We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean riad with lots of atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sharmance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sharmance to your Saves list
Riad Sharmance
Derb Ben Allal, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #503 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean riad with lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed one week in this Riad and had a fantastic stay!

- rooms are simple (no fancy items like radio or TV), but very clean (towels are changed daily, beds are made up daily, no crawling animals besides the cute turtle in the courtyard) and decorated lovely in traditional Marrocon style
- bathroom is very clean, comes with flush toilet and hot water with good water pressure
- beds are firm and queensized
- the inside of the riad is very clairaudient (if people come home late or have conversations in the courtyard or terrace), however there are only 4 bed rooms and the clientele is seeking rest and peace anyway, so we never felt disturbed or annoyed. Amazingly, no noise from outside the riad can be heard (even the Muezzin in the morning is hard to hear)
- in hot summer the rooms and the courtyard are surprisingly cool and well ventilated, if not sufficient the aircon can be switched on (though not tested if working well and how noisy it would be)
- the breakfast is served between 8.30 - 10.30h on the terrace and is for French style pretty diversified: hot drinks (coffee, tea, hot milk, cocoa powder), a glass of fresh orange juice, toppings (cream cheese, butter, jam), baguette and every day a different add-on (boiled egg, croissant, crepe, donut, local bread etc.)
- a 3-course dinner can be ordered as well (latest till 10.00h on the same morning); there is little choice but very delicious and enormous portions, the price of 11-14 EUR is comparable to restaurant prices
- wireless internet is available in the courtyard, however it is not very strong and unfortunately does not reach the rooms or the terrace
- the staff is very friendly and supportive, sometimes the language barrier can be a bit strenious (French very necessary, sometime English helps)
- it is impossible to find the riad on a first visit, as the old town (medina) is a maze and hosts numerous riads even the locals do not know (including taxi drivers!) so it is strongly advised to use the offered airport transfer of the riad (15 EUR). The last meters have to be covered by foot anyway, as no cars can pass the small alleys. Once you have orientated yourself, you can take the bus or taxi back to the airport (from Djemma 3-7 EUR). At night the last meters might be a bit frightening for single travellers, although the alleys are lit and the neighbourhood is small and seemingly friendly
- payment can be done in cash either in Dirham or Euros (we payed on check-out)
- within 1 walking minute numerous small shops and market stalls can be reached, normally serving between 10 and 22h (irregular openings is a standard), within 5 walking minutes the big square (Djemaa) and the souks can be reached. Be prepared to get lost and to share the tiny roads with crowds of locals, mopeds, bikes, carriages and mules. You will be overwhelmed with annyoing shopkeepers and waiters trying to convince you of their services and numerous random locals showing you the direction to the big square (however, only half of the directions lead to the actual direction...)

Conclusion: the riad is perfect for people seeking rest and peace with charming Maroocon atmosphere, while being close to the big square and the souks; it offers good value for money!

Room Tip: I would not choose the room on groundfloor, as everyone passes there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clanot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our week in RIad Sharmance was superb value for money.The staff were very friendly and helpful,ensuring our stay was memorable.The room was clean and the roof terrace an oasis of calm from the nearby Jemaa el fnaa .No hesitation in recommending RIad Sharmance as the perfect base for exploring the wonders of Marrakech. Ray + Lynne

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a week in this idyllic place. Very authentic, tranquil and cool to give a breathtaking contrast to the city outside. Rashid and the team were friendly and very helpful. Meals can be provided in the evening which are highly recommended, particularly when you first arrive. Breakfasts are a superb start to the day and can be served on the beautiful roof terrace to the sound of bird song and often the call to prayer. Alternatively they can be enjoyed in the cool courtyard. The evening ambience, complete with candlelight and subtle music within this riad is something to behold.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKev60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

we stayed in Riad Sharmance for 3 nights March 2013. we had a fantastic Time, the rooms are clean and nice Oriental style. delicious Breakfast and different every morning . The staff are very Friendly, polite, helpful. there is also a Roof terrace were you can chill out , sunbathing admire the Medina and listen to the Prayers.

The Riad is very central about 5 mn walk from the Jemaa el fnaa place and the souks.

If you want to feel the real atmosphere of Marrakech I would highly recommend Riad Sharmance.

Regards
Iskander

Room Tip: the Riad has 4 rooms they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Haque
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week and a great time. Fatima and Rachid took really good care of us and helped us out with car reservations, tours etc. Whatever we needed. The riad and the rooms are beautifull and very clean. They also have a roof terrace which is great for sunbathing and a drink at night on the sofa's.
This riad is situated very central in the medina, close to the djemaa el fna. But because they are tucked away in an alley, it's still very quiet and peacefull inside the riad.

Only negative command I have is that the lights fell out during the night on 2 occasion, both times caused by me, because I used to many electrical appliances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#150 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#254 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#86 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#113 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sharmance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sharmance

Address: Derb Ben Allal, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Sharmance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing