We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff make this place a must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse Jamila

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse Jamila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Princesse Jamila
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Derb Zenka Dayka | Riad Zitoune Djid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,034 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff make this place a must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A Riad in the heart of the Medina, 5 mins brisk walk from the Jamaa el Fna (main square). Accessed via two safe if very 'Marrakesh' like routes through the crowded streets, the positioning for a few days walking the joys of the Medina is perfect.

Comfortable rooms, nice spaces and a lovely terrace are complimented by some of the most friendly and attentive staff I've ever had the pleasure to stay with.

The food is a little over priced and a quick walk to the square will offer better value and more variety, but for the first night or morning, its nice to have something on site and easy, served in a lovely courtyard.

We had some dialogue with the owner prior to our arrival and found her manner brusque to the point of almost rudeness. But it had no bearing on our stay as said owner lives in France and we had no contact with her whilst in the Riad. A relief If I'm honest, as we were beginning to think we'd made a mistake in booking this place having corresponded with her over simple things like payment.

On the point about payment, we were informed we could pay in EURO via a Carte bancaire. This is not the case. They accept Euro payment in cash, indeed the pricing and booking were in EURO, but when we came to settle the bill, the card actually debits in Derham and a currency exchange will take place through the card...incurring costs to us we had not planned for.

We arranged a day excursion with the Riad to have a private taxi take us to a coastal town for the day. whilst it was very easy to organise, the quality of the car was shocking. It was presented as a luxury car and indeed was a modern Merc S class, however it barely made it to the coast without a breakdown, the climate control failed and it actually did breakdown on the outskirts of town on the way back. We walked the last mile having abandoned the car, so not a problem, but if the car had failed on the main road, we would have been stuck for hours while they sorted it out....not the best partner for the hotel to offer us I thought. Be aware and ensure they are offering a decent taxi partner.

Overall a very pleasant stay in Marrakech was complimented by this quiet comfortable Riad and its excellent staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
162
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The riad surpassed our expectations - it was even better than their very good video - we traveled with 2 adults and 4 teenagers - the attention to detail was great - the rooms every comfortable with nice beds and washrooms and air conditioning. The breakfasts were excellent and the hostesses were so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here in Nov2011 with a friend. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, always with a smile. Our room was neat and tidy - truly felt like you were in a classic Moroccan riad. Complimentary wireless Internet and breakfast were great. From the rooftop you can see the craziness of the medina and know you chose well - Riad Princesse Jamila is a short walk to the square.

Once you find this riad in the medina maze (won't be hard to find a local to initially escort you here, dropping them some dirhams), you won't want to leave. We ended up staying longer! Would totally recommend for anyone staying a while in this awesome city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our choice of Riad couldn't have been better. As you walk down the alley ways that make up the city you are not sure what you will find. Behind the ornate wooden door a warm welcome into an oasis of calm greets you. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. All meals are freshly prepared. We enjoyed the breakfast treats (freshly cooked pancakes with local honey and pastries along with freshly squeezed orange juice). After busy days out and about in the city (the RIad is close to museums, palaces and the hectic main square) we enjoyed a couple of tasty evening meals in a relaxing atmosphere. You are made to feel like one of the family. We received prompt responses to our emails. Miriam organised transport to and from the airport which made our arrival and departure hassle free. We would strongly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our room ( Ali Barber) was clean and very well appointed an we were very comfortable. We did hear the noises of the Riad as people came and went and it did give the feeling of not being private, even though it was. The staircase on to the first floor created some noise as people climbed the stairs but, hey this is Marrakesh ..... you expect noise !
These things aside we would have to say the young girls who looked after the Riad could not have done more for us - they were simply lovely ! Thank you !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here in early November with a friend, and had a fantastic stay.

I did a fair bit of research on hotels before I arrived, and this one consistently got good reviews, and I wasn't disappointed.

We arrived at around 9am, and they had a room available for us right away. It was a double-bed, but I mentioned that we weren't a couple (2 single guys!), and when we returned, the bed had been split into two singles.

The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful, and the cleanliness, breakfast, hotel location etc were all perfect. I'd strongly recommend this place.

Paul & Tashi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I had a fabulous experience in Riad Princes Jamila.
The most wonderful was the place where we eat. It was so delicious thank the staff, espacially to Myriam. Im fact everybody was friendly. My girlfriend and I have choose this riad for the pictures and the coments on this website.
We loved the massage, the Hammam and of course the beautifull shine on the terrace.
The breakfast was delicious with lot of choices. We found the riad immediatly, and the place jama el afna is at 2 minutes. We had discovered Marrakech for the first time and we really loved this trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Princesse Jamila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse Jamila

Address: 19 Derb Zenka Dayka | Riad Zitoune Djid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Princesse Jamila 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small paradise in the middle of orange trees, breathe in the enchanting scents of flowers, scented candles Completely restored, Princess Jamilla riad is a genuine, traditional and contemporary.In this magical place, in the land of a thousand and one night, you will live unforgettable moments.Dinner by candlelight in the glow of the stars, relax in the patio flowers and trees, relax on the terrace, swim in the pool of refreshments, massage in the open air under the sails of voluptuous Balinese bed. Smell, taste, serenity, comfort and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Princesse Jamila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Princesse Jamila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse Jamila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.