We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad horrendous staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alsaad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Alsaad to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alsaad
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Quartier Riad Laarouss | Derb el bakkal 11, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #508 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely riad horrendous staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was a beautiful riad with stunning rooms, great terrace and very clean. Overall the building was fantastic. 

The staff on the other hand were dreadful! Beware of guides in this part of the old town. When we arrived we had a guide from the taxi to the riad who tried to charge us €10 to guide us 100metres. We offered less and he was going crazy with us demanding the money, we were stood inside the riad door and the staff did not help us at all would not shut the door they let him scream at us and wanted us to pay him and clearly be conned. 

The staff were miserable, could not recommend anywhere to eat, said there was wifi but wouldn't give us the password. Added on €6 tax to our final bill. Breakfast was poor, no tea only coffee, just a small amount if bread, jam, butter. No cheese or yoghurt like other continental breakfasts we have had in Marrakech. No fan in the bedroom or air conditioning. Did not speak to us after initial check in, maid was more friendly and left to help us and she couldn't understand a word of English. On our last day we had a couple of hours to pass before our transfer was taking us to the airport. We waited in the riad and the manager was talking to one of the maids about us and he though we couldn't understand, we then sat upstairs in the lounge as they made us feel uncomfortable and the Maid came up to find us and closed all the bedroom doors so we couldn't go in the empty rooms, not that we were planning too. 

Overall the service was horrendous. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights here, first time in Marrakesh so was not prepared for the chaos. Firstly trying to find the place was a nightmare even after being there 3 days, it is truly a maze. Asking people to help is no good as all they want is money and then give you wrong directions. When you do get there it is quite nice, rooms were clean and nice however the doors do not lock when you leave so anyone can enter. They have room safes but are not bolted down so they can just carry them off. On arrival I paid in full to a manager but when I checked out a different manager claimed I did not pay. GET A RECEIPT...worked it out though. It is a fun city but very confusing. Breakfast was fine. Nice affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I feel compelled to write about my disappointing experience with the owner of this Riad. We were due to stay 4 nights and had received email confirmation from Denis(the owner) on two occasions prior to our arrival. However, on arrival we were told that they had no record of our booking and that the the emails we received from the owner were fake. Denis himself did not make himself available to discuss the problem and allowed his assistant Said to deal with the issue. In the end we were forced to walk the streets to find a alternative place to stay, and neither Denis or Said took responsibility for their mistake. I would advise anyone looking for a Riad to steer clear of this one, as customer service is not their priority, and as I discovered, there are plenty of other really nice and welcoming places around Marrakech with the same room rates.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Small riad and has nice rooms. We only stayed one night about 15m walk into jemma fenna square. Staff can speak good english. Rooms are clean, spaciuos, well decorated and comfortable. They do offer a left luggage facility if needed though we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Riad Dar Alsaad is a beautifully decorated guest house inside the Walled Old City of Marrakech. We stayed in the Sahara Double Room, which had a comfortable bed and southwest red walls. The bathroom was fabricated from sculpted concrete, which was unusual. All the plumbing worked fine. The night manager spoke good English, and was helpful arranging excursions and the airport shuttle. The central courtyard where breakfast is served is open to the sky, decorated with plants and a water fountain, and candlelit in the evening. The food was good. A computer with internet connection is available for guest use.
The hotel is at the end of a narrow, dead-end side street and therefore very hard to find. Our taxi from the train station passed the street to the hotel. The taxi driver found two boys in the square nearby to take us to the hotel, which was about 150 feet back on a one-way street. The boys grabbed our luggage and started toward the hotel, and I hurried to pay the taxi and follow them. Fortunately, the boys lead us to the hotel. They ridiculed the $1.50 tip that I offered them, demanding $5 each. I only paid $3.50 for the taxi, and I gave him $1 and told them thanks and have a nice day.
The neighborhood around the hotel is like going back in time. The city walls date back to 1000 AD. Three thousand years of human technology in one place at the same time. Slabs of meat hang above the butcher shop counter outside. Donkeys and mules move freight through narrow, winding streets. Motorcycles, cars, cell phones, internet cafes inject modern life.
Walking the Old City is an experience. Old City Marrakech on the outside has a patina of grime like an old car left out to weather. Homes, shops and hotels are clean on the inside. Vendors can be very aggressive, especially street vendors. When bargaining on the price, start at one-tenth the original asking price. Negotiate a price with the taxi driver before getting into the taxi. They understand French.
Be wary of the snake charmers in the main market. Pay in advance $2 if you want to take photos. They demanded $10, and can be very aggressive. I was followed out of the square by a snake charmer demanding $10. After I gave $2 to another crew of snake charmers and started taking photos, I was confronted by two more fellows demanding more money. A fellow put a snake around my neck although I told them no. He said the snake was good luck—his good luck. I gave him $5 after he took the snake off.
Local art is available at a good price in Marrakech and in the area, if you know how to negotiate the price: Rugs, paintings, metalwork, ceramics, and leather. We took a car trip to the Atlas Mountains and hiked trails to the waterfalls. Nice excursion. Along the roads and the trails, many shops selling crafts. Upscale restaurants are hard to find, but we found the food to be generally good (especially the lamb). We ate at a nice Italian restaurant just outside the Old City Walls, across the street from the Medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

we stayed here for 1 week over Xmas we were unsure what to expect on arrival but from start to finish we were well looked after the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us the room was serviced every day and the breakfast was good . it is in the northern Medina and only a 15 min walk through the souks to the main square. it also has a roof terrace to relax on which can be used at anytime .we had a great holiday made even better by our stay in this riad.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Riad dar alsaad is surely the best stay in Marrakech!

There are a lot of nice riads in Marrakech, but there is no place like Riad Dar Alsaad!!
The rooms are very pretty (we stayed in Rabat la splendeur), the bathrooms are stylish and the breakfast is delicious (enjoy it on the rooftop terrace!).
We really liked the relaxed atmosphere in the middle of busy Marrakech. very ' Zen' !

The best thing about the place is its very kind staff!!
As everybody knows: you can stay in the best hotels, but without good service it is nothing!
their staff made our stay unforgetable by providing us amazing dinners (please do not miss out on the Riads cooking!) and their kindness.
They gave us some good tips (where to go, good non typical tourist restaurants etc) and they even helped us out when we were having problems with the car rental (while we had already checked out).

Please see for yourself the wonderfull Riad dar alsaad!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#142 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#200 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#88 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alsaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alsaad

Address: Quartier Riad Laarouss | Derb el bakkal 11, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alsaad 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Alsaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Alsaad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.