We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun girly splurge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Bains de l'Alhambra

Les Bains de l'Alhambra
Kasba,Derb Rahala n 9 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00212(0)524386346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 72 Spas & Wellness in Marrakech
Attraction details
Antibes, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun girly splurge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My female friend and I had our riad book an appointment with this luxury hammam (definitely not the type of place locals go to) the night before. We had an appointment for 14h and it turned out to be the best time because we pretty much had the place to ourselves and the ambiance was very calm and peaceful. Tons of tourists came in later in the afternoon after a day of visiting. So it's better to schedule your appointment earlier in the day.

Staff is very nice, the ladies speak excellent French. The place smells of lovely, healthy eucalyptus.

I had the hammam + massage package with my friend. We were washed and scrubbed from head to toe by a staff member. Our hair was washed but with the oil from the massage later on it turned out to be for naught. Bring a bathing suit bottom. You will have buckets of water dumped on you. In the actual hammam (not too steamy, thank goodness), also enjoyed a foot soak in rose petal water and a foot massage. Afterwards, we went to another room where we had a quick mint tea, another foot massage, and some sort of cooling treatment on our faces (I think they just applied ice?). Afterwards I had my relaxation massage in another room, which was wonderful.

Overall, excellent service. Nearly 2 hours of pampering for 500 MAD (=50 EUR). I could never afford such a thing here in France. Definitely one of the highlights of my visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    132
    40
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely if not a little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hammam was beautifully decorated. The changing room is not very large so be prepared to wear easy clothing to change in and out of. Make sure you wear bikini bottoms or a spare pair of underwear as you will get wet! The staff do not speak English very well at all so we were just led around without understanding of knowing what was happening. We went into the sauna first were buckets of water were literally thrown on us, then left for an undetermined amount of time. After that we were scrubbed till there was no skin left on our bodies, it was quite painful but also quite nice. Then left again for another undetermined amount of time. After that we had more water thrown on us. Then we went to the massage portion of our day which was lovely but modesty is not an issue!

While the experience was quite different and a bit shocking at times it was lovely and kind of fun to experience something out of the ordinary spa.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“What a Birthday Treat.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was organise by my wife for a birthday surprise - truly memorable.
We did this on our first day (which I would reccomend).

We were having the Duo Hammam and Massage 450dhs 1hour 45mins

The first part of the treatment was a traditional Hammam
Led into a marble clad room that is heated, you are washed with warm water, then rubbed all over with traditional black soap and eucalyptus, they then scrub you within an inch of your life to remove dead skin cells, then you steam for a while with your feet in cool water and rose petals, hair washed and a foot massage later, we were let through to another area where we had cool facial and foot and calf massage.
we were then taken through into the massage room and had an hour long massage, this was fantastic.
The Hammam itself is very traditional, softly lit with excellent staff, would love to go back here when we return to Morrocco.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Traditional Hammam relaxation in the buzzing Kasbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited this hammam for the duo hammam and full body massage - a total of 1 hour 45 mins and this includes a foot massage and cold stone facial costing 450 moroccan dirhams. Well worth the money.

I went alone and was treated very well by the staff and was made to feel welcome. They spoke french, arabic and english and other languages im sure at request.

The initial reception is very dark but this is not only tradional but it adds to the relaxing ambience which is nice.

Mint tea and cold bottled water was avaliable as often as wanted and the staff were always around to assist you.

It was quite busy but I didnt feel rushed and they gave plenty of time for each client. Belongings are safely stored in a locker and clean slippers and robes are given.

Overall a lovely experience. Shukran

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A haven in the Kasbah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We tried from the "duo hammam and massage" menu:" Moroccan duo", classic hammam with traditional black soap eucalyptus and there after 1 hour massage. What a feeling!!! Your skin is so smooth after and you feel like a new person.
Try it!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains de l'Alhambra also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Bains de l'Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Bains de l'Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.