We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Jaguar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Jaguar to your Saves list
Dar Jaguar
7-8 Derb El Mesfioui | Rahba Kedima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What good value. Exciting arrival via the souk, following the wheelbarrow with our stuff in it.
The staff are superb and so attentive. Morrocan Whisky on arrival was lovely!
Room was absolutely fine but getting a little bit tired.
The courtyard/atrium is lovely and the plunge pool great when it is 40c outside. Terrace excellent and the breakfast good and different each day.
We had dinner twice and both times the food was excellent.
Difficult to fault this place, especially at the price, which included a fabulous massage.

Room Tip: eat dinner in the atrium with candles and morrocan smells. fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel arranged our transfer to the Riad and arriving into the courtyard, where a refreshing cup of mint tea was on offer, after the hustle and bustle of walking through the souk was a great start to our weekend of celebrations. The service was very attentive, the room was ok and the terrace was great to use in the evenings to soak up a few rays. Our room didn't have any storage apart from open shelves and a place to hang clothes so it always looked messy. One of the taps in the bathroom didn't work and a bulb was broken. However this didn't spoil our adventure one bit. The massage included in the package was really good and we were also given a bottle of wine that evening which we enjoyed on the terrace. Nice touch.
The location of the riad is fantastic and the team there really helpful.
I would recommend this riad as it definitely has a real home from home feel. You can't go to Marrakech and stay in a faceless, branded hotel. This is how you do Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarJaguar, Owner at Dar Jaguar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for recommending Dar Jaguar after staying there! We do make every effort to make our guests feel at home, and enjoy the tranquil environment of Dar Jaguar - so we were particularly glad to see you enjoyed your time there, and the services.

We do apologize for the non-functioning tap and bulb, we will redouble our efforts to ensure that details like this are taken care of, and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such positive things, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Dar Jaguar in the future!

The Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Riad is in a great location for accessing the Medina. The Riad is well decorated and has a wonderful terrace to laze on during the days.

The breakfasts are also great as was the massage which was included in our package. All in all, really good value for money in a great location.

The only negative was our room was next to the front door, so we could hear all returning visitors and/or deliveries arriving to the Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Really easy flight over, simple transfer and then walk into a truly stunninng dar Jaguar....even better than the web site pictures... this chic, boutique place to stay is beyond! 2 seconds from the excitement, haggling and more shopping than you can imagine in the souk, Dar Jag manages to be in the middle of all the action and yet as you walk through the door into the beautiful courtyard, it is like entering an oasis of calm, with tinkling water and singing birds - chill out bliss! The staff are really friendly and make you feel immediately at home, giving you discrete service and expert local knowledge of where to go and what to do - and how to barter! The massage on the terrace just before the sun goes down (80 degrees in March! mmmm) is a definite must do as are the plethora of fab places to eat and drink - from hip to waha....definitely go again.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave Dar Jaguar is pure escapism! Luxury in the heart of the Madena - just beautiful rustic Marrocan charm! Every room perfectly enhances the romance and charm of the country. A treat for all the senses - if you are looking for somewhere authentic yet beautifully relaxing with staff who will meet all of your needs then this is the place to stay! The food here is delicious, fresh and enticing! Smells and flavours to come back for time and time again. Each morning we were served wonderfully tasting fresh baked Marroccan pastries and pancakes, hot coffee and the freshest of Orange juice! Beautiful Riad in the heart of the hussle and bussle - just perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and if travelling on a romantic stay State of Grace is a must!!! Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My friends I stayed at Dar Jaguar a few weeks back and had a great time. The staff is fantastic - they really make you feel like you are a part of their family. Staying in this amazing riad nestled within the chaos of the medina was the perfect choice for us. After an exhausting day exploring and shopping the souks we were able to kick back and relax in our home away from home. Dar Jaguar was perfect for our girls get away and I would highly recommend it for a couples retreat as well. In other words, no matter who your travel Companions are or even if you are traveling alone stay at Dar Jaguar! You’ll be glad you did.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms in this riad and all are lovely. Check out the website. The photos are spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at Dar Jaguar in Marrakech for our tenth wedding anniversary in December 2010.

Aside from marrying my wife in the first place, it was definitely one of the best decisions that I have made in my life. We felt looked after from the moment we booked the trip and made to feel very special throughout our stay. Dar Jaguar is a truly magical place, a warm welcome, fantastic food, stunning. The location is unbeatable, off the main square and handy for the Souks. We are already working out who we will bring back to help celebrate our 20th.

Room Tip: Any room with an open fire. The suite is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Jaguar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jaguar

Address: 7-8 Derb El Mesfioui | Rahba Kedima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jaguar is the style crowd’s best kept secret. An ancient riad uber-stylishly restored in the heart of the medina, five minutes from the world-renowned Jemaa-el-Fna.An exquisite blend of Moorish and Oriental architecture with an elegant European romantic interior, it offers four spacious suites, a vast Royal Suite and a large sundrenched terrace with magnificent views. Under the ornate woodwork is a plunge pool and Syrian chandelier designed by the owner, Lucia Silver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Jaguar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Jaguar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.