We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to meet friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 16

Cafe 16
Place du 16 Novembre | Marrakech Plaza, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-39670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 561 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good place to meet friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We often meet up with friends here, they live very near by and always receive a warm welcome so first impressions have always been good. The food is consistently fresh and tasty and it is possible to have wine or beer if you sit inside, alcohol is not permitted on the very large terrace to the front.
This is a lovely place for lunch if you're out in the new town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    98
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“modern cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited this cafe for 2 times during our 4 day trip to Marrakech. Great atmosphere and food. Loved the salads and fresh juices. Fairly priced and located in the centre.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is good for a whole range of light food. I use the word "light" figuratively because if you "stuff" yourself on all their delicious home made goodies you will not be feeling light. This is an excellent mixture of a patisserie/cafe/restaurant with good fare in whichever category you may be looking. Excellent and tantalising patisserie, good place for coffee, and also very good for a light, simple, good quality lunch.
They have an outside terrace on the grand Plaza de Marrakech and the inside is sharp and clean. The service is good. If you are inside the establishment they can serve you alcoholic beverages.
This is a good place for family (our kids love it), but also for a quick coffee/meeting/whatever.
We go regularly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Oasis at Marrakech cafes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been there, specially because we red a tripadvisor review. At a good time.
Good and clean atmosphere, very tasty food and a cart with many options. The shrimps look very good and were very tasties.
The strawberry juice with orange juice was really delicious, and the pastry at the end of the meal reveals a good option for an almond cake that looks like a madelein.
The expresso cofee was solid and tasty. We loved it, and the service was very good.
An experience to repeat, if we repeat a marrakesh trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good maccarons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this cafe 3 times during our 4 days visit. Coffee tastes great, maccarons were incredible, especially chocolate, vanilla and lemon! We are planning to buy some to take home. Also you can order omlettes for breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 16 also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.