We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My staying in Marrakech - Riad Princesse Jamila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse Jamila

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse Jamila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Princesse Jamila
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Derb Zenka Dayka | Riad Zitoune Djid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,034 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My staying in Marrakech - Riad Princesse Jamila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

4 reasons for remember this Riad

1) Perfect position within the Medina near to the square Djemma el Fna.
After the first time, it is very easy to move from/to the Riad

2) Room AliBaba: clean, quiet and charming

3) The main dish of the dinner I ate last evening: chicken and pear tajine (very good!)

4) The staff: Khdija, Khamisa, Aysha, Myriam; but first of all the kindness and sweetness of FatimZara

Non-French-speaking people should consider the communication with the staff as part of a game and as a funny experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
162
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Amazing rooms, nice Riad. Location a bit far from main square. Not very good value for money considering other options available. AND THE JACUZZI WAS BROKEN!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aualje, Propriétaire at Riad Princesse Jamila, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
i m sorry for this message i don t understand it is very difficult for us our riad is 3 MN ON FEET from the place Is it far away ? The price with breakfast for 2 people is 65 E is it very expensive ? and the most important is that we never say we have a jaccuzi it is a rafraichissment bassin and no cold water and we profite now to revese it for next month
people find our riad has a wonderful riad and i dont understand this bad message
many thanks for read other message and see you yourself carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Excelent Riad, closy, the staff iis exceptional, always with a smile and very helpfull. The riad is very well located, and charming. We order the dinner with the dancer and it was fantastic, good food and a party ambiance. Excelent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Go to Riad Princesse Jamila if you like:
* a nice and friendly team, who cares for you!
* if you like a nice room, with a good shower and a good bed
* if you like to drink a little beer or wine on a beautiful dakterrace
* near by the medina, and the big square
* easy to find
* near by a taxi stop
* for a great marrakech feeling!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Riad is situated very close to the Djermaa el Fna. Walking distance to all interesting places inside the Medina. Taxi stops about 200 m away from the Riad. You can walk from there to the Riad if you have a good city map. If not spend 10 Dh for a guide.
Hamid speaks french, spanish, english. He gave us very good introduction to Marrakech. We booked the room Sherazzade at the second floor with nice terrace. Two large windows, air condition, nice interiour, marroc style bath room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Riad Princess jamila Is One Of The MOST wonderful riads in Marrakech? among many other it is the most welcoming and warm. The whole team is very nice, Especially the smile nice woman Myriam, we were very welcomen by Three Ladies and a wonderful man, many thanks to myriam, asma ramissa and Monir. the riad is very pleasant and relaxing,
breakfasts and di,,er in terrace are very nice and very romantic. we highly recommend!
absolutely do again!
promise we are coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed here after Riad Boussa, so we enjoyed the freedom and space, but found the service lacking. Then again, since we were in Morocco for a week, it was a good place to be, given the space.

PROS:
- Free to come and go
- Spacious rooms (unlike Boussa)
- Decent breakfast
- Cool terrace
- Jacuzzi on the roof
- Fairly easy to get to, just walk thru Djemma al Fina, make your first right by the Marrakshi restaurant, then keep going until you see signs for Riad Tamsyna. Make a right and keep going.

CONS:
- The owner wasn't there when we were - which meant the place was run by a nice Moroccan guy who spoke broken English and a bunch of 20-something young Moroccan girls who sat around and watched movies all night
- A different person/child would open the door each time we arrived
- If you don't speak French, I wouldn't recommend staying here - not a lot of English spoken here
- Since the rooms aren't directly against each other, you can't hear other people next door, but you can hear everything going on in the middle of the hotel (which is very loud). Best to stay on the top floor.
- Poor decor (creams and purples, but overall look is dingy)
- No standing shower - u have to hold the shower head in your hand
- Shower and sink clog even worse than most hotels
- Not even a sheet between your bathroom and the room. So...be prepared
- The streets leading up to the riad are really really broken up. Basically pothole-type path so that you have to walk along the edges of the street to get there. (while the medina is obviously run-down, this was by far the worst streets we found)


Some tips:
- Do not pay for the ridiculous prices for trips/hammams/dinners arranged by the Riad - it's a total rip-off
- A trip to the Ouzoud waterfalls should only cost about 300-400 dirhams per person for example
- A hammam at Ziani costs 270 dirhams
- The riad recommends restaurants that are very, very French. If you want a more Moroccan experience, don't go to Cafe Arabe/Fondouk etc. It's like being Europe instead of Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aualje, PROPRIETAIRE at Riad Princesse Jamila, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Hello , i read that people did not like riad Boussa, did not like our riad i think they don t like marrakech
in our riad all poeple speak perhaps broken english broken spanich broken deutch broken french and morrocan langage
these people spoke nothing about american langage !
my personnal is a very goog personal every body say and think that they don t have 20 years old but between 24 TO 35 years old
they don t have shower because they choise a room with bathroom !
the price of excursion are 110 E for 4 PEOPLE in the car for ESSAOUIRA and 90 e for 4 people for LORICA we don t propose OUMZOUC ! So i think they pay more ( '400dh /people !) in marocco as every where you find all price for every think and you choice it is the same in marrakech
in my riad hammam is 100 DH with gommage300 dh so il think she pay more in Ziani or if the price is with gommage it is only 30 DH MORE and you are in the riad and alone with your parter not with every body it is has you want
thank you very much
carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Princesse Jamila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse Jamila

Address: 19 Derb Zenka Dayka | Riad Zitoune Djid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Princesse Jamila 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small paradise in the middle of orange trees, breathe in the enchanting scents of flowers, scented candles Completely restored, Princess Jamilla riad is a genuine, traditional and contemporary.In this magical place, in the land of a thousand and one night, you will live unforgettable moments.Dinner by candlelight in the glow of the stars, relax in the patio flowers and trees, relax on the terrace, swim in the pool of refreshments, massage in the open air under the sails of voluptuous Balinese bed. Smell, taste, serenity, comfort and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Riad Princesse Jamila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Princesse Jamila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse Jamila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.