We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Save Saved
You added Riad Zayane Atlas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for two night one before and one after trekking in the Atlas Mountains, the Riad was booked for us, so cant comment on the cost. The location of the Riad is excellent for two reasons, first its only a 2 minute walk from the car park that the taxi drops you off at, second its only a 10 minute walk to the Medina. There are a lot of Riads that are miles away from the nearest taxi drop of point, think about this before you book anywhere and end up paying someone to guide you to your Riad.

I would get the hotel to arrange a taxi from the airport which they will do, the taxi fare is 100 dirhams, they will also take you from the car park to the Riad. They will organise a taxi to the airport when you leave as well. Our taxi ended up being the Riads owner.

All the staff are polite and helpful, they didn't try to sell us tours, they just let us be, which was nice as everyone in Marrakech tries to sell you something. There is free wifi, air con in the rooms, nice terrace, half covered if its to hot. You cant really go wrong with this Riad to be honest.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisier but have natural light, rooms at back are quieter but don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is cozy and clean. My family loved to stay there and enjoyed great breakfast. 10 minutes walking distance from Jamaa Elfna square and there are many shops on the way. Riad provide tea, coffe, bread, three kinds of jam for breakfast, which is much better than other riads that we had ever been. My wife would like to stay there again whenever going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: All rooms are well organized and clean. 1F is for couple and 2F is for family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My daughters and myself went for a three day trip to Marrakesh. We had a great time, the Riad was lovely with very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast was filling and tasty, it may have been nice to have had some fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as the pastries and bread as one of my daughters couldn't eat wheat, however it was easy enough for us to buy in the markets. The rooms were clean and spacious with plenty of sockets, and hanging space for clothes. The bathrooms had hot, powerful showers and plenty of towels. The rooftop was great to sit on for breakfast or having mint tea in the afternoon. At night you could sit under cover on comfortable chairs in authentic Moroccan style. Trip to the Atlas mountains with ride on camels was truly memorable, with a lovely lunch in a Berber house on the balcony overlooking the Toubkal mountain ( second highest in Africa apparently). The souks were fine once you got the hang of offering almost half what was asked for and sticking to your guns or almost. Found a lovely open air bar called Kosybar near the Riad which sold wine, beer and cocktails, it overlooked a square and part of the wall where you could see storks in very close proximity nesting and flying around. It was great to hear the Imman calling people to prayer around the city. Staying in the old city made us feel we had travelled to a foreign country rather than stay in a hotel that could be anywhere. I would recommend Marrakesh and this Riad to travellers wishing to see the Medina.

Room Tip: We had the red room and the blue room, both had a double and a single bed in them the rooms were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was chosen as it was within the Medina walls of Marrakesh and was booked as part of a deal website offer. Sometimes you dont expect to much of offers and are glad to just have a nice place to rest in the evenings on your city break, this exceeded all expectations and was a genuine haven in the midst of a bustling city, within a short walk to the main attractions and central marketplace. On arrival we were greeted by Kamal, a young chap who was one of the nicest most accommodating people you could hope to meet, he sat us down with a lovely mint tea, brought a map and showed us precisely how to get around, where banks were etc etc. The rooms are on two floors above a central small courtyard which has a small plunge pool, whilst the top floor terrace is a superb place to have the included breakfast (lovely coffee by the way) or catch the sun, and even perhaps some shade or read in the cushioned berber tent. Babette the owner is exceptional with feedback we troubled her with quite a few emails before arriving and all were answered superbly and she was lovely also when we were there. Accommodation is very nice, and air conditioned, with plenty of warm water, lovely bedlinen and coloured glass and Moroccan lamps adding to the atmosphere. The deal we purchased included an authentic Moroccan tagine meal which was superb and as a result we are now regularly eating cinnamon oranges after our meals back home. One thing... wait to book trips, for example Kamal has an immense knowledge of the Ourika Valleys and area, if you want (we recommend highly you do) to go into the Atlas Mountains, Kamal is a superb guide with extensive knowledge and can arrange a very very economical trip, the transport was 1st class in a small group (no 50 people coach loads), it was a full day 9am to 6pm return. We also arranged the airport transfer from the hotel again very economical. Would we stay again ? in the blink of an eye, a special and heartfelt thanks to a gem of a guy, Kamal you are the best.

Room Tip: All rooms are located around a courtyard, and are lovely, our room was close to the front door an th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I took my mum for her birthday and she couldn't have been happier. It is close to the main marketplace with lots of shops and places to eat nearby. It is noisey outside but peace and quiet once you are in the riad. You could not wish for friendlier hosts at the riad, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This small riad was a great destination for our short 3 day trip to Marrakech with a couple of friends. We bought the deal through an internet site and purchased airline tickets online. The whole experience went very smoothly. I would recommend using the hotel transfer through the Riad as you would have difficulty locating it, especially in the dark. We were collected by Tomas at the airport together with 2 other passengers and dropped off at a tiny car park within the medina where we were met by Kamal and a handcart to transfer our luggage about 4 minutes down the windy alleys. The riad is simple, authentic and very friendy and Kamal in particular can't do enough to help. The lovely Moroccan breakfast is served on the terasse as is the evening meal and in the cooler weather served in the berber style tent. The rooms are quite small but clean and adequate and the trip into the Jma el Fnaa about a 10 minute stroll, although I warn you, you will probably get lost the first few times you return to the riad. All part of the fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband , daughter and her friend stayed here in February. The hospitality and location was excellent and well worth the small costs charged. This is within the medina and is so close to all amenities. Breakfast was provided daily included in the cost: this was really scrumptious... And although it was a Continental breakfast there was lots of selection and upon request some warm food was offered. The mint tea is second to none and was offered complimentary throughout the day when lounging on the lovely terrace. As part of our deal we had a meal prepared by the Riad which was simple but very very tasty. The rooms in the accomodation were fairly basic but exceptionally clean and the only thing I would say is that the rooms were small and the bed was not too comfy...although after a day or two we got used to it.... Overall the service provided by the staff was amazing Kamil and Babette were exceptionally helpful and everyone else went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I would have no hesitation to recommend this Riad... It was great value for money and is in the hub if activity!!! I have stayed in a five star in Morroco previously however, this was a better experience overall. If you choose this Riad, take some excursions planned by the Riad (we didnt have time but all other guests commented that they were great value) and visit the medina spa as recommended by the Riad which is close by.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor looked bigger and in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opening in june 2009. 8 airconditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet.Beautiful terrace, patio, morocan lounge, small pool opening spring 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zayane Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.