We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic gues house tucked away next to the busy market!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Save Saved
You added Riad Zayane Atlas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic gues house tucked away next to the busy market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were looking for something very authentic and near the hustle and bustle - and we sure got it!

We loved all of it - the rooms, the service, the meal that was provided and the breakfast is great. The owner and the main person that looks after everyone are so friendly.

Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I can't recommend this riad highly enough - it is absolutely superb - with service that many other establishments could learn from. I originally booked this for last summer but had the flights cancelled - not an issue at all for Babette to change our booking, which was purchased very reasonably through a deal site. We also booked a transfer from the airport which didn't turn up, Kamal at the riad could not apologise enough, although this was out of his control. The welcome and hospitality of Kamal and the team really made this trip what it was. The riad is beautifully Morrocan, and is so incredibly peaceful. It's in the heart of the medina but very easily located (don't be fooled by the "guides" who will take you down many winding alleyways, it's just off the main "road" near the Earth Cafe). The breakfast is amazing, and if you don't have an evening meal booked, I would really recommend staying there for an evening - Kamals lemon chicken is legendary!
We had a triple room with a hot powerful shower and decent heating (chilly on a night in February) - the bed was comfortable although a little too hard for me personally. A great base to explore Marrakech from, a few minutes walk from both the main square and all it's chaos, and the serenity of Badii Palace. Certainly worth a visit, if only for the experience of the total madness of the city.

Room Tip: Noise travels all around, such is the nature of a riad, opt for upstairs if you want a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was exchanging emails with Babette long before our trip and she had always been very accommodating to any requests we have: number of rooms, bed arrangements etc.. Anyways, we found a great deal at their Riad! From airport transport to daily breakfasts to our cozy and pretty rooms, it was such a steal that it all added for one fun trip! Hichaam and Kamal are perfect guides for 7 crazy ladies! Talk about patience! They tried to answer all of our questions, gave suggestions and helped plan our trip! 4 days turned out to be short! Would have been great I guess if we came on a warmer time so that we could have had a dip at their mini pool, it looked so inviting! But I guess what touched me the most was when Kamal knew that it was my friend's birthday, he decorated our dinner table just for our birthday girl! Thank you so much guys! Shukran!

Room Tip: You could request for single or double rooms beforehand. Some rooms are good for 3! They let us choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friend and I booked for ten days stay in this lovely riad. On first day we met Babette in person, and Kamal who was very helpful, resourceful, kind and, we latter discovered, with a great sense of humor.
Riad is beautiful, decorated in traditional Moroccan style what I like the most. Because of longer stay, at the end of our journey we liked to stay for hours on 3rd floor where is the terrace with many plants and berber tent (and wireless internet). We enjoyed sun, mint tea and chatting with Kamal. We really felt like we were guest at someone's home and not in the hotel/riad. It was such rewarding and personal experience.
Kamal was our great guide to Ourika valley, and he helped us with many advices about local culture, shoping, bargaining and prices. Also he contacted for us the agency for trips to Essauira, Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou.
Riad is located 5 minutes from Jemma El-Fna square. It is very peaceful even in the middle of noisy medina.
I am sure that there are some other beautiful riads in Marrakech, but if I return I am sure that I would want to stay in this riad again, because of that nice home atmosphere there, and kind staff, Fatima, Woufra and especially Kamal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked our stay via a voucher with Babette online. Found our room to be rather small, we were there for 6 nights and other larger rooms were empty while we were there. I attempted to discuss this with Larbi but my French is very limited and his english even less so, communicated this to Babette via email and received back a 'sorry your room is small' but nothing further. The roof terrace is lovely. Kamal who speaks english very well was there the last 2 days of our stay and we found him to be extremely personable and helpful. The souks and main square are easily accessed from the riad. Had a great hammam experience x 2 at Hamman Ziani about 5mins from the riad. The Vegetarian cafe (with chicken!) is in the same Derb as the riad where we had a lovely lunch. Place de Ferblantier was great for nous nous (cafe au lait) and people watching, a guy selling macaroons in the square did very well out of us they were delicious. The Kosy Bar in the same square was very comfortable with great Maroc wine.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room you may be luckier than us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that when we approached our accommodation, visiting Marrakech for the first time, we were worried. The streets and buildings looked very run down, however, what hid behind in this riad can only be described as a wonderful oasis - a tranquil setting, in stark contrast to the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech.

The great service began when we were picked up from the airport on arrival. The riad arranges for us to be collected by their regular friendly taxi driver at no charge. He was awesome and an excellent driver (amongst some other very dubious ones!).

The rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. Everything worked, including most importantly the air con.

There is a lovely roof top area where we were welcomed to mint tea and a chat on arrival. Maps and details about the city were provides by a very attentive and friendly staff member. We mentioned that we were interested in a day trip to Essaouira (well worth it by the way) and they offered to walk us to an agency that provided such trips. Very helpful when you first arrive given what a maze Marrakech can be! I was sceptical at first (thinking this might be for a kickback from an agency friend!) but the day trip was very reasonable, and if there was a kickback it would have been very small and well deserved. We appreciated the help.

We enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning on the roof terrace and one traditional evening meal was also included in our package. Very nice indeed.

Overall, we loved this place an couldn't fault it at all. The service topped off the fantastic surroundings. We highly recommend Riad Zayane Atlas and hope we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff were wonderfully hospitable, especially Kamal. Fab location right in the heart of the old town, but the Riad was quiet and calming. We arranged a day out to the Atlas Mountains via emails with Babette and Kamal was our guide. He did a great job helping us up and across some of the more challenging bits of the route and his local knowledge was invaluable. Rooms simply furnished but perfectly adequate for a short break. Beds v. comfortable and plenty of hot water. Very attractive property on three levels - lovely roof terrace. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are probably quieter as away from the entrance and communal areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech
Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opening in june 2009. 8 airconditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet.Beautiful terrace, patio, morocan lounge, small pool opening spring 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zayane Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.