We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few hours are enough to feel at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge to your Saves list
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A few hours are enough to feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I spent four nights in this very cool structure - a moroccan riad transformed into the most colourful hostel ever - and I just loved it.
The position is great - not the easiest to find the first time, but a few minutes to the main square of Marrakech (Djemaa el Fna), in the very center of the medina.
The atmosphere is chilled-out and friendly and the staff is so nice and welcoming that it takes them just a few hours to make you feel at home.
Breakfast, moroccan tea and shisha included.
Definitely an amazing accomodation in an amazing city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    61
    24
    17
    15
See reviews for
7
62
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Highly recommended. RMR is one of the best hostels we have stayed at. Although the facilities (bathrooms, rooms) are fairly basic, the atmosphere is excellent, & the endless supply of free sheesha & tea, free breakfasts, & all the common areas/sun terrace makes it the ideal place to meet people. The guys working there are incredibly friendly and helpful (although not super fast). V useful location 5min walk from the main square, and the hostel is an ideal base for the different excursions they put on.We were a bit chilly in our room & the common area in the evening, but it was midwinter after all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of a charity hitch hike to Morocco from England. Upon arriving we were very disappointed to find that the private room we had booked was detached from the main Riad area where everyone else was. This made it difficult to interact and get talking to other travellers.

More than this, it was clear that the room we were in was normally someone elses (eg a member of staffs) bedroom- the bed was unmade, there were childrens drawings in drawers and other personal items such as womens clothes (including a bra) in various places throughout the room. I found this very strange and a severe let down having read other reviews and originally really looking forward to staying here. Also on one evening we saw A MOUSE scuttling around the room.

After we brought our concerns to the staff they seemed rather apathetic towards the whole situation. In general they were helpful in other areas eg showing you how to get around on a map. The only thing they did was remove some clothes from the room. I honestly think the area we were put was staff quarters as there were middle

aged local people wandering around, kids laughing, running around and watching TV.

The main hostel area was colourful and really nice. Put a downside on the final leg of our trip to be in the staff quarter area, removed from other hostel goers, which was not helped by the attitude of the staff towards our concerns. The option of private rooms should be removed as they are not incorporated into the rest of the hostel experience and are very obviously used by non-hoste goers the majority of the time.

Room Tip: Dont book a private room, if you do dont expect what you see online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed here with a friend in december '13 for three nights. The staff was amazing just like the atmosphere and other guests. The hostel/guesthouse is designed for meeting and hanging out with other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

“What can I say about this incredible place...Lots. Marrakech is a crazy place and once you get to the hostel the excitement is washed away in a see of pure luxury and relaxation. Thousands places to lie and chill and chat with other travellers about the incredible thins to see do, eat and buy in the red city. You can ask for tea or coffee through out the day and they are accompanied by the most incredible biscuits. Rooms and fab. Terrace is great for sun. Make sure you try the shower on Terrace!”

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Was met at taxi by one of the staff who led me to the hostel and mint tea as soon as I gotin. The hostel is nice with lots of space to chill out and cchat to other guests and the staff who are really amazing and make you feel at home, expecially mohammed who is always cracking jokes.
The rooms are ok but not many power sockets, only 2 in a six bed dorm. And there is a lack of showers and toilets for the amount of guests.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone and will stay here again when in marrakech!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Marrakech rouge hostel. We were immediately greeted and offered tea and food by the staff. It was very relaxing and they offer free sheisha which is a huge bonus and really added to the time here. Highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.