to help is no good as all they want is money and then give you wrong directions. When you do get there it is quite nice, rooms were clean and nice however the doors do not lock when you leave so anyone can enter. They have room safes but are not bolted down so they can just carry them off. On arrival I paid in full to a manager but when I checked out a different manager claimed I did not pay. GET A RECEIPT...worked it out though. It is a fun city but very confusing. Breakfast was fine. Nice affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I feel compelled to write about my disappointing experience with the owner of this Riad. We were due to stay 4 nights and had received email confirmation from Denis(the owner) on two occasions prior to our arrival. However, on arrival we were told that they had no record of our booking and that the the emails we received from the owner were fake. Denis himself did not make himself available to discuss the problem and allowed his assistant Said to deal with the issue. In the end we were forced to walk the streets to find a alternative place to stay, and neither Denis or Said took responsibility for their mistake. I would advise anyone looking for a Riad to steer clear of this one, as customer service is not their priority, and as I discovered, there are plenty of other really nice and welcoming places around Marrakech with the same room rates.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Small riad and has nice rooms. We only stayed one night about 15m walk into jemma fenna square. Staff can speak good english. Rooms are clean, spaciuos, well decorated and comfortable. They do offer a left luggage facility if needed though we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Riad Dar Alsaad is a beautifully decorated guest house inside the Walled Old City of Marrakech. We stayed in the Sahara Double Room, which had a comfortable bed and southwest red walls. The bathroom was fabricated from sculpted concrete, which was unusual. All the plumbing worked fine. The night manager spoke good English, and was helpful arranging excursions and the airport shuttle. The central courtyard where breakfast is served is open to the sky, decorated with plants and a water fountain, and candlelit in the evening. The food was good. A computer with internet connection is available for guest use.
The hotel is at the end of a narrow, dead-end side street and therefore very hard to find. Our taxi from the train station passed the street to the hotel. The taxi driver found two boys in the square nearby to take us to the hotel, which was about 150 feet back on a one-way street. The boys grabbed our luggage and started toward the hotel, and I hurried to pay the taxi and follow them. Fortunately, the boys lead us to the hotel. They ridiculed the $1.50 tip that I offered them, demanding $5 each. I only paid $3.50 for the taxi, and I gave him $1 and told them thanks and have a nice day.
The neighborhood around the hotel is like going back in time. The city walls date back to 1000 AD. Three thousand years of human technology in one place at the same time. Slabs of meat hang above the butcher shop counter outside. Donkeys and mules move freight through narrow, winding streets. Motorcycles, cars, cell phones, internet cafes inject modern life.
Walking the Old City is an experience. Old City Marrakech on the outside has a patina of grime like an old car left out to weather. Homes, shops and hotels are clean on the inside. Vendors can be very aggressive, especially street vendors. When bargaining on the price, start at one-tenth the original asking price. Negotiate a price with the taxi driver before getting into the taxi. They understand French.
Be wary of the snake charmers in the main market. Pay in advance $2 if you want to take photos. They demanded $10, and can be very aggressive. I was followed out of the square by a snake charmer demanding $10. After I gave $2 to another crew of snake charmers and started taking photos, I was confronted by two more fellows demanding more money. A fellow put a snake around my neck although I told them no. He said the snake was good luck—his good luck. I gave him $5 after he took the snake off.
Local art is available at a good price in Marrakech and in the area, if you know how to negotiate the price: Rugs, paintings, metalwork, ceramics, and leather. We took a car trip to the Atlas Mountains and hiked trails to the waterfalls. Nice excursion. Along the roads and the trails, many shops selling crafts. Upscale restaurants are hard to find, but we found the food to be generally good (especially the lamb). We ate at a nice Italian restaurant just outside the Old City Walls, across the street from the Medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Alsaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alsaad

Address: Quartier Riad Laarouss | Derb el bakkal 11, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Alsaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alsaad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.