We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Save Saved
You added Riad Zayane Atlas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked our stay via a voucher with Babette online. Found our room to be rather small, we were there for 6 nights and other larger rooms were empty while we were there. I attempted to discuss this with Larbi but my French is very limited and his english even less so, communicated this to Babette via email and received back a 'sorry your room is small' but nothing further. The roof terrace is lovely. Kamal who speaks english very well was there the last 2 days of our stay and we found him to be extremely personable and helpful. The souks and main square are easily accessed from the riad. Had a great hammam experience x 2 at Hamman Ziani about 5mins from the riad. The Vegetarian cafe (with chicken!) is in the same Derb as the riad where we had a lovely lunch. Place de Ferblantier was great for nous nous (cafe au lait) and people watching, a guy selling macaroons in the square did very well out of us they were delicious. The Kosy Bar in the same square was very comfortable with great Maroc wine.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room you may be luckier than us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that when we approached our accommodation, visiting Marrakech for the first time, we were worried. The streets and buildings looked very run down, however, what hid behind in this riad can only be described as a wonderful oasis - a tranquil setting, in stark contrast to the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech.

The great service began when we were picked up from the airport on arrival. The riad arranges for us to be collected by their regular friendly taxi driver at no charge. He was awesome and an excellent driver (amongst some other very dubious ones!).

The rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. Everything worked, including most importantly the air con.

There is a lovely roof top area where we were welcomed to mint tea and a chat on arrival. Maps and details about the city were provides by a very attentive and friendly staff member. We mentioned that we were interested in a day trip to Essaouira (well worth it by the way) and they offered to walk us to an agency that provided such trips. Very helpful when you first arrive given what a maze Marrakech can be! I was sceptical at first (thinking this might be for a kickback from an agency friend!) but the day trip was very reasonable, and if there was a kickback it would have been very small and well deserved. We appreciated the help.

We enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning on the roof terrace and one traditional evening meal was also included in our package. Very nice indeed.

Overall, we loved this place an couldn't fault it at all. The service topped off the fantastic surroundings. We highly recommend Riad Zayane Atlas and hope we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff were wonderfully hospitable, especially Kamal. Fab location right in the heart of the old town, but the Riad was quiet and calming. We arranged a day out to the Atlas Mountains via emails with Babette and Kamal was our guide. He did a great job helping us up and across some of the more challenging bits of the route and his local knowledge was invaluable. Rooms simply furnished but perfectly adequate for a short break. Beds v. comfortable and plenty of hot water. Very attractive property on three levels - lovely roof terrace. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are probably quieter as away from the entrance and communal areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We were slightly apprehensive about going to Marrakech and didn't really know what to expect. I saw this Riad on a special website but had problems booking the voucher online. Babette, the owner was very helpful and ensured the booking went through with no problems even though we literally only booked two days before we arrived!

We had a late flight and Babette had arranged for an airport transfer. The taxi driver was there promptly when we got out. He didn't speak much English and we got to a car park and a boy showed us the way to the Riad.

Kamal, our guardian at the Riad was there to greet us and show us to our room. The next morning, we had breakfast on the terrace and he patiently explained what we could see and do in Marrakech. The Riad is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Souk... Although we got terribly lost and it took us over 2 hours there. The main thing to note is that asking for directions in Marrakech is pretty hopeless. There are so many little alleyways and paths and these are considered 'roads'. Everyone offers to help you find your way... At a cost. We followed get advise given by Kamal and tried to ask the shop keepers who were helpful. Unfortunately, they only seem to know the place by familiarity and not via the map. One person would point you down on path and the next person would point you back the same way. Our first day was a mess due to our unfamiliarity with the place. We got better with finding our way around by taking the hop on hop off bus and also going on tours and taking the taxis. The taxis are not expensive but it is worth finding our from your accommodation how much it would cost to get to places as you will need to negotiate your prices.

We got lead unfortunately to the tanneries and got ripped off by 100dh. Do not follow anyone to the tanneries no matter what they say! Also, dinner in the tents set up at night at the souks, make sure you give them exact change for the food as they will not give you change back, saying its tips. Always try and make sure you have the exact change.

However, about the Riad... We cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our time there especially with Kamal's company. He is a wonderful host and always there to help with any questions. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a lovely smile. We went on a trip with him to the Atlas Mountains and it was the highlight of our trip. We have enjoyed his company so much. He is always on hand to help with anything and everything. We will miss his happy smile and his lovely company. He has made our trip to Marrakech very very memorable. He speaks very good English and is apparently even more fluent in French! He was even so patient with our persistent photo taking!!!

Kamal was our host, our concierge and now our friend. We will gladly welcome him to our home if he is ever in our country in return for his wonderful company in Marrakech. We would love to see him again one day.

Wafa, Fatima and Larbi were also all part of the team which made the Riad a very pleasant environment to stay in. Overall, we would recommend this Riad to anyone considering staying in Marrakech so you can experience a very heart warming experience as we have done.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Although we started on our trip with some skepticism about Morroco in the end it was one of our most beautiful trip. Very important part of our vacation was accomodation in the Riad which was an excellent choice. Thanks to the staff and especially to Kamal who was very helpfull with every kind of tip. He did everything he could to make our vacation pleasent.
If we ever come back to Marrakech, we will defenetly stay in the Riad.
We hope we will come back... :-)

Kamal, thanks again... :-)

Svetlana & Irfana

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Four girlfriends in Marrakesh for 4 days. What an amazing city !! Be prepared for the hustle and bustle !! Riad Zayane Atlas is in a great location - just 8-10mins walk from Jamma el Fna square. The staff were friendly and helpful - in particular Kamal, who we knew we could rely on for any assistance - which helped make our stay very enjoyable. If we ever return, we will definately be staying there again.

Room Tip: small Riad with 8 rooms but all with ensuite showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Myself and my wife travelled to Marrakech recently and stayed at the Riad Zayane Atlas.

We went to Marrakech for a vacation and cultural experience. I was amazed at how much we enjoyed the trip. This Riad and it's staff played a huge part in the experience.

You won't find a better location in Marrakech to enjoy this unique city. An oasis in the middle of the souks. You are right where you need to be to enjoy this city.

I had seen the many complimentary reviews for this Riad on TripAdvisor, and having now enjoyed the hospitality of the Riad Zayane Atlas Staff, I can now also happily highly recommend everyone to visit Marrakech and stay at this Riad!

The Riad itself was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, Dinner was as good as you could hope for anywhere. Do book yourself in for a Tagine when you stay here.

Special mention to Kamal - who was always available to help in anyway he could. Absolute gentleman as well! He far exceeded the call of duty. He was also our guide in Marrakech, taking us on a trip to the Atlas mountains, were we enjoyed the scenery, the food and a Camel ride. The Riad staff also took us to a Kasbah, where they had wonderful items on sale. If only we had brought bigger suitcases and more money.

We also took advantage of the Hammans and the Spa treatments..

We enjoyed bartering in the souks, there are all sorts of merchants there, some a little pushy, but 99.9% were fabulously friendly and hospitable, and we think we did ok in terms of prices. We learned a lot about spices, and products made from herbs ranging from natural medicine's to cleansing products.

I loved the Morrocan mint tea also.

We left Morrocco with a wish to return, and a fondness for the people of that country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opening in june 2009. 8 airconditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet.Beautiful terrace, patio, morocan lounge, small pool opening spring 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zayane Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.